Customer Reviews for

Scar Tissue

Average Rating 4.5
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Quite an insight

You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitel...
You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitely holds nothing back in this book and his descriptions and articulate language is captivating. I have a new found appreciation for Anthony. Takes a lot of courage to open yourself up this way and let anyone who decides to read this book inside his mind. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it for any music enthusiast, or just your regular RHCP's fan. Your missing out if you don't pick this up.

posted by 1597265 on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Californication...rather Self Glorification

First and Foremost, Props to the Chili Peppers...Blood Sex Magic was apart of my college experience, and they command respect. With that said, I have a few observations. First, Anthony so desperately wants his readers to know what a ladies man he is. Why? I can understa...
First and Foremost, Props to the Chili Peppers...Blood Sex Magic was apart of my college experience, and they command respect. With that said, I have a few observations. First, Anthony so desperately wants his readers to know what a ladies man he is. Why? I can understand writing about meaningful relationships and the effect they had on the author and his work, but in the end, my image of Anthony is weak and insecure for a couple of reasons: a) why does he feel so inclined to give such graphic detail to his sexual relations? I'm sure the women and their families really appreciated the detail. b) I grew tired and bored everytime he would say 'the second we meet I felt a connection and had to have her' or 'that was the most amazing sexual experience I ever had in my life'. Give me a break...these women come off as shallow party girls with starry eyes. Same old story as far as Rock Stars go. Your boy Jack Nicholson would never write a book detailing his sexual conquests, he has to much class and doesn't need the validation. I also find Anthony's attention to detail amazing when it comes to all his encounters with women, even though he was extremely loaded all the time, the verbal exchanges seem to be verbatum. I can barely remember the few encounters I had when I was young, and I'm only 32. And for those of you who feel that the redundant sexual detail are vital to the story, you're better off subscribing to Penthouse's Forum. Despite my aggressive stance on his 'womanizing' I did find value and insight on his battle with the dark energy that comes with his lifestyle. Anthony was honest. Drugs are fierce, and there is a dark spirit out there waging war for your soul. I felt his desperation and hopelessness. Addiction is no laughing matter.

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Quite an insight

    You do not have to be a hardcore RHCP fan to appreciate this book. I read it in one week laying in bed before going to sleep each night. There is not one dull moment. Most would think Flea would be the one with all the troubled past, but not so. Anthony Kiedis definitely holds nothing back in this book and his descriptions and articulate language is captivating. I have a new found appreciation for Anthony. Takes a lot of courage to open yourself up this way and let anyone who decides to read this book inside his mind. You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend it for any music enthusiast, or just your regular RHCP's fan. Your missing out if you don't pick this up.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Great Book!

    I'd recommend this book to anybody, even to those who aren't big fans of the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Really great read! Check it out!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    Will buy hardcopy to add to my collection. Great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Scar tissue

    This book was a remarkable story of Anthony Kiedis's life. The singer of Red hot chili peppers! After I read this book I bought all of his cds!!!! I highly recommend this book i could not put it down once I started reading it! It is pretty intense and alot of drugs he did, so if your not into that i wouldn't read it! What an awesome book! I will read it again and again and again!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Raw AK

    A poetic tell all tale of AK's journey from 13 year old drug user to rock & rolls biggest star. The words glide accross the page seemlessly as RHCP lyircs are connected with AK life experiences. Why wouldnt one of the greatest lyricists of all time NOT produce a masterpiece? Beautifully written. READ IT!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    recommended if you love RHCP

    Having its obvious moments of crudeness, this book gives you a new appreciation for his band. Anthony is a candid, honest character that speaks his mind. He gives you the play by play of how he is who he is a doesn't leave out the gory unflattering details to gain popularity. I have a new respect for him now. This book is a very quick read and enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Honest and well written

    I have read some of the more negative reviews, and I have to say I'm surprised by some of the comments. His crazy addictions to everything are a turn off? Really? What on earth did people expect from a rock star? I read some complaints that it was repetitive. That's part of the whole story of addiction. It IS repetitive.......it's that behavior, doing the same crazy stuff over and over.....that is the hallmark of being an addict. Yes, this is raw, and at times , very disturbing. A.K. succeeded in capturing what it feels like to be in THAT deep , and he pulls no punches, nor does he glamorize any of it. Its not easy to show such a dark side of yourself, and I give him a lot of credit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    So good!!

    Makes laugh, makes your jaw drop, and sometimes just gives you that warm fuzzy feeling. Never a dull moment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Just started reading this book

    So far so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Amazing This book was recommend to me by friend and I'm personal

    Amazing
    This book was recommend to me by friend and I'm personally not a fan of reading, but this book was something else. After reading the first five pages I couldn't put the book down, and that says a lot because I'm not a fan of reading. Kiedis really illustrates his life down to the point with accuracy, the tales of his sex life and the role that drugs partook in his life from an early age. Explaining the origins of Red Hot Chili Peppers, how they came to be, how they got their name, and their early stunts as a band. I felt this was a great book to really emphasize the life that musicians deal with the sex, drugs, and rock n' roll, also showing Kiedis's personal endeavors struggling with drug abuse, and the many failed attempts to get clean. His failing relationships with many woman, although he may have had plenty of sexual experience he was never capable of actually maintaining a long relationship. Overall the book was simply amazing, good read and I recommend it to fans of RHCP or those who would like to see the life that musicians adapt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    simply great

    who knew u could go thru so much and still be alive. this book was so interestin i really did not want to stop reading. i would definitely recommend this book to ppl who want a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    reading the sample 2 under the bridge and it all seems 2 fit

    wowowwowowowowow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    This book is one of my favorite books I've ever read, plus it's

    This book is one of my favorite books I've ever read, plus it's a biography. I had always assumed biographies were boring, however I was pleasantly surprised. Anthony Kiedis is actually a great writer along with being a great musician. The book was full of thrill and I never wanted to put it down. I feel like Anthony chose to write mostly about what he thought would interest the readers. Most of the book was talking about his party scene, each and every girl in his life, and his trip to Fame. Anthony's personality along with his morals were easily portrayed  throughout the novel so I felt like I had personally known him after reading it. I recommend this book not only to Red Hot Chilli Pepper fans, but also to anyone looking for a scoop on the journey to becoming a famous musician or just a  thrilling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    I got this book first when I was about 13, and it opened my mind

    I got this book first when I was about 13, and it opened my mind. This book is a completely honest depiction of what it is like to be on drugs. Lots of people like to say the book was boring. Maybe they're reading another book, because this book was anything but boring. His sexual encounters are described in full in the most respectful way. I don't feel he was trying to brag about these experiences. The explanations were beautiful, and I feel he was just trying to explain he was making meaningful love to these women, rather than merely having a sexual encounter with them. He's a person that is very in touch with his sexuality. In full, the book kept me reading all night and did not disappoint. It took me only about a day to finish because I couldn't stop reading. This is the most insightful rock star biography out there. Ever since I read the book, I feel like I know this man as a friend. The book is very personal and interesting. I lost the book a few years ago and I will be buying it again, because it was so well-written I must read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Good read!

    Anthony is an amazing story teller. I could not put this book down. He paints vivid mental pictures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    I

    Terraced hell*-janiter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great look into Kiedis's life and his struggles with drugs.  Abs

    Great look into Kiedis's life and his struggles with drugs.  Absolutely captivating and worth a read.  The only complaint I have is that the book stops shortly before Californication, so I was left wanting more.  Incredible read to pair up with a Chili Peppers discography and listen to the songs while Kiedis describes the reasoning.  Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Great book!

    Being a big fan , i have enjoyed this book. Too bad many judged him while reading this. At least he took the time to write this for fans like me and many others. Thanks anthony, u rock!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Rose

    Smiled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Jake

    Moaned stroking his c.o.c.k sucking her nipple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13