Customer Reviews for

Scaredy Squirrel

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Get Out of Your Shell with Scaredy Squirrel!

The Turkeybird Speaks(My 3 year old son's POV): "This book is one of those that I just can't put down. My favorite is when my dad reads it, 'wake up, eat a nut, look at a view, eat a nut...', he just does such a good job! Scaredy Squirrel is one of those characters you ...
The Turkeybird Speaks(My 3 year old son's POV): "This book is one of those that I just can't put down. My favorite is when my dad reads it, 'wake up, eat a nut, look at a view, eat a nut...', he just does such a good job! Scaredy Squirrel is one of those characters you love instantly, I mean, he's really a flying squirrel! He can fly! How cool is that? And he's afraid of bee's and I am not a fan at all. I once had one sting me and my thumb swelled up like a balloon! So of course you want to stay away from those terrible bugs!

"My favorite part though has to be his emergency kit! He has everything you could ever need in there to keep away all the scary things you might encounter! Although I'm still not quite sure why he's afraid of sharks? I LOVE sharks! But my mom doesn't, so maybe it's an adult thing??? Anyway, the emergency kit! My mom and I even drew one up together. They have one you can print off on the website for the book and it is incredible! You have to try it out! Of course we included band-aids, just like squirrel, because they are my favorite thing to stick to my body (even if I don't have a 'good' reason for it, as my mom would say)!

"This is a definite must read with any guy or girl you know! Pick it up and enjoy Scaredy Squirrel's funny adventure!"

Mom's Two Cents: "The Turkeybird is right, this is one funny book! It was actually awarded the ALA's award for most Notable Children's Book in 2007 and I completely agree. My husband, The Baker, reads to The Turkeybird every night before bed as there time together the rest of the day is limited and this is something they love to do together. Well, at least every other night he asks for this book. I love to hear him chuckle in the other room as he see's Scaredy Squirrel fall from the tree to discover he can fly and that the world outside his tree isn't really as bad as he first thought.

"One of the funniest things about the book is all the crazy things Scaredy Squirrel is afraid of. I love it! Martians, killer bees, tarantulas, poison ivy, germs and sharks. Now, I do have to say, I'm not a fan of sharks, never have been, but Martians? Hilarious! But the truly great thing about it is, I know we all know a little boy or girl who is terrified of something so completely random and impossible that they will never truly be hurt by it, but that doesn't mean they can't fear it. The author mentioned this in her discussion of the book:

From the author: "Mélanie has often noted how the Scaredy Squirrel books helped her work out her own insecurities and fears, as the success of these titles has required her to venture out into the unknown, and like Scaredy she has found the experience truly uplifting."

"In reality, though this book is funny and entertaining it teaches a wonderful lesson to children of all ages. When we stay in our shells, be it our homes or a safe place (a job, a city, a rut, anything), we could be missing out on all the world has to offer us. In Scaredy Squirrel's case it was knowing he could fly and see more of the world around him. Granted he still has some other fears to overcome, but it's all about taking things one step at a time. And who couldn't use that?"

posted by the1stdaughter on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cute!

This book is an unusual format and should appeal to several ages from toddlers to early readers. And especially squirrel lovers

posted by 10101391 on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get Out of Your Shell with Scaredy Squirrel!

    The Turkeybird Speaks(My 3 year old son's POV): "This book is one of those that I just can't put down. My favorite is when my dad reads it, 'wake up, eat a nut, look at a view, eat a nut...', he just does such a good job! Scaredy Squirrel is one of those characters you love instantly, I mean, he's really a flying squirrel! He can fly! How cool is that? And he's afraid of bee's and I am not a fan at all. I once had one sting me and my thumb swelled up like a balloon! So of course you want to stay away from those terrible bugs!

    "My favorite part though has to be his emergency kit! He has everything you could ever need in there to keep away all the scary things you might encounter! Although I'm still not quite sure why he's afraid of sharks? I LOVE sharks! But my mom doesn't, so maybe it's an adult thing??? Anyway, the emergency kit! My mom and I even drew one up together. They have one you can print off on the website for the book and it is incredible! You have to try it out! Of course we included band-aids, just like squirrel, because they are my favorite thing to stick to my body (even if I don't have a 'good' reason for it, as my mom would say)!

    "This is a definite must read with any guy or girl you know! Pick it up and enjoy Scaredy Squirrel's funny adventure!"

    Mom's Two Cents: "The Turkeybird is right, this is one funny book! It was actually awarded the ALA's award for most Notable Children's Book in 2007 and I completely agree. My husband, The Baker, reads to The Turkeybird every night before bed as there time together the rest of the day is limited and this is something they love to do together. Well, at least every other night he asks for this book. I love to hear him chuckle in the other room as he see's Scaredy Squirrel fall from the tree to discover he can fly and that the world outside his tree isn't really as bad as he first thought.

    "One of the funniest things about the book is all the crazy things Scaredy Squirrel is afraid of. I love it! Martians, killer bees, tarantulas, poison ivy, germs and sharks. Now, I do have to say, I'm not a fan of sharks, never have been, but Martians? Hilarious! But the truly great thing about it is, I know we all know a little boy or girl who is terrified of something so completely random and impossible that they will never truly be hurt by it, but that doesn't mean they can't fear it. The author mentioned this in her discussion of the book:

    From the author: "Mélanie has often noted how the Scaredy Squirrel books helped her work out her own insecurities and fears, as the success of these titles has required her to venture out into the unknown, and like Scaredy she has found the experience truly uplifting."

    "In reality, though this book is funny and entertaining it teaches a wonderful lesson to children of all ages. When we stay in our shells, be it our homes or a safe place (a job, a city, a rut, anything), we could be missing out on all the world has to offer us. In Scaredy Squirrel's case it was knowing he could fly and see more of the world around him. Granted he still has some other fears to overcome, but it's all about taking things one step at a time. And who couldn't use that?"

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scaredy Squirrel is awesome!

    I love this book! I am a big fan of the Pigeon books by Mo Willems and now I have found another character to love! The illustrations and concept are awesome. The humor is great. It is a fun character book to read with your kids. Can't wait for more Scaredy Squirrel adventures!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun in a Tree.

    *Entertaining illustrations. *Funny storyline. *Learn how to keep things predictable and under control by reading this tale. *Adorable for young "readers" ages three to eight years old and it's fun for read-aloud-time or picture book time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read For All Ages!!

    I enjoyed this book from the begining to the end. I have read this to all ages, and they all enjoyed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Loveyou Baby! :) :* Miss you!

    Loveyou Baby! :) :* Miss you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    FUNNY

    It is so funny i love it !

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Scardey Squirrel Takes the (Nutty) Cake

    The librarian at my school read this fantastic story to my 2nd graders and they just, for a lack of better wording, went NUTS over it! Scardey Squirrel is a smart and humorous little number with cute illustrations and a great message. Perfect for Kindergarten through 2nd grade aged children and adults.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Cute!

    This book is an unusual format and should appeal to several ages from toddlers to early readers. And especially squirrel lovers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Flowergirl

    I would give this book ten million stars ( well that's what I thought of the book ) It's a cute story about a squirrel. If you what to have a little laugh or giggle I would recommend this book to you. "
    U

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    yehey! tayo na?

    yehey! tayo na?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!

    Scaredy Squirrel is one of my faves havent read this since 1st grade loved it NOT A RIP OFF!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Was OK

    Wasn't as good as I expected. It's probably a better picture book for story-telling than a storybook that you just read through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2