BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scarlet Nights (Edilean Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved IT !!!

This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there....
This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there. His job is to protect Sara from her fiance Greg. Greg is really the son of a famous con-artist who has escaped the authorities for years. Her and her son are after something Sara has but what? Mike never talks about his past, his woman have all been criminals wifes tied to cases. How does he handle a good girl like Sara? this book is book 3 of the Edilean Series but can stand alone. You'll love it!

posted by kimba88 on February 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awful; just awful

Dreadfully dull, felt like i aged 10 yrs whilst reading it. That being said, I did like some of the interactions between the hero and heroine. They felt real and were cute. But really just dreadful.

posted by 2516644 on September 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved IT !!!

    This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there. His job is to protect Sara from her fiance Greg. Greg is really the son of a famous con-artist who has escaped the authorities for years. Her and her son are after something Sara has but what? Mike never talks about his past, his woman have all been criminals wifes tied to cases. How does he handle a good girl like Sara? this book is book 3 of the Edilean Series but can stand alone. You'll love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Classic Devereaux

    While I have some questions about some things I'm hoping will later be answered, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's like the Montgomery/Taggerts again. It's a great, fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Author Jude Deveraux is the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of thirty-eight books. There are more than sixty million of her books in print worldwide. Other titles include: Days of Gold, Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, and Secrets. She resides in North Carolina with her family.

    This book is part of the EDILEAN SERIES, though can be read as a stand alone novel.

    In the quaint little town of Edilean, Virginia, Sara Shaw is making wedding plans, much to the distress of her family and friends. Greg Anders is not the man they would have chosen for the town's "golden child." Greg isn't like everyone else in town--he's abrupt, rude, and has a superior attitude. Plus, most think he's cheating on her. But Sara is devoted to him, assured that Edilean just doesn't know him. Then Greg leaves town unexpectedly, leaving Sara to wonder when he'll return and where they stand in their relationship. Strangely enough, undercover cop Mike Newland shows up just after Greg leaves. And the town all but bows down to the newcomer. When Sara learns that Mike was sent to Edilean because her fiancé and his mother are career criminals and planning the heist of a lifetime, Sara doesn't know what to do. Worse, she's finding herself attracted to the man, a man who cannot emotionally or physically commit to her. Either way, Mike and Sara need to figure out what it is Greg's family wants from her, before they find it first and she becomes expendable.

    The only fault I found with the book was that the characters backgrounds and inner thoughts didn't always seem to match their actions. For instance, Sara is witty and smart, yet she lets this Greg guy push her around and doesn't see through him. And Mike, who refuses to ever commit and marry, who lives a thousand miles away, quickly falls for Sara and is a bit soft at times.

    In saying that, I always take pleasure in a Jude Deveraux book. She writes with a poetic simplicity that makes her stand alone. Though a romantic suspense, this is heavy on the contemporary romance with intrigue elements. The hero and heroine were hilarious in their dialog. Back and forth, back and forth. I laughed out loud. As typical of her books, Deveraux is at her best when describing her settings. It puts the reader right there in the pages with the characters. The secondary characters were a nice add to the storyline. I can't wait to read more about them. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    Awful; just awful

    Dreadfully dull, felt like i aged 10 yrs whilst reading it. That being said, I did like some of the interactions between the hero and heroine. They felt real and were cute. But really just dreadful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    Could not put the book down

    Wonderful book. as usual Deveraux has yet again kept me on the edge of my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    enjoyed

    good,fun read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    I enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It kept my attent

    I enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It kept my attention from the start all the way until the end. The banter between our two main characters is fun and I saw the development in both of them take place gradually as they came to appreciate and love one another. The mystery was good and progressed well throughout the story.

    More sex than I prefer but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Love This Series

    Please tell me how to get to Edilean! I want to move there, but the next best thing is this series that immerses me in it. Jude is so clever to create an endearing town, and her characters are intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Very good . Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great book wonderful series - check it out!!!!

    this is a fast moving funny romance with hidden mysteries ... strong characters, female and male, they will put a smile on your face and a question mark in your mind ... great series a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    First book I've given a 5 star rating to.

    The series is wonderful. The characters are well rounded, each story can be read on its own. The characters are intertwined nicely from one story to the next with out having to repeat or give an extensive backstory. This book moves fast and draws you in quickly. A lot of action in this one that men would enjoy it too. This is a good book to read together with your spouse. The love scenes are beautifully discripted and very realistic to a new couple discovering each other with out being vulgar. Also a great action packed ending! I loved this book and will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Great read. Love this series.

    True Jude Deveraux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Love Jude Deveraux!

    Well written and wonderful characters. Read the first two books in the series a year or so ago, and was able to pick up in the story line just where I left off. Hoping to read the next book in the coming weeks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Smoke to rebbecca

    No ones even here retard.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Rebecca

    (Wishes that people would stop ignoring her)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    This series is great!!

    This series is great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Lavendar morning

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Love!

    Jude's writing style never gets old for me! I'm loving this series, and watching impatiently via Twitter as she writes and allows her fans to have input, very cool of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12