Customer Reviews for

Scared to Death

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a powerful chiller

    Elsa Cavalon and Marin Quinn share in common the loss of the same child (see Live to Tell). Fifteen years ago, Elsa's adopted son seven year old Jeremy was kidnapped. Over two decades ago Marin gave up her newborn son Jeremy for adoption. Neither has moved pass their losses, as each believe Jeremy is dead. Both are trying to do so with varying success. In Groton, Connecticut Elsa has adopted another child seven years old Renny while Manhattanize Marin struggles with the betrayal and lies of her husband a disgraced arrested Congressman and being there for their daughters.

    However, nothing goes smoothly for either disturbed woman. They will soon be back teetering on the precipice again when a new horror hits both of them. A raging watcher angry at both women and jealous of their offspring makes plans for each mother. Elsa and Marin soon struggle to prevent any harm to their love ones, but to do so probably will cost either one or both their lives as the watcher demands they choose.

    This is a powerful chiller as sometimes the paranoia proves right. The cast is solid especially the full blooded women and the troubled watcher. Fans need to set aside time as Wendy Corsi Staub provides a strong exhilarating suspenseful thriller that grips readers from start to finish as the return of two moms from Live To Tell may end up dead unable to tell,

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Good read

    Go

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Second in series

    I think the first was better but i would continue reading her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Excellent story! Must read!

    This is the second book in her series. The first one was "Live To Tell". Also an excellent book! Just when you think you know "who did it", another clue is dropped and you're guessing again. I got hooked on Wendy Corsi Staub when she co-wrote with Lisa Jackson and Nancy Bush in "Most Likely To Die". "Scared To Death" is a well written book and it kept me on the edge of my seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Great sequel

    Enjoyed this book as much as the first in the series. Kept me in suspense until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Super!

    Once again this author delivers! This was so suspenseful and it was very hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another hit for Wendy Corsi Staub! "Scared to Death" i

    Another hit for Wendy Corsi Staub! "Scared to Death" is jam packed with suspense and keeps youu guessing till the last 2 chapters. While I did not read Live to Tell first, it really doesn't matter because this book begins as if it's not part of a sequal... It is just fine on it's own! The characters are great; we have the stong mother who will stop at nothing to keep her child safe, the scared and depressed mother who would rather pop pills then deal with reality, and the boy who everyone believed was dead... A wonderful book- now I have to read the first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    A "Jeremy" Sequel

    This is the sequel to the first book about Jeremy. Apparently
    there's a sequel to this one. It did hold my interest, but had a very disappointing, anti-climatic ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Good writing

    First time reading her work, after I bought three more. Loved her stories and her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    awesome, you must read it!

    This series is very good, just finished this book and am looking forward to book 3. Awesome author, I highly recommend it to anyone who likes who-done-its!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Scared to Death

    As ususal Wendy writes a story that can keep you on the edge of the seat! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and picked it up every chance I got! Great writer - can't wait for sequel in December!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Read Live to Tell first! I think this book does a good job with tying up loose ends from the previous novel. There's plenty of suspense in this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Clever

    Staub steps back into the frayed lives of the families torn apart by one man's ruthless obsession in the much-anticipated follow up to "Live to Tell" with the emotionally charged release of "Scared to Death".
    Marin Quinn is a woman adrift in uncertainty and guilt in the wake of her husband's greed and deception. The family's very public fall from grace and her inability to overcome the personal mortification she feels, has become a catalyst to justify the isolation she's forced on herself and children. But she soon learns that separation from society doesn't necessarily mean you can successfully hide.
    Elsa Cavalon has finally begun pulling the pieces of her fractured life together. After the devastating kidnapping of her adopted son years before and the mental break that followed, she and her husband are working toward adopting a young girl. For Elsa, nothing matters more than motherhood and she's vowed to protect this child fiercely. She won't turn her back again.
    This should be a period of healing, but for some the price paid for past misdeeds hasn't been sufficient and it's time for Marin and Elsa to pay the piper. Teaspoonfuls of terror are the ideal beginning to help them fully understand they'll never be free.
    The outcome initially appears obvious, but that just wouldn't be Staub's style. Each twist and turn is methodical, meant to build anxiety as she cleverly yanks the rug out from underneath.

    Reviewed by Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    One of Wendy's Strongest!

    Wendy's writing continues to get crisper and stronger as she grows as a suspense writer. I thought this was an excellent follow up to "Live To Tell" and although it can stand on its own as a single title, it does deliver harbingers for "Hell To Pay" the third book in the series. No one does home and hearth thrillers better than Wendy. I thoroughly enjoyed "Scared To Death."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Disappointing

    The author is one of my favorites and I enjoy reading her books. This one had me riveted until the final chapter. After reading the first couple of pages of the last chapter all of the excitement and anticipation I had reading the book deflated. I felt it was a ridiculous and abrupt end to a great read. In fact, I'm so disappointed that I don't think I will be reading the third book in this series. I hope her future books are more enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4