Customer Reviews for

Scarecrow

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, in a don't think too hard way.

If you want reality and a plausible plot stick to non-fiction. I personally pick up a Reilly book when I want to "watch" explosions. I don't care if things are realistic, I don't know any better. I do know that no Matthew Reilly novel ever fails to make my heart race, a...
If you want reality and a plausible plot stick to non-fiction. I personally pick up a Reilly book when I want to "watch" explosions. I don't care if things are realistic, I don't know any better. I do know that no Matthew Reilly novel ever fails to make my heart race, and this one actually made me cry and throw my book across the room. The character development isn't great, but for me the characters are only there to fill the spaces between explosions, gun shots and crashes. Any book by Reilly is a fun read, just don't analyze it and go with the flow.

posted by Ladytas on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A bit too over the top.

I love Reilly's books, and this was a fun read, but he goes too far with driving the pace of the action. The plot is paper thin, and the characters are cardboard cutouts, with the exception of Scarecrow and Mother. There's always a certain suspension of belief required ...
I love Reilly's books, and this was a fun read, but he goes too far with driving the pace of the action. The plot is paper thin, and the characters are cardboard cutouts, with the exception of Scarecrow and Mother. There's always a certain suspension of belief required when reading in this genre, but Reilly carries some of the escapes to Roadrunner/Coyote level. He also overdoes it with the italicized '...and at that VERY moment..' Buy it in hardcover if you're a Reilly fanatic, otherwise wait for paperback.

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, in a don't think too hard way.

    If you want reality and a plausible plot stick to non-fiction. I personally pick up a Reilly book when I want to "watch" explosions. I don't care if things are realistic, I don't know any better. I do know that no Matthew Reilly novel ever fails to make my heart race, and this one actually made me cry and throw my book across the room. The character development isn't great, but for me the characters are only there to fill the spaces between explosions, gun shots and crashes. Any book by Reilly is a fun read, just don't analyze it and go with the flow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Good reading

    This was an entertaining book that has almost too much action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SCARECROW IS THE BEST!!!!!

    I couldn't put this book down!!! It was THAT good and THAT exciting! There was action on every page!!! I love how Scarecrow's marines are completely loyal to him and would give up their lives without hesitation to protect him. The scene where Mother and the Scarecrow fight was amazing! I specifically loved the dialogue afterwards. I had to reread that part several times because it was so touching! Great book! I am now rereading Ice Station and have just purchased the prequel Area 7. Waiting for the next Scarecrow book!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Great read!

    Action supreme, thrilling and exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Ummmmmmm yeah.

    Matt is really good. All of his books are really entertaining and gripping. I would highly recommend 7 deadly wonders, 6 sacred stones and 5 greatest warriors. I love the character of jack west jr... excuse me, huntsman. Anyways i havent completly read this book but i have heard a lot about it and i know it would be well worth your time to read any matthew reilly books. The one and only thing i would change about his books is the language. To much swearing... but that is the only... wait nope. I changed my mind. Too much detail of the end of people's lives... eyeballs comimg out, peices of flesh on the end of a sword, blood covering everything... i have a very imaginative mond so as i read i picture these things in my head... and i have a photograpic memory so those images dont go away... its kinda nasty... but hey i cant change what he writes... im not hatin but no me gusta... swaggie. 1D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Reilly is a great author

    Matthew Reilly is one of my all time favorite authors. All of his Scarecrow series books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Go Scarecrow

    A true action packed novel that you won't be able to put down. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    Excellent adventure of the Scarecrow. I would recommend any other book by Reilly. He's a great author. His novels are so action packed, it's hard to put the books down! Great reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Can you say 'action packed'!

    This book rocks. The action is so cool. The characters rock too'Shane Schofield is the next Jack Ryan'. I'm tired of people commenting the action scenes. I read adventure to escape reality and enjoy fun characters with a good plot. Speaking of which this is the second best story for a Matthew Reilly novel. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Disneyland, Not the Algonquin Round Table

    When you go to Disneyland you go to ride the rollercoaster not to think. Reilly lets you get a tight grip and hang on while he does the (over)driving. Other reviewers are calling the action absurd and over-done. Yeah, so what's your point? The Indiana Jones movies are over the top and people love them. Keifer Sutherland's adventures on '24' are too much for one person to handle also. Why are these people setting a higher standard here? He writes books that beg to be made into big budget movies if any studio could afford to blow up all that stuff. Did I laugh at some of the action along the way? Sure I did. Does anyone think Reilly didn't have his tongue firmly stuck in his cheek when we wrote it? Cut the guy some slack. Have a little fun. Other reviewers have spoiled the plot twist that surprised the heck out of me. Congratulations, Matt, in making this move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    Everything an action junkie needs

    Scarecrow is everything action fans are looking for. With true heroes and heroines in Shane 'Scarecrow' Schofield, the Black Knight and Mother Newman amazing battles in unbelieveable environments such as an aircraft carrier and an underground mine and villains you can't help hate, this book will have you holding your breath until the last page. This book is what happens when you combine ideas from John Woo, Luc Besson and Michael Mann.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Great Book

    I have read Reilly's other books, and I thought this was his best. It's fast, fun and full of a good story. It doesn't try to be something it's not, it just delivers nothing but action from beginning to end. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Better Shane

    It's really great, it keeps you on the edge of your seat. It keeps you coming back for more, just like Temple, etc. I really wonder when Hover Car Racer is coming out. If anyone knows will he or she email me?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Scarecrow series gets better with each installment!

    In Ice Station we meet Shane 'Scarecrow' Shofield and his crack squad of battle hardened Marines. In Area 7, Scarecrow, Fox, Mother, and Book II prove their worth to the USA and its leader yet again. In Scarecrow, they throw the rule book out the window. This ultra-fast paced thriller keeps the pages flying at near papercut speed. If you've read Ice Station and/or Area 7, and not Scarecrow...stop wasting time. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Excelletn

    I am young, but I read this book it's a good read for all ages and it always is leaving you in suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    WOW

    This book was awesome. The pages just flew by, and the action though far fetched was very well presented. I did not like one major section of the book, but I will not spoil it. If you are a Matthew Reilly fan and have read the book, you know what I am talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    The Fastest Action Thriller Ever

    This book is undoubtedly one of the best action thrillers ever written. The action sequences flow from one page to the next and are extremely well-written. Matthew Reilly has brought back one his best characters in his best book to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    A thrill a minute

    The intelligence report claimed that Islamic terrorists took control of the Krask 8: Penal and Maintenance Installation Siberian submarine repair base and with the seizure possess nuclear missiles. US Marine Shane 'Scarecrow' Schofield and an elite Delta Force race to stop the terrorists before they can use or sell their cache of mass destruction..................................... However, instead of Islamic enemies, Schofield and company are caught in a deadly trap set by teams of bounty hunters competing in a contest to kill Delta Force soldiers at over $18 million-per scalp. The Majestic 12, consisting of a dozen male multibillionaires who inherit the seat via primogeniture, has drawn up a hit list that includes Scarecrow at number 12 among fifteen targets for elimination. This group has been in the way of good business decisions to buy and sell presidents and other heads of states. In deep trouble as he escapes the nuclear reactor for the nuclear waste, Scarecrow and company battle a seemingly endless supply of mercenaries, who want to collect the bounty............................... Is the novel unreal? Yes! Is the conspiracy unbelievable? Absolutely! Are the characters two-dimensional? No doubt! With all that, readers will conclude who cares. Fans of non-stop, action packed thrillers will want to read this delightful tale even if the body count seems endless. This terrific novel never allows the audience a chance to catch its breath as it rockets from one scenario to an even more dangerous situation sort of like the opening scene in an Indiana Jones movie, but continuing for two hours without respite....................................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3