Customer Reviews for

Scarlet (King Raven Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    The Saga Continues

    Stephen Lawhead continues to delight readers with the second part of his Robin Hood trilogy. Returning to the vast forests of medieval Wales, the author takes up the story of Robin 'King Raven' from the viewpoint of Will Scarlet, the son of a landowner dispossessed by the invading Normans. Will becomes one of Robin's followers, and accompanies him on the many escapades designed to undermine the Norman overlords. An audacious plan by Robin and others to rescue Will from hanging by his captors is breathtakingly fun to read. The author is uncompromising in his depiction of the Norman brand of 'ethnic cleansing' in Britain, which may be an eye-opener for those who think of William the Conqueror as an admirable hero. Sometimes dark, sometimes humorous, this book is always an adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    Lawhead is still on his game!

    This was excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A much more engaging read than Hood

    Will Scarlet is in prison and dictating his story to a monk who seeks to discover information on Rhi Bran y Hud for his master Abbot Hugo. Through Will's memory we learn the latest news of Prince Bran's exploits. He and his men have become experts at stealing from the rich and giving back to the poor people of Elfael. Will Scarlet tells how he found Prince Bran and joined up with him. As always, Prince Bran's only goal is to take care of his people and get his land back.

    As Will retells his story to the monk, he becomes aware of a conspiracy that threatens King William the Red's throne. If he can get word to Prince Bran, there might be a way to save King William's reign and get Elfael back. But Will is sentenced to be hung soon. How can a dead man get a message to anyone?

    I enjoyed Scarlet very much. The second book was a much better read than the first. It did have a long take from the old woman, but it wasn't as frustrating as it was in the first book. I also liked the way this book was written from Will's perspective in prison. Will is a wonderful character with a unique voice. Lawhead switches point of view characters often, but to have the tale from Will was refreshingly consistent. I highly recommend this second book. It could be enjoyed without having read the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Bookreader

    I think this is a very good book and i cant wait to finish the last book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Has a legend/myth/other-worldly epic feel to it.

    When I read the first book in the series ("Hood"), I liked it and it was definitely different from other books I'd read, but I couldn't really bring myself to like the character Bran all that much. However... this second book in the trilogy is much better in my opinion. The story is told through one of King Bran's followers, Will Scarlet, and this character is much more likable. Bran has changed, too, making me like him more than I did before. The book definitely has a "legend/myth/other-worldly" epic feel to it. The author has done a good job in research and in handling the usage of language and the feel of the time era into the story. It kind of felt like reading Ivanhoe! Also, Lawhead is talented in the words he chooses to string together-- they have a certain sound to them that the only way I know to describe it is "Tolkienish". I suppose what I didn't like about the book was certain "crudenesses"-- but please don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining. I'm just personally supersensitive when it comes to things of that nature. I also didn't get the whole "Angharad-goes-deep-within-herself-to-find-the-answers..." chapter. I kind of lightly skimmed through that. Anyone who loves fantasy, ancient legends, myths, and is a Robin Hood buff will enjoy this tale! *By the way, I think that if this trilogy was ever made into a movie, Charlie Cox would be a good one to play Rhi Bran!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Different yet a good read

    I loved the first book and was very excited to read Scarlet. Scarlett is written in third person - Will Scarlett speaking to a monk who is writing the story as you listen to it being told to him. That is a little difficult to follow at times. The cast is the same and well done. Lawhead does a GREAT job of putting you in the moment, in the correct time period. The SERIES is fantastic. This book is the least of the three books. They should make a movie out of this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Approach...Great Narrator Voice!

    I've read some of the medieval Robin Hood tales, and I think the rewrites are fanscinating in the ways they change and expand upon the characters. Lawhead has done a marvelous job of bringing Will Scarlet to his full potential. He is a somewhat ignored Robin Hood character who played a pretty big part in the originals, and Lawhead has given him the emphasis he was once claimed. This book is written in narrative form, but Will Scarlet is set up as a clear narrator who tells the tale by a loosely applied interview structure. Overall, I think this structure allows Will Scarlet to really develop a voice that is perhaps the best character voice Lawhead has ever written. Scarlet is so much fun in dialogue. However, I do feel that sometimes certain details of the narrative have no place in the interview. There's no way Will Scarlet could reveal some of those details without betraying Robin Hood. I don't think the structure is really that bothersome when reading for fun, but I briefly considered writing a paper on this book that forced me to look at it perhaps a bit too closely. Still a great book, although I find the plot a bit slower than in _Hood_, which I loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4