Customer Reviews for

Scarlet (Scarlet Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A new kick-butt twist on the old legend.

    I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this action-packed page-turner and am SO glad I did! I know I'm sucked into a book when all I want to do is phone in sick to work so I can stay home to read, but then kind of don't want to read, because I never want it to end. Scarlet is one of those books. It had everything I want in a read, including a totally kick-butt heroine who doesn't wait around for men to save her, a horrible (and I mean, really, really horrible) villain and a very touching love story between tortured souls who deserve nothing more than to be in love, but who just don't see it themselves. Scarlet is such a complex, well-drawn character, that I identified with her and sort of even wanted to be her because of her amazing skills as the knife-wielding, tree-dwelling member of Robin Hood's band.

    I don't know a lot about the Robin Hood stories, but even still, I loved this book and didn't feel like I was missing out on anything because I wasn't well-versed on the legends. I can't wait for this to come out so everyone can read it! Highly recommended!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Wow!!!!!

    Totally loved this book. I really liked the main character, scarlet, she is such a strong individual and doesn't let anyone change who she is as a person. The plot was pretty good but the story kind of dragged in some places. Overall I think everyone should read it and is now one of my favorite books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    If you don't like this book, you are crazy. It has an amazing fe

    If you don't like this book, you are crazy. It has an amazing female lead who is fierce, quick-witted, and independent. I couldn't put it down. Had adventure,suspense and romance. The fight scenes in it are spectacular because they are more romanticized due to the time period. No guns, just knives, arrows and hand-to-hand combat. Do a backwards flip while cutting a mans throat? No problem! This rendition of Robin Hood will leave readers wishing there was more.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Wow

    When you are expecting good things and the book goes ABOVE AND BEYOND your expectations, you know you found a winner.

    Scarlet is a character you instantally adore. Every member of the band had some endearing quality the left you no choice but to love them!

    The story had TONS of fighting, clever plans, plot twists, and mysteries. Mot a single part was dull and none of the concepts were clique. It was fresh and new and totally totally totally worth reading.


    There was a little language and a few slightly suggestive things but nothimg too bad. I think this is one of my favorite books and will probably stalk this author for news odlf a sequal or any other book she decidesto write!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    What an amazing read! I could not put this book down! It is th

    What an amazing read! I could not put this book down!

    It is the classic tale of Robin Hood with more then a few twists. You get to know the famous Hood, and see the daily struggle and triumph that the characters muddle through. Scar was completely endearing. It was so well done I was sad to see it end.

    I hope there is more to come!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I hate books with covers like this. Stereotypical girl with a dr

    I hate books with covers like this. Stereotypical girl with a dramatic, generic, and boring title/name. I Despise them actually. I was at school and needed a book to read as I had left mine at home. My friend gave me this book and I took it without much of a choice. I was planning on just reading it by going through the motions mindlessly. However, it got good. REALLY good. The story just grabs you and you fall in love with Robin and Scarlet. I was never a huge fan of the Robin Hood story, but this is just amazing. You get a feel for how he really did care about his crew and all the townspeople. It is written well with great voice and personality, yet it stays formal and classic. My biggest issue was the fact the word  "were" was used instead of the grammatically correct "was." That bugged me throughout the whole book, but that's just because I am a huge grammar geek. Although, I am sure it was to show language disparity between the educated and the thieves. Overall, I highly recommend this book. Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    This take on Robin Hood and his merry men was both refreshing and exciting. Chalk full of twists and mystery. Secrets kept and secrets shared making this book a non-stop read. Will Scarlet will keep you guessing right up to the end and leave you begging for more! This has fast become my favorite book of the year.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    AMAZING

    READ THIS!!!! It is SO entirely amazing! I read this book in 2 days (couldn't put it down)! Again, READ THIS!!!! (^ - ^)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Sssssssss

    Amazing. Five stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great Twist to the Legend of Robin Hood

    Although written in an old fashion style of writting, I loved this novel and every twist in the road.
    Scarlet is Robin Hood's band member and is handy with thieving and knives.
    Im awaiting for another novel in what I hope is a series and hope its as good as this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    A great story!

    This book is wonderful. I absolutely loved it. Although i find robin somewhat annoying i loved the main character scarlet! If your wondering if you should buy the book... definately yes!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    AMAZING!!!! Blew me away!

    This book is just incredible I love that people are still doing Robin Hood books and this one had such a wonderful female spin. This book is worth every penny! You will find yourself emotionally involved with whats going on in this magically crafted tale!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Moving, Quick-Thinking, & Fully Detailed

    Book Review (ARC)
    I am a sucker for a Robin Hood story. Scarlet was even better than I expected. It’s a fast moving, quick thinking, and fully detailed version of the story. It’s an original remake, if that makes any sense. While I am familiar with the original Robin Hood story, this one still felt fresh and new in the way that it was told. The story of Scarlet is one that I have never read much about and Gaughen’s imagining of who Scarlet could have been is wonderful. Scarlet’s story melds in perfectly with Robin’s and her back story is slowly unraveled, a definite treat in its twists and turns.

    Other loved characters such as Big John and Friar Tuck make their appearances as well, some more than others. Much, a character I hadn’t remembered from previous Robin Hood tales, has a big role as one of Hood’s band (along with John), and he quickly became one of my favorite characters. He was so endearing and charming in his own way that it would be hard to do anything other than love him. I would continue to read stories with these characters that Gaughen has made into her own!

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Book Review 2  Scarlet  by: A.C. Gaughen  Even though th

    Book Review 2 




    Scarlet 
    by: A.C. Gaughen 




    Even though this book is a copy of robin hood it still has as much excitement, drama, romance, and mystery as the real story. But in this story, the hero is girl. Scarlet is a girl with a dark past and likes to hide it by pretending to be a man named Will. She lives with Robin Hood in the forest by Nottingham. Scarlet does not speak to anyone, she prefers to be alone and would rather sit in a tree all day long then face the real world. She is also skilled in fighting, and stealing just like Robin Hood and the merry men. There is a twist in the love story though which makes you think who Robin really was in love with. The rest of the story is yours to find out. 




    Recommended to young adults, mainly females because it really makes a statement to females that have had a rough past or are struggling to keep their lives together. I enjoyed this book very very much and have read it many of times. To me it was better than Robin Hood. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    I cannot believe this released in 2012 and despite hearing of it

    I cannot believe this released in 2012 and despite hearing of it's awesomeness I didn't read it until the tail end of 2014. Don't be like me! Read it now if you haven't! The Lion Heart is out in May and it's the perfect opportunity to binge read this amazing, incredible, and damn astounding series. Seriously, you can't lose.

    I love the Robin Hood mythology. I love the despite nobody knowing if this man ever really existed, people are drawn to the story of Robin, his men, the Sheriff of Rottingham Nottingham, and many other factors and make each retelling belong solely to its individual creator. Scarlet is no exception to this and A.C. truly makes this retelling her own.

    Scarlet is running from a past she wants no one to know of and now that past has come back with a vengeance. What I love about this plot is that we don't know who Scarlet was or why she ran from her home. A.C. doesn't tell us until we and her band absolutely need to know. Scarlet hints at it certain points during her narrative, but we don't know the whole story. And when the whole story does come out - whoa.

    Scarlet is a strong heroine and stands up for herself. At the same time, she can be insecure and tends to hide when she's emotionally wounded or is scared. However, she doesn't allow this insecurity to put her friends in danger. It's almost as if, even though they can't see Scarlet, she's always watching from the trees.

    I loved the men in the band as well. Robin is definitely a looker and I was shipping him and Scarlet immediately. He is fighting for his people while at the same time fighting his feelings for Scarlet. It's obvious he likes her but doesn't want to let his feeling become a distraction, especially when it comes to the inner workings of their band. John and Much are great secondary characters and they treat Scarlet with respect and love. Together, the four of them are their own little family in the woods - so much more than just a band of individuals fighting for the less fortunate.

    The language was a bit hard to get used at first, but within the first chapter or two I didn't even notice. It was accurate and truly made you feel like you were in the story. In my opinion, it's one of those minor things you wouldn't think about otherwise, but without it something would be missing. It made the story real and held your attention.

    Scarlet's plot is intricately woven and won't let you sleep until you finish and even then - hello hangover! I flew though this book because I could not stand not knowing what was going to happen next. I had to know, I needed to know how is was all going to pan out. And once I finished . . . Oh, the feels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2014

    Fantastic...

    Fantastic...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2014

    This book was pretty amazing. I LOVE Robin Hood. It¿s always bee

    This book was pretty amazing. I LOVE Robin Hood. It’s always been one of my favorite stories, and I loved this fresh take on it, with Scarlet posing as a boy in Robin Hood’s gang of thieves, and slowly falling for Robin. Robin was amazing too. This is one of the best romances I’ve read in a while. Great story! I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Exciting !!! Highly Recommend!

    This is a different side of Robin Hood in that it is not all about Him but is about Her. It is full of adventure, excitement , and edge of the seat drama. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from this author. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    AMAZING

    Holy kittens, this book is good. READ IT. :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Loved IT!!!

    !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5