BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scandalous Desires (Maiden Lane Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Scandalous Desi

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Scandalous Desires by Elizabeth Hoyt
    Book Three of the Maiden Lane series
    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
    Publication Date: October 24, 2011
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Publisher - won a giveaway

    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    Can a pirate learn that the only true treasure lies in a woman's heart?

    Widowed Silence Hollingbrook is impoverished, lovely, and kind—and nine months ago she made a horrible mistake. She went to a river pirate for help in saving her husband and in the process made a bargain that cost her her marriage. That night wounded her so terribly that she hides in the foundling home she helps run with her brother. Except now that same river pirate is back . . . and he's asking for her help.

    "Charming" Mickey O'Connor is the most ruthless river pirate in London. Devastatingly handsome and fearsomely intelligent, he clawed his way up through London's criminal underworld. Mickey has no use for tender emotions like compassion and love, and he sees people as pawns to be manipulated. And yet he's never been able to forget the naive captain's wife who came to him for help—and spent one memorable night in his bed . . . talking. 

    When his bastard baby girl was dumped in his lap—her mother having died—Mickey couldn't resist the Machiavellian urge to leave the baby on Silence's doorstep. The baby would be hidden from his enemies and he'd also bind Silence to him by her love for his daughter.


    What I Liked:

    Oh my gosh. This book... I loved it so much. It is different from the other Maiden Lane books, and I love that. Mickey and Silence - ah! I love the pair of them so much.

    I love this book for so many reasons, but one of the biggest ones is the progression of Mickey and Silence's relationship. As with every Maiden Lane book, there is some intense chemistry, and yet, by the end of the book, the two protagonists truly love each other. This book is no different in that aspect, but there is more. 

    Silence and Mickey do not originally lust after each other (at least, Silence does not). In the beginning, Silence is infuriated with Mickey, because he took Mary Darling from her (Mary Darling is the small child that Silence has been taking care of - introduced in Book Two). Mickey and Silence have previously met before - in Book One - and those circumstances were life-changing for Silence (read Book One and Book Two for more).

    So, in the beginning, Silence wants nothing to do with Mickey. She agrees to stay with him only so she can stay with Mary Darling. Mickey, on the other hand, subtly notices her as a woman, but no real attraction sprouts from either of them until the book continues.

    My point is, the chemistry starts NOT at the beginning, it builds and builds, and I believe that this allows Silence and Mickey to have less of a physical relationship, and more of an intellectual or friend-like relationship. It's around 80% of the book that the first love scene occurs, and by then, both characters unknowingly love each other (well, Silence knows she loves him; Mickey doesn't acknowledge it and won't admit anything).

    Mickey's background story is truly heartbreaking. It makes him less of a roguish pirate with a black heart, and more of a human being. Don't get me wrong, I still love his pirate nature, but I love his gentler side as well. Especially when he finally warms up to his daughter! So sweet.

    The ending to this story is different than the endings of Book Five, Book One, and Book Two (I can't say anything for Book Four yet). The circumstances of the climax are very different, and therefore, the ending is different. I'm said to see a certain part of Mickey disappear, but I am thrilled with the ending nonetheless. Don't get me wrong - it's a happy ending. It's just different from the usual happy ending.

    Did I mention that Mickey is Irish, and Hoyt incorporates his accent into the dialogue? It's hilarious and endearing. And did I mention that unlike high-society gentleman, Mickey walks around bare-backed? YUP. 


    What I Did Not Like:

    I didn't have many problems with this book. Towards the end, like, the last 30%, was a bit crammed and rushed, and I didn't like that Silence kept distancing herself from Mickey. But again, happy ending. Everything (for the most part) worked itself out.


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! Go get this one. I love it so much, and I have already re-read it several times since I first read it. It's that good!


    Rating:

    4 stars. This one might be my favorite of the series. I have one more to read - Book Four, Thief of Shadows, but I really, really liked this one. And Book Five. And Book One. They're all so good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    Maiden Lane, a Georgian era series by Elizabeth Hoyt, is written

    Maiden Lane, a Georgian era series by Elizabeth Hoyt, is written in an almost fairy tale style. But it’s not light as Eloisa James’ Fairy Tales series. It is serious, rather dark, and very romantic.
    Indeed, a short passage from an original fairy tale, Clever John, precedes each chapter, perfectly mirroring the events of this romance. I would say it’s more of a morality tale where true love conquers all struggles.
    Several months earlier, Silence Hollingbrook was publicly humiliated after spending one night in river pirate Charming Mickey O’Connor’s decadent palace of vice and sin. She was there to plead mercy for her beloved husband, William, who was accused of stealing cargo from one of Mickey’s ships. To spare him, Silence agreed to Mickey’s terms that she stay one night with him and risk her honor…but nothing happened. He merely fed her a delicious and extravagant meal and then let her be. After that fateful night, no one believed her version of the truth, William never looked at her the same way again, and her pristine reputation was shattered forever.
    Since then, William has died at sea leaving Silence a lonely and heartbroken widow until an infant was abandoned on her doorstep. She began helping her older siblings more with their charitable endeavor, The Home for Unfortunate Infants and Foundling Children, managing the Home in the dangerous London St. Giles neighborhood and, in doing so, found some meaning, purpose, and peace in her life once again.
    The child, christened Mary Darling, was cared for by Silence for almost a year until she was kidnapped. During this time, Silence had also received mysterious gifts, including a lock of black hair that matched Mary Darling’s…and Mickey O’Connor’s. At the beginning of Scandalous Desires, Silence bravely marches back to Mickey’s palace, suspicious that he has the child and demands her back.
    Mickey O’Connor is a ruthless and dangerous man who has many enemies. An Irishman raised in St. Giles in poverty, he has known hunger and abuse. But he’s also handsome and charming and Silence agrees to move into his palace to care for Mickey’s daughter because he promises she may keep the child once he ensures their safety.
    Of course, Silence’s family is shocked and outraged because, not only will it ruin and harm their beloved sister’s reputation even more, it will also shame the Home and its ability to get rich and aristocratic donors to contribute to its continued operation and success.
    Soon after she moves in, Silence charms Mickey’s loyal servants, a loveable ragtag group who dine together at one massive table. They smuggle food to her when she refuses to bow to Mickey’s command to join them and are kind to her. This creates some wonderfully funny and almost sweet moments as Silence upends Mickey’s tightly controlled and rigid life. We especially get to know Bert and Harry, Mickey’s most loyal guards.
    “Silence disliked him, disobeyed him, argued with him, and was all but starting a rebellion amongst his people, and still he indulged her.” (p.131)
    Silence is a strong woman who stands up for justice and she defends those she loves with her life. She represents all that is good, pure, and beautiful in the world to Mickey. It is something he desperately wants in his life but is also something he fears is just too good to be true. As she weaves her way into his life, he slowly lets his guard down and allows her to come to know him, sharing in his darkest secrets and his innermost fears. He is also drawn to her fierce maternal instincts in her love for his daughter, Mary Darling, a child he is ambivalent about until Silence’s goodness helps him realize what Mary means to him. Silence’s beauty and compassion remind him of his beloved mother, with whom he had a complicated and ambivalent relationship.
    Silence sees and empathizes with Mickey’s painful and horrific childhood, much as Verity Ashton does with Justin Kinmurrie in Anna Campbell’s Claiming the Courtesan. As she gets to know him, she falls in love with the man she sees inside the cunning pirate facade.
    This is a Georgian era romance, set in 1738 and the gritty and perilous streets of St. Giles are a stark contrast to the elegant and inviting atmosphere of Windward House, Mickey’s safe haven in the country where he is merely Michael Rivers, a shipbuilder. The descriptions of this house are some of the best parts of the book; it’s comforting, it’s home, and it’s where Michael gathers all the beautiful things in his life and keeps them safe, including eventually, Silence and Mary.
    The ending is a tension-filled and on-edge experience with excitement and danger counting down the pages. There are also some hints of a future love story for Silence’s serious brother, Winter, and a rich, beautiful, and playful patroness, Lady Isabel Beckinall.
    And who is the infamous and mysterious Ghost of St. Giles? It’s a mysterious minor subplot that runs through the entire Maiden Lane series and we have hints to his identity in this story. Or do we?  He is a sort of Batman figure, dressed as a harlequin, that appears throughout the book, rescuing the poor people of St. Giles from danger and injustice.
    A passionate and romantic story told with wonderful pacing and emotion. This is a strong and wonderfully written series, but it is best read in order for character development and time and plot progression. 
    This review first appeared on Romantic Historical Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Charming Mickey!!!

    I adore a pirate, and apparently so does Miss Silence. Great story of redemption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    My only complaint...I wanted more!

    Loved the storyline. The rather eccentric and dark Hero. The wonderfully strong yet vulnerable heroine. I only wish there were more hot scenes between the two. Hoyt is great creating wonderful sexual tension between them just would have liked to see that "boil over" more! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER AMAZIN STORY IN THE "MAIDEN LANE" SERIES!!

    SCANDALOUS DESIRES by Eliazabeth Hoyt is an another amazing historical romance set in 1738 England. It is the 3rd book in the "Maiden Lane" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Wicked Intentions" and "Notorious Pleasures". "Scandalous Desires" is the story of River pirate Mickey O'Connor "Charming" and the lovely Silence Hollingbrook. I have enjoyed each of the other two of this series,but I think at this point "Scandalous Desires" is my favorite. It is fast paced,action packed,with surprises,danger,romance,sweet sensuality,and finding true love. While Charming Mickey is considered the king of St. Giles,Silence is a widow,and loves the little girl left on her doorstop. So she will do what she has to to stay with her,even if it means living in a house of sin with Charming Mickey. Someone else has another idea,they wan Charming Mickey dead,along with his little girl and Silence. Both Charming Mickey and Silence must come to terms with their attraction and surrender not only to their lust but to their love.Silence's family may not like where she is heading but they would not deny her love. A wonderful addition to the "Maiden Lane" series. I so enjoy this author's stories and can hardly wait for the next in the "Maiden Lane" installment. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be founda t Grand Central Publishing and My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: Mild

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Rave Exciting

    Gripping story line . Vibrante charactors. A definate must read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2