Customer Reviews for

Scandal in Spring (Wallflower Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was cute and entertaining!!

Well, first off, i'm wondering where did Matthew Swift suddenly come from. I seriously thought that Kleypas was hinting a romance for Daisy and Rohan from the previous book. When i read this one i was just like, "Where did Rohan go?" He was conveniently withheld from th...
Well, first off, i'm wondering where did Matthew Swift suddenly come from. I seriously thought that Kleypas was hinting a romance for Daisy and Rohan from the previous book. When i read this one i was just like, "Where did Rohan go?" He was conveniently withheld from this one. Do not get me wrong. I do not form some kind of grudge to Matt. I actually liked his character very much. Lilian annoyed me the most in the story though. Everyone who has read the other wallflower books know that she an opinionated woman and we all know that she cares for Daisy deeply but the fact that wanted to keep Daisy by her side so selfishly as to hate and badmouth Swift so much made her appeared so childish. She's so full of herself.
****SPOILER****
If she did not help Matt when he was going to get arrested i would have hated her. The only reason i started liking her again was just because of that but she was extremely annoying until 55pages away from the ending....

posted by Genevieve54 on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Like Daisy

This is the last re-read of the series. I like Daisy. She seems very Alice Cullen like. This book seems to wrap everything up. I don't care for Lillian in this book though.

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    A fantastic conclusion for the Wallflowers!

    The story of Daisy and Matthew Swift has its ups and downs. There's on obvious attraction between the two, but Daisy can't make up her mind as to what she wants to do with regard to young Mr. Swift. Matthew on the other hand has always loved Daisy, but he is afraid to get involved with her due to the circumstances of his past. Will they or won't they? All of your favorite characters are brought back for this wonderful conclusion to the Wallflower series. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Great

    I started reading lisa kleypas novels after picking up Wallflower Christmas and have not stopped since. This is one of my favorites from the wallflower series. Daisy is just as entertaining as her sister and i realy appreciated the relatability of the characters. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Engaging

    I don't know how Lisa Kleypas does it, but every book of hers is always a pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Daisy finds love

    I love the Bowman sisters and related more to Lillian, but found Daisy's story very touching. You're ready to hate Swift, but Kleypas write characters into your heart and he is no exception. If you have enjoyed the series so far, this will not disappoint you. Daisy's personality is so heart-warming, if you weren't in love with her before, you can't help but fall in love with her after this read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Really Cute!

    I think that this novel was one of the best of the wallflowers series. I think that Daisy makes for a great character. She doesn't care what others think and just wants to embrace life to be happy. She dedicates herself to something that she find meaningful and doesn't go back on her word. This was a great read for relaxing and not thinking about everything else going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Escape

    This is the fourth book in the Wallflower series. Each one brings something special and different. Daisy's story is no exception. It brings a sweetness not found in the other books. Daisy is a dreamer who yearns for love. She simply wishes it wasn't from the man her authoritative father chose. She resists him as much as he resists her. She, because he's her fathers favorite. He, because he has a secret that won't let him accept her love. The novel doesn't deviate from the standard formula but Ms. Kleypas has a way of engaging the reader with lovable characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    A most loving and giving romance

    This book ended the series with a such a heartfelt romance between Daisey and Matthew. She was delightful. He was wonderfully tragic. This and Devil in Winter were my favorites in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A Perfect Ending...

    I loved this series and was very pleased with Daisy's (my favorite Wallflower) story. Lisa Kleypas is a beautiful writer and lovers of romance should read all of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    loved it! so sweet and engaging 

    loved it! so sweet and engaging 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Scandal in springtime

    Iloved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    I loved all the books in this series. Wonderful concept and like heroines. But sometimes you just want to slap the hero up the side of his head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of the Wallflower Series

    Scandal in Spring is the best of the Wallflower Series. Just loved Daisy and Matthew's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    Another Great Series Ends, but want more!

    In this story, the final book of The Wallflower Series, the beautiful, petite, bluestocking and American soap heiress Daisy Bowman discovers that while waiting for true love to happen she has waited a bit too long. Her father gives her an ultimatum marry someone in three months or she will marry his business associate Matthew Swift. Matthew is Mr. Bowman's choice, not only for marriage, but to inherit the family business. Matthew is shocked at this discovery, as he has secretly loved Daisy for years, but has a shocking secret in his past that he must keep hidden and so does not want to marry. The story is sensual and heartwarming as Daisy fights her attaction to Matthew and then realizes she is slowing falling in love with him. All of the past Wallflowers and their spouses are back and once again together at Westcliff's country estate. The sparks begin as Daisy and Matthew reunite at the Wishing Well and build to a flame on a rainy afternoon in Matthew's bachelor quarters. The sensual love scenes are well written as in other stories. The disappointment is that this story ends so abruptly. So much is revealed at the end of the story and then it rushes through a wedding and ends with a brief epilogue. Could fans hope for more on the Wallflowers and their families? Even with the abrupt ending, this book will not disappoint and is a joy to read. As usual, I am waiting for the next Lisa Kleypas romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Great End

    Incredibly sweet story.I liked that it showed the Wallflowers life after marriage.Scandal in Spring was a great way to end the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    This book was the best!

    I loved this book-I could not put it down! What a fantastic summer read!Another great summer read is The North Kingdom by Jordan N. Danniels. It has lots of twists and turns and a surprise ending. Buy both and enjoy the romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    The Wallflowers

    This collection of books is one the best I have ever read. You get a chance to see thru the Wallfloweres eyes. You will love the witt of the writer. I would suggest that you read these books at least once. I am on my second time around. Lisa Kleypas is a wonderful story teller. Tell a friend, they will love these books also. My books have travled to 3 other friends who also love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    A fine interesting Victorian romance

    Daisy Bowman cannot believe that she is the only Wallflower without finding a spouse. Three Seasons without a catch has frustrated her father, Thomas who announces to her and his wife that since she will never score a spouse from the British peerage, he will choose a husband for her. He selects haughty American Matthew Swift.-------------- Of all the men her dad could select, Daisy cannot believe he chose a man she has detested for years. She is determined to find a suitor before the arrogant Yank arrives in town. She fails to meet her timeline, but is elated when she finds the hunk kind and sensual. As they fall in love, a SCANDAL IN SPRING threatens everything as hate begins to growbetween them.----------------- The fourth and final seasonal Wallflower tale is a terrific entry starring the likable quartet leader Daisy and the man who hurt her several years ago. The lead couple is a delightful pairing because of their history, but also will remind series fans of the three previous romantic duets. The story line is fun as Daisy goes from horror to contempt to love and finally completing the circle back to horror and contempt in a smooth transition that makes for a fine interesting Victorian romance.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    A terrific ending for the wallflower series

    While I was vastly disappointed that Daisy and Mr. Rohan from Devil in Winter were not given an opportunity to fall in love, I quickly found myself liking Mr. Swift. While Daisy, the most easy going and quirky, has stayed in the background of all 3 previous novels, she shined in this one and it was great to see her falling in love with Matthew Swift. A great read and great romance. I hear that Rohan has his own story coming out and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6