Customer Reviews for

Scar Tissue

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(241)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Quite an insight

You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitel...
You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitely holds nothing back in this book and his descriptions and articulate language is captivating. I have a new found appreciation for Anthony. Takes a lot of courage to open yourself up this way and let anyone who decides to read this book inside his mind. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it for any music enthusiast, or just your regular RHCP's fan. Your missing out if you don't pick this up.

posted by 1597265 on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Californication...rather Self Glorification

First and Foremost, Props to the Chili Peppers...Blood Sex Magic was apart of my college experience, and they command respect. With that said, I have a few observations. First, Anthony so desperately wants his readers to know what a ladies man he is. Why? I can understa...
First and Foremost, Props to the Chili Peppers...Blood Sex Magic was apart of my college experience, and they command respect. With that said, I have a few observations. First, Anthony so desperately wants his readers to know what a ladies man he is. Why? I can understand writing about meaningful relationships and the effect they had on the author and his work, but in the end, my image of Anthony is weak and insecure for a couple of reasons: a) why does he feel so inclined to give such graphic detail to his sexual relations? I'm sure the women and their families really appreciated the detail. b) I grew tired and bored everytime he would say 'the second we meet I felt a connection and had to have her' or 'that was the most amazing sexual experience I ever had in my life'. Give me a break...these women come off as shallow party girls with starry eyes. Same old story as far as Rock Stars go. Your boy Jack Nicholson would never write a book detailing his sexual conquests, he has to much class and doesn't need the validation. I also find Anthony's attention to detail amazing when it comes to all his encounters with women, even though he was extremely loaded all the time, the verbal exchanges seem to be verbatum. I can barely remember the few encounters I had when I was young, and I'm only 32. And for those of you who feel that the redundant sexual detail are vital to the story, you're better off subscribing to Penthouse's Forum. Despite my aggressive stance on his 'womanizing' I did find value and insight on his battle with the dark energy that comes with his lifestyle. Anthony was honest. Drugs are fierce, and there is a dark spirit out there waging war for your soul. I felt his desperation and hopelessness. Addiction is no laughing matter.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Californication...rather Self Glorification

    First and Foremost, Props to the Chili Peppers...Blood Sex Magic was apart of my college experience, and they command respect. With that said, I have a few observations. First, Anthony so desperately wants his readers to know what a ladies man he is. Why? I can understand writing about meaningful relationships and the effect they had on the author and his work, but in the end, my image of Anthony is weak and insecure for a couple of reasons: a) why does he feel so inclined to give such graphic detail to his sexual relations? I'm sure the women and their families really appreciated the detail. b) I grew tired and bored everytime he would say 'the second we meet I felt a connection and had to have her' or 'that was the most amazing sexual experience I ever had in my life'. Give me a break...these women come off as shallow party girls with starry eyes. Same old story as far as Rock Stars go. Your boy Jack Nicholson would never write a book detailing his sexual conquests, he has to much class and doesn't need the validation. I also find Anthony's attention to detail amazing when it comes to all his encounters with women, even though he was extremely loaded all the time, the verbal exchanges seem to be verbatum. I can barely remember the few encounters I had when I was young, and I'm only 32. And for those of you who feel that the redundant sexual detail are vital to the story, you're better off subscribing to Penthouse's Forum. Despite my aggressive stance on his 'womanizing' I did find value and insight on his battle with the dark energy that comes with his lifestyle. Anthony was honest. Drugs are fierce, and there is a dark spirit out there waging war for your soul. I felt his desperation and hopelessness. Addiction is no laughing matter.

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Quite an insight

    You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitely holds nothing back in this book and his descriptions and articulate language is captivating. I have a new found appreciation for Anthony. Takes a lot of courage to open yourself up this way and let anyone who decides to read this book inside his mind. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it for any music enthusiast, or just your regular RHCP's fan. Your missing out if you don't pick this up.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a surprise!

    I didn't think that I would get such a great read from Anthony Kiedis. His lyricism is reflected through the writing and makes it a beautiful read. His story is shocking and outrageous and I couldn't help but feel compassion through his struggle with drug addiction.

    One of the best books I've read in a while. I could not put it down! I definitely recommend!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Not so good

    It was one word dissapointing

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Great Book!

    I'd recommend this book to anybody, even to those who aren't big fans of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Really great read! Check it out!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Disappointing.....

    I was really looking forward to reading this book being such a huge fan of AK and RHCP and was really disappointed. He really portraited himself as a user of anything and everything he came in contact with. I did appreciate the realness but do see him in a different light.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Fascinating

    This book certainly delivered the insane stories of adventure, drug escapades, and life wisdom that i expected. For any fan of the chili peppers, whether diehard or casual, it is certainly worth the read. The book does get somewhat repetitive as the constant stories of drug abuse and sexual adventures become muddled together. However, it is still a gripping read and i would absolutely reccomend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    Will buy hardcopy to add to my collection. Great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Scar tissue

    This book was a remarkable story of Anthony Kiedis's life. The singer of Red hot chili peppers! After I read this book I bought all of his cds!!!! I highly recommend this book i could not put it down once I started reading it! It is pretty intense and alot of drugs he did, so if your not into that i wouldn't read it! What an awesome book! I will read it again and again and again!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Raw AK

    A poetic tell all tale of AK's journey from 13 year old drug user to rock & rolls biggest star. The words glide accross the page seemlessly as RHCP lyircs are connected with AK life experiences. Why wouldnt one of the greatest lyricists of all time NOT produce a masterpiece? Beautifully written. READ IT!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    recommended if you love RHCP

    Having its obvious moments of crudeness, this book gives you a new appreciation for his band. Anthony is a candid, honest character that speaks his mind. He gives you the play by play of how he is who he is a doesn't leave out the gory unflattering details to gain popularity. I have a new respect for him now. This book is a very quick read and enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Story Got A Little Long

    Interesting to read, but if you want to know what the book is about, I can sum it up with the following: I was high, then I quit. I was high, then I quit. I was high, then I quit. I was high......you get the picture. Gets stale after awhile and I question those who 'kiss and tell' in their bio books. I'm sure glad I was never in a relationship with Anthony Keidis or else I would have to explicitly read about it. He is too young to have written this book. Certainly he can't be hard up for money, but I question his motive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Good read. A bit long.

    It was a good read but was very heavy with fluff about every single sexual encounter he had. Some of that peppered in is fine but it started to get a little boring reading about girl after girl. I did respect the parts where Anthony opens up about his family and some of the sadness he has had to endure. I'd recommend it but be ready to skim through some repetitive sex and drug abuse stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Honest and well written

    I have read some of the more negative reviews, and I have to say I'm surprised by some of the comments. His crazy addictions to everything are a turn off? Really? What on earth did people expect from a rock star? I read some complaints that it was repetitive. That's part of the whole story of addiction. It IS repetitive.......it's that behavior, doing the same crazy stuff over and over.....that is the hallmark of being an addict. Yes, this is raw, and at times , very disturbing. A.K. succeeded in capturing what it feels like to be in THAT deep , and he pulls no punches, nor does he glamorize any of it. Its not easy to show such a dark side of yourself, and I give him a lot of credit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    So good!!

    Makes laugh, makes your jaw drop, and sometimes just gives you that warm fuzzy feeling. Never a dull moment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Just started reading this book

    So far so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Amazing This book was recommend to me by friend and I'm personal

    Amazing
    This book was recommend to me by friend and I'm personally not a fan of reading, but this book was something else. After reading the first five pages I couldn't put the book down, and that says a lot because I'm not a fan of reading. Kiedis really illustrates his life down to the point with accuracy, the tales of his sex life and the role that drugs partook in his life from an early age. Explaining the origins of Red Hot Chili Peppers, how they came to be, how they got their name, and their early stunts as a band. I felt this was a great book to really emphasize the life that musicians deal with the sex, drugs, and rock n' roll, also showing Kiedis's personal endeavors struggling with drug abuse, and the many failed attempts to get clean. His failing relationships with many woman, although he may have had plenty of sexual experience he was never capable of actually maintaining a long relationship. Overall the book was simply amazing, good read and I recommend it to fans of RHCP or those who would like to see the life that musicians adapt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Captivating...

    I still wouldn't let anyone just read this because of some the photos and mentioned acts of mayhem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    simply great

    who knew u could go thru so much and still be alive. this book was so interestin i really did not want to stop reading. i would definitely recommend this book to ppl who want a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I got this book first when I was about 13, and it opened my mind

    I got this book first when I was about 13, and it opened my mind. This book is a completely honest depiction of what it is like to be on drugs. Lots of people like to say the book was boring. Maybe they're reading another book, because this book was anything but boring. His sexual encounters are described in full in the most respectful way. I don't feel he was trying to brag about these experiences. The explanations were beautiful, and I feel he was just trying to explain he was making meaningful love to these women, rather than merely having a sexual encounter with them. He's a person that is very in touch with his sexuality. In full, the book kept me reading all night and did not disappoint. It took me only about a day to finish because I couldn't stop reading. This is the most insightful rock star biography out there. Ever since I read the book, I feel like I know this man as a friend. The book is very personal and interesting. I lost the book a few years ago and I will be buying it again, because it was so well-written I must read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 326 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17