Customer Reviews for

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 207 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

I'm a huge fan of Cinder and waited eagerly for the release of S

I'm a huge fan of Cinder and waited eagerly for the release of Scarlet. I bought it today after class and read all afternoon and evening. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! 

Scarlet is unbelievably amazing and will absorb you completely! The characters (old and n...
I'm a huge fan of Cinder and waited eagerly for the release of Scarlet. I bought it today after class and read all afternoon and evening. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! 

Scarlet is unbelievably amazing and will absorb you completely! The characters (old and new) find a way into your heart, and really make you care about them and their story. Each has a unique personality and role to play, and it's fun to see them start meeting each other and interacting. Normally I get very annoyed when authors continually switch viewpoints, but Meyer does it very smoothly and in such a way that the book is paced perfectly. 

Meyer also does a great job of making the world setting and it's problems realistic. Plague, armies, war, political confusion, treachery, and secrets make the atmosphere compelling.

But most of all, I love how we're getting more and more details. Everything is tying together, secrets are being revealed, and the explosive confrontation is getting closer. Scarlet was well worth the wait. My only regret is that I have to wait another year for Cress...

posted by pblover5 on February 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

After reading Cinder, and loving it, I knew I just had to read S

After reading Cinder, and loving it, I knew I just had to read Scarlet. It sounded interesting, but I was hesitant to read it because I’m not a big fan of new characters being introduced in the sequel of a book I loved. I just never know how I’m going to feel about thes...
After reading Cinder, and loving it, I knew I just had to read Scarlet. It sounded interesting, but I was hesitant to read it because I’m not a big fan of new characters being introduced in the sequel of a book I loved. I just never know how I’m going to feel about these new characters, they can either make or break the book (for me, anyways). I had high hopes, but sadly, I didn’t like Scarlet as much as I thought I would.




What I worried about the most ended up being my biggest issue. I kind of liked the new characters, not as much as I wanted to, but enough to continue reading. However, my issue was that I felt like they were overshadowing Cinder and the old characters. I didn’t necessary care more about these new characters, but the fact that they were such a prominent part of the story definitely made me forget about Cinder a bit. I loved Cinder (the book) because I loved the main character and I thought that would still get enough of Cinder in this book to continue to love her character, but it just wasn’t enough.




Scarlet was introduced in this story and she just seemed to take over. It was just too much for me. I only want to have to care about one female protagonist at a time. I can deal with more than one book boyfriend, but the girls have got to stay at a maximum of one. Scarlet, the character, was not even my ideal protagonist. I much preferred Cinder. Scarlet was whiny and annoying. She kept complaining about her missing grandmother and after reading about it for the 5th time I just wanted to jump in the book and kill the grandmother myself. I was so annoyed.




Another thing that bothered me was the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf. She was all over him by the end of the book and they had only been together for a few days or some ridiculously short amount of time. Oh, also, in Cinder, the names didn’t bother me, but in Scarlet they were too much. Wolf? Really? Why did they even call him that? They were all wolves! He was no different.




MINI SPOILER When I found out that the wolves were genetically modified Lunars I just thought that it sounded weird. Either they’re werewolves or aliens. Pick one. The combination was so bizarre. They’re already Lunars, why do they need to be anything else? END SPOILER




I felt that Scarlet should have been it’s own separate series. It seemed too much to be combined. I was all into it, excited about the wolves, and then they mentioned the Lunars again and I felt like I was brought back to reality. Like, are we still talking about these people? Nothing seemed to go together for me. I thought that an incurable disease, cyborgs, Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, wolves, Lunars, and war were just too much. This wasn’t working for me as much as I hoped it would.




Despite the awkward way that everything sounded mixed together in my head, Scarlet was kind of an enjoyable read. I had fun reading it because there was so much stuff going on. I also really liked the way that the story was told, with alternating points of views that were seamlessly integrated into the story without the need for a heading that said whose point of view it was.




Overall, this wasn’t the best sequel (IN MY OPINION) and I just wasn’t interested in it as part of the Cinder series. I didn’t think it went well with what Cinder was about and it just seemed like an unnecessary addition to Cinder’s story. The series could have done without including this book and adding a whole new cast of characters. It seemed like a filler to me, a way to add new characters while creating a whole intricate way for them to fit into the story. I can keep going on and on about this book, but I’m just going to end it here. I hope book three is way better, though I’m not sure I’ll read it.

posted by Nancy_TumblingBooks on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    I'm a huge fan of Cinder and waited eagerly for the release of S

    I'm a huge fan of Cinder and waited eagerly for the release of Scarlet. I bought it today after class and read all afternoon and evening. Let me tell you, I was not disappointed! 

    Scarlet is unbelievably amazing and will absorb you completely! The characters (old and new) find a way into your heart, and really make you care about them and their story. Each has a unique personality and role to play, and it's fun to see them start meeting each other and interacting. Normally I get very annoyed when authors continually switch viewpoints, but Meyer does it very smoothly and in such a way that the book is paced perfectly. 

    Meyer also does a great job of making the world setting and it's problems realistic. Plague, armies, war, political confusion, treachery, and secrets make the atmosphere compelling.

    But most of all, I love how we're getting more and more details. Everything is tying together, secrets are being revealed, and the explosive confrontation is getting closer. Scarlet was well worth the wait. My only regret is that I have to wait another year for Cress...

    35 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I read Cinder a week ago thanks to a friend who said you have to

    I read Cinder a week ago thanks to a friend who said you have to read this. I was not sold on the whole retelling of a fairy tale because I was sure I knew what would happen. I was glad I had read the book and even happier tha I only needed to wait a few days to read the next book. Scarlet like Cinder may be a spin off of a fairytale but Meyers does a wonderful job adding so much more to the story and keeps you guessing. I felt like in Scarlet she was able to give the characters even more depth then in her first book Cinder. I can't wait to see which fairytale she does a spin off of next to continue this series. This is a totally different kind of science fiction/romance yet still has many of the qualities I love about science fiction

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    If you have not read Cinder you need to go do that. If the word

    If you have not read Cinder you need to go do that. If the words sci-fi Cinderella retelling don't make you want to read it maybe my review will. Either way if you have not read Cinder I am warning you that this review will contain spoilers for Cinder, not for Scarlet just Cinder.



    Scarlet was just as good as Cinder. A lot of the time second books tend to drag and not be nearly as good as the first book. But Scarlet does not fall into that trap. Maybe it is the introduction of a new POV or maybe it is the added cast of characters, but Scarlet manages to stay fresh where others fail.



    In case you could not figure it out, Scarlet is a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. A retelling that will blow your mind with how different it is from the source material. It takes place in the same world as Cinder just in a different country. Scarlet is just as sassy as Cinder but they are different she is less insecure and even more kick-ass if you can believe it. If you fell in love with Cinder then you will like Scarlet. She is sassy and I swear I want her red hoodie.



    There are also some other new characters such as Wolf who is not all he seems, and Thorne who I thought was going to be annoying but I really liked getting to know. And don't fret, there are still some of your favorite characters from Cinder such as Iko, Queen Levana (though if you like her *side eye*) and of course Kai.



    The two stories of Scarlet and Wolf looking for her grandmother and Cinder trying to escape Queen Levana may seem like they would not come together but they fall in place perfectly and are told through alternating chapters interspersed with chapters about Kai.

    Basically if you liked Cinder get ready for even more fun in Scarlet. Also while some questions are answered you will be joined with me in wanting Cress which does not come out till next year.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    EXCUSE ME!!!!! HOW CAN IT END THERE???!!!! I've only been sitting for around half an hour!!!! IT CAN'T END THERE!!!! It was so short!!! I AM NOT WAITING A FULL YEAR FOR CRESS!!!! THAT'S INSANE!!!
    Anyway.... I really liked how this book didn't let me down like sooooo many other sequels. I have to say I'm impressed. Most authors take their first novel very seriously and really try to grab the reader's attention but then when they get to the second book they figure they already have tons of fans so why not just chill. Thank you Marissa Meyer for this sequel that has exceeded my expectations. READ THIS BOOK!!!! READ THIS WHOLE SERIES!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    There are no words to describe how happy I am that Scarlet came

    There are no words to describe how happy I am that Scarlet came out. I"ve literally waited by the front door of my house waiting for Scarlet to be delivered. Let me just say that I'm very picky about dystopian novels that involve future technology and a hint of other planet species. But with the Lunar Chronicals, it made an exception. The story picks up after Cinder was taken prisoner by the Lunar queen. She must break out of prison in order to be with Kai. She soon realises that if she breaks out of prison, she will become the most wanted cyborg/lunar to others. It takes a lot of courage to take that risk. We are introduced to a new character named Scarlet. Her grandmother is missing and Scarlet must figure out why. ALong the way she meets wolf, a streetfighter. Let me just say that i liked wolf the second he had his first dialouge. And soon the duo are on the search for Scarlet's grandmother. This book was .... i can't even describe how amazing it was. Brilliant dialouge, a mezmerizing world, and kick butt characters. If i hhad to rate this book it would be a 10 out of 5. i highly recomend this series if u are looking forward for a dystopian adventure that is similar to Mass Effect. Just not the whole saving the universe from reapers but more of a cyborg/lunar with her new firends fighting an lunar queen. Enjoy

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Great Book!

    I could not put down my Nook!!! Read this in day, waiting for the next two.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    CLICK ME!!!!!!

    If you guys don't know... CRESS IS BASED ON RAPUNZEL!!!!! THIS is a must read book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Okaaaaaaaaayyyyy... What have I got to say? Nothing. Absolutely

    Okaaaaaaaaayyyyy...
    What have I got to say?
    Nothing.
    Absolutely freaking NOTHING...
    This author just did it!! Freaking did it!
    She's made me fall in love with her! Wowie....
    I mean...the complaint I had in the first part was nowhere to be seen...
    Nuh-uh...
    The things were fast paced and full of action right from the beginning...nowhere does it slow down or gives the reader the time to think.
    The story grips you so well and being so well developed and planned out that one doesn't question a thing!
    But what really blows you outta your mind is the author taking your favourite fairy-tales and molding them into something so extraordinary that all you can do is openly gape!
    Yep.
    Marrisa Meyer is an ABSOLUTE GENIUS!!!
    As the story of Cinderella still continues because the Prince..now the Emperor...is still finding her..though for all the wrong reasons...Somewhere other the story of Red Riding Hood comes into place...
    The author completely baffles and impresses you at the same time with her deft capability to run so many things and perspectives and stories parallel at the same time and then very cleverly weaving all of them together at the end....
    Just perfect...
    Couldn't imagine it being written any better than this..
    Just blows your mind!
    Hats-off to the author!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Getting more complicated.

    The story got a whole lot more complicated with the addition of a whole new set of main characters. In addition to Cinderella, her prince, the evil queen & her army; we now have Little Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf. It's around these two new characters that this installment revolves. The story really is going to take 4 books to resolve due simply to complexity. Thankfully, the author does a very good job of tying everything together and making those essential connections between the characters and events. Like the first book in this saga, I wish the world had been fleshed out better and a bit more atmosphere had been present. There was room for it, and I want to know more about what this future world looks/sounds/smells like. Regardless, it's still a very good read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Cinder, and loving it, I knew I just had to read S

    After reading Cinder, and loving it, I knew I just had to read Scarlet. It sounded interesting, but I was hesitant to read it because I’m not a big fan of new characters being introduced in the sequel of a book I loved. I just never know how I’m going to feel about these new characters, they can either make or break the book (for me, anyways). I had high hopes, but sadly, I didn’t like Scarlet as much as I thought I would.




    What I worried about the most ended up being my biggest issue. I kind of liked the new characters, not as much as I wanted to, but enough to continue reading. However, my issue was that I felt like they were overshadowing Cinder and the old characters. I didn’t necessary care more about these new characters, but the fact that they were such a prominent part of the story definitely made me forget about Cinder a bit. I loved Cinder (the book) because I loved the main character and I thought that would still get enough of Cinder in this book to continue to love her character, but it just wasn’t enough.




    Scarlet was introduced in this story and she just seemed to take over. It was just too much for me. I only want to have to care about one female protagonist at a time. I can deal with more than one book boyfriend, but the girls have got to stay at a maximum of one. Scarlet, the character, was not even my ideal protagonist. I much preferred Cinder. Scarlet was whiny and annoying. She kept complaining about her missing grandmother and after reading about it for the 5th time I just wanted to jump in the book and kill the grandmother myself. I was so annoyed.




    Another thing that bothered me was the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf. She was all over him by the end of the book and they had only been together for a few days or some ridiculously short amount of time. Oh, also, in Cinder, the names didn’t bother me, but in Scarlet they were too much. Wolf? Really? Why did they even call him that? They were all wolves! He was no different.




    MINI SPOILER When I found out that the wolves were genetically modified Lunars I just thought that it sounded weird. Either they’re werewolves or aliens. Pick one. The combination was so bizarre. They’re already Lunars, why do they need to be anything else? END SPOILER




    I felt that Scarlet should have been it’s own separate series. It seemed too much to be combined. I was all into it, excited about the wolves, and then they mentioned the Lunars again and I felt like I was brought back to reality. Like, are we still talking about these people? Nothing seemed to go together for me. I thought that an incurable disease, cyborgs, Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, wolves, Lunars, and war were just too much. This wasn’t working for me as much as I hoped it would.




    Despite the awkward way that everything sounded mixed together in my head, Scarlet was kind of an enjoyable read. I had fun reading it because there was so much stuff going on. I also really liked the way that the story was told, with alternating points of views that were seamlessly integrated into the story without the need for a heading that said whose point of view it was.




    Overall, this wasn’t the best sequel (IN MY OPINION) and I just wasn’t interested in it as part of the Cinder series. I didn’t think it went well with what Cinder was about and it just seemed like an unnecessary addition to Cinder’s story. The series could have done without including this book and adding a whole new cast of characters. It seemed like a filler to me, a way to add new characters while creating a whole intricate way for them to fit into the story. I can keep going on and on about this book, but I’m just going to end it here. I hope book three is way better, though I’m not sure I’ll read it.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    Scarlet is the amazing second installment of the Lunar Chronicle

    Scarlet is the amazing second installment of the Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer.  This book picks up moments after the first one, Cinder, left off.

    For those of you reading this that haven’t read Cinder yet, STOP.  Go to your local bookstore, pick up a copy and read it.  I’ll wait.

    Finished?

    Excellent, I’ll continue.

    At the open of the book, we are introduced to Scarlett.  A young girl from the small town of Rieux, France.  She is running the family farm since her Grandmother disappeared quite suddenly with no explanation as to why.   As she begins her desperate search for her Grandmother, she meets Wolf, a street fighter with a mysterious background.  Together they travel to Paris to seek out Scarlet’s Grandmother.  But once they arrive, Wolf’s past catches up to him and all chaos breaks loose.

    The story also picks back up with Cinder after she discovered that she is in fact the lost Lunar Princess Selene and the World’s #1 fugitive.  She is the niece to the evil Lunar Queen Levana who is bent on ruling the Earth from her palace on the Moon.  Cinder has been imprisoned by Emperor Kai after the incident at the ball and looking for a way out to meet up with Dr. Erland in Africa.  During her break out she meets Captain Carswell Thorne who helps her on her journey, all the while he causes some entertaining shenanigans.

    This fast paced novel keeps up the momentum of the first one and leaves you hanging, begging for the next installment.   The future world created by the author is so thorough in its detail and the characters so relatable that you feel as if you were standing next to them while running for their lives or fighting off a pack of hooligans.  Anyone who is a fan of fairy tales, technology, and high adventure will immediately dive into this series and never want to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Ok this will not help you

    I just wanted to say i cant wait to read scarlet. I had reslently finish cider. From wat i read i think this goning to be GREAT !!!! No AWESOME !!!!!!""

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    After reading Cinder, I was on an book high for at least a week.

    After reading Cinder, I was on an book high for at least a week. I loved that book, loved the issues raised, loved the characters and heartbreak. So I had really, really high expectations for Scarlet. I wanted to be swept away by the characters again, held fast by the struggles they face. Unfortunately, while there was some interesting plot development, and a number of new characters were introduced, I only "really liked" this story, with a caveat or two. :)
    By this point, you've probably either read other reviews of Scarlet, or read it yourself. There about five thousand rave reviews out there, so I'll just give a quick overview of what rocked: It's a fun, fast-paced read. We go to a new continent, we meet the precursors of the terrifying army that Queen Levana is building, we get major comic relief from Captain (er, Cadet) Carswell Thorne, whom I was so very glad to meet. We get to continue to hate Levana, who appears to be devoid of any saving grace whatsoever (hard to believe, but there you go...some people just aren't human, and she certainly isn't). So why not a higher rating?
    Scarlet takes place over three days, so there's a lot of action--almost too much. What that means is that character development is really difficult to manage. Meyer succeeds with Cinder--she discovers more about herself and her past, and starts to move towards a realization of both the importance of who she is and what she is willing to do about it. But Scarlet...oh, Scarlet. I just couldn't empathize with her. Her emotions ruled her to such an extent that she felt almost manic at times--too aggressive, too emotive, too melodramatic. I know, I know, some folks loved her. I wish I could have. But her development over the story didn't work for me, nor did her romantic attachment--because there just wasn't enough time for the depth of emotions involved to develop or to stabilize.
    I was also so sad about Kai's role. I really wanted him to do something. Of course he only had three days, but in Cinder he was on the move, in and out of the palace, thinking and struggling with things. In Scarlet he's basically locked in his office the whole three days agonizing over the manhunt for Cinder and what Levana will do if they don't catch the fugitive cyborg. Oh, and giving a couple of press conferences. Quite frankly, I adore Kai. So I really wanted to shake him and tell him to do something so I could continue to love the man that he is. But he doesn't. He just pulls his hands through his hair and looks out the window. If he doesn't shape up in the next book, I might just cry.
    Overall, this is still an enthralling read. Fast-paced and full of action, Scarlet packs a lot of thrills. It falls short (for me) in the character development department, but I am still eagerly awaiting the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Movie

    This is movie material. I mean, the Harry Potter movies were fantastic. But if you make it into a movie, don't change up anything, like the percy jackson. Those were horrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    .

    I absolutely ADORED this book. Its just so hard to believe that I'll have to wat another year for Cress. But overall this book was even better than I expected it to book to be and in my opinion Meyer did a great job introducing the new charcters and switching the POV's withput making it too confusing.

    Cress is based on the story Rapunzel and its about a lunar girl named Cress who is stuck in a satelite (under Levanas orders) that is orbiting earth and her job is to help Lunar ships get to Earth without being seen on radar. And since she is also a computer hacker/geek she is supposed to be able to spot ships on her radar as well, but the only ship she can't seem to find is the one that has Cinder on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Awesome book

    I loved the first book, and the second is even more exciting and intriguing then ever before! This story is told from different points of views in the beginning, and marissa does a fabolous job of blending them together in the end. I am extremely angry that I have to wait 1 year for Cress( the third book in the series) and 2 years for Winter( the last book in the series)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved it!

    I love this book like the whole sereis. Why must we wait till next year for Cress! The story worked seamleesly, the characters fit perfectly. Personally, Thorne seems like a brother or cousin to Cinder, important/ related but not romantic.
    When I find a great sereis, my life seems to revlove around it in my head, my imagination goes biserk. That is exactlt what has happened here!
    Thank God for the schoolastic bookfairs that's where I learned about and found Cinder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Awesomeness iin a book

    This book is soooo griping and I love how simply wonderful. The author can really make you feel just like the charactors in this story. Make sure to read the first book of this series,Cinder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Once upon a time......

    Scarlet is the second of a four arc book series aimed at YA but accessible to adults too. This is the story of Little Red Riding Hood, dystopian style, much as Cinder was Cinderella ...

    You can almost see the Asian graphic novel this reads like. Anime rules!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Love these books!

    This series has quickly become one of my favorites. It's set in the future, in a world on the verge of war with the Lunars, a race of people living on the moon, controlled by their evil queen. The futuristic setting is only a backdrop to a retelling of classic stories with fresh leads. Scarlet is a retelling of little red riding hood and Cinder, Scarlet's predecessor,is a retelling of Cinderella. The two main characters, Scarlet and Cinder, are strong and enjoyable and both are at difficult times in their lives.

    Overall, the writings good, the story arc and characters are good, and the references to old stories really make for a compelling read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11