Customer Reviews for

Scandalous (Banning Sisters Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Very good book

    I enjoy Karen Robards books, especially her historicals. This is one of my favorites. The characters are interesting, the plot line well thought out. It's by far my favorite of the Banning sisters trilogy. A great romantic read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    MUST READ!!!!!

    Absolutely , wonderfully,joyously breathtaking!!! More than enough suspense and mystery with a dash of humor! True love ( or lovemaking) does conquer all ! Quick , enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Scandalus!!!!!

    This was my frist Karen Robards and I can't wait to read Irresistible. This is one of those books you just can't put down.
    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So so good!

    I usually am embarassed (don't know why) to be caught reading romance novels, but this historical romance novel was sooooo good. I definitely suggest reading it :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Wonderful!

    I quite found myself unable to put this book down. Definitely one of the best I've read in a long while! If you're into historial romances, I highly recommend this one, as well as the second in the trilogy (Claire's story--'Irresistible'). I believe the third, about Elizabeth, is due in November 2005 or so, titled 'Reckless'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Regency romance

    In Ceylon, someone kills the Earl of Wickham during a hunting expedition. Jem Downess crosses the ocean and two land masses to inform his employer Lady Gabriella Banning that her half-brother is dead. Gabriella worries about what will happen to her two younger half-sisters, eighteen years old drop dead gorgeous Claire and fifteen years old Beth now that her odious cousin is the new Earl of Wickham. Her cousin is almost as malicious as her deceased father who abused the siblings when he lived. <P>However, before he died, Marcus gave Jem a letter that told Gabby to take Claire to London and allowed her carte blanche to his funds. Gabby knows the letters are worthless unless she and Jem keep quiet about Marcus¿ death. Feeling a bit guilty, Gabby decides Claire needs her season and will find a good husband in town. When the three women reach London, they find Marcus living in the family home. Since no one has seen Marcus in two decades except Jem, Gabby asks him to identify the man. Jem insists the real Marcus is dead. Marcus and Gabby reach an understanding, but neither one expected to fall in love. <P>SCANDALOUS is an entertaining Regency romance with the twist of two individuals, deceiving society for different reasons, ironically falling in love in the process. The story line is fast-paced, but it is the characters who make it so much fun to read. The lead couple is charming as they react differently to their growing attraction and to their joint culpability. The mystery behind the Marcus masquerade adds a sense of danger to a cleverly designed tale that will please historical romance fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book! Love Karen Robards!!

    Great book! Love Karen Robards!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Starts out great then went downhill Fast!

    I'm glad this novel was given to me by good friend to read. I'm still wondering how this mediocre story got published. Well, maybe I shouldn't wonder because there are some real dozzies (hope I spelled that word correctly) out there being promoted as bestsellers.

    When I started reading Obsession the plot unfolded and kept my interest and I felt really excited and I was very intrigued with the story. I read on and then my senses started to sour and then they turned off. At the very end I got a brief thrill. But overall the story was big let down. I don't understand why, because Ms. Robards is certainly capable of writing a decent romance/mystery novel. I won't say it's a terrible book, but if you have enjoyed all of Robards novel I would think that you will enjoy Obsession.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Da Best!

    I love this book. And you just ever know how a story is going to end until the end. And you just don't want to miss this endding. I'm glad I stuck it out! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2004

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    I loved the book. This story reminded of the book 'Stranger in My Arms' by Lisa Kleypas. Loved the closeness of the three sisters, loved the passion between Marcus & Gabby. I didn't want to put the book down. Look forward to reading Claire's story. I hope Beth will have her own story as well. A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    loved it

    I really liked this book. I have given up on Ms. Robards because of couple of her previous books. But I really enjoyed this one. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I've been searching to find out when is coming out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    I loved this book to bits!

    I bought this book when I moved houses (and the cable wasn't hooked up yet - lol) and I think it's the best romance novel I've read in ages! I really enjoyed the richly told story, the vivid images, and most of all, characters that seemed so real you almost wanted to jump into the book and play along with them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    A Great Read.

    Karen Robards is one terrific historical romance writer. She never disappoints. You'll fall in love with the characters once you read it. I certainly did. Now I'm waiting for the next book 'Irresistible' to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Pleasantly surprised!!!

    I really enjoyed the plot of this story as well as the primary and secondary characters involved. This is my first novel by this particular author and I anxiously await the next tale of the Banning sisters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Enjoyable!!

    Having read many historical romances, I found that I enjoyed this book tremendously. Ms. Robards has created a story that is unique, and entertaining..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3