Customer Reviews for

Scarlet Nights (Edilean Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved IT !!!

This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there....
This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there. His job is to protect Sara from her fiance Greg. Greg is really the son of a famous con-artist who has escaped the authorities for years. Her and her son are after something Sara has but what? Mike never talks about his past, his woman have all been criminals wifes tied to cases. How does he handle a good girl like Sara? this book is book 3 of the Edilean Series but can stand alone. You'll love it!

posted by kimba88 on February 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awful; just awful

Dreadfully dull, felt like i aged 10 yrs whilst reading it. That being said, I did like some of the interactions between the hero and heroine. They felt real and were cute. But really just dreadful.

posted by 2516644 on September 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Classic Devereaux

    While I have some questions about some things I'm hoping will later be answered, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's like the Montgomery/Taggerts again. It's a great, fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Author Jude Deveraux is the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of thirty-eight books. There are more than sixty million of her books in print worldwide. Other titles include: Days of Gold, Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, and Secrets. She resides in North Carolina with her family.

    This book is part of the EDILEAN SERIES, though can be read as a stand alone novel.

    In the quaint little town of Edilean, Virginia, Sara Shaw is making wedding plans, much to the distress of her family and friends. Greg Anders is not the man they would have chosen for the town's "golden child." Greg isn't like everyone else in town--he's abrupt, rude, and has a superior attitude. Plus, most think he's cheating on her. But Sara is devoted to him, assured that Edilean just doesn't know him. Then Greg leaves town unexpectedly, leaving Sara to wonder when he'll return and where they stand in their relationship. Strangely enough, undercover cop Mike Newland shows up just after Greg leaves. And the town all but bows down to the newcomer. When Sara learns that Mike was sent to Edilean because her fiancé and his mother are career criminals and planning the heist of a lifetime, Sara doesn't know what to do. Worse, she's finding herself attracted to the man, a man who cannot emotionally or physically commit to her. Either way, Mike and Sara need to figure out what it is Greg's family wants from her, before they find it first and she becomes expendable.

    The only fault I found with the book was that the characters backgrounds and inner thoughts didn't always seem to match their actions. For instance, Sara is witty and smart, yet she lets this Greg guy push her around and doesn't see through him. And Mike, who refuses to ever commit and marry, who lives a thousand miles away, quickly falls for Sara and is a bit soft at times.

    In saying that, I always take pleasure in a Jude Deveraux book. She writes with a poetic simplicity that makes her stand alone. Though a romantic suspense, this is heavy on the contemporary romance with intrigue elements. The hero and heroine were hilarious in their dialog. Back and forth, back and forth. I laughed out loud. As typical of her books, Deveraux is at her best when describing her settings. It puts the reader right there in the pages with the characters. The secondary characters were a nice add to the storyline. I can't wait to read more about them. Recommended.

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    enjoyed

    good,fun read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    I enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It kept my attent

    I enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It kept my attention from the start all the way until the end. The banter between our two main characters is fun and I saw the development in both of them take place gradually as they came to appreciate and love one another. The mystery was good and progressed well throughout the story.

    More sex than I prefer but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Good

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Sweet

    Excellent read good charectors u can relate to great mix of excitement n romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Another great story

    I love the way Jude Deveraux writes. She always uses witty, compassion, intrigue and wonderful characters. I continue to come back to her books and want to to hear the stories of the supporting characters. This book returns us to the very small and meddling Edilean, Virginia. The loner Mike comes to the town he has avoided on a case. Without realizing it the entire town is conspiring to attach to the troubled Sara Shaw. Sara is fighting everyone because they hate her fiance. She is frustrated and trying to find her way. Mike's goal is save her from the lying fiance but their families have a more permanent outcome in mind. I enjoyed the journey with these two finding their way. It was a lot of fun with family tensions, intrigue, murder, hidden treasure, and a cranky old man who is determined to keep everyone out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Very Good Series, ebooks have flaws.

    First let me say I love it when Ms. Deveraux writes books in series, and the Edilean series is very good. I recently purchased a NookColor, which I love. I was excited to again start reading Ms. Deveraux's books again. But I have to say I am a bit disappointed. I've read the five books currently available in the six book "Edilean" series. I'm not sure if Barnes and Noble is responsible for my disappointments or if Ms. Deveraux is responsible, but I believe it is a combination of the two. In the first book I found a reference to a character and the name was wrong, page 177 "Joce and Luke", should be "Ingrid and Luke". Throughout each book every time the word "historical" is used, the word "an" is before it, this is grammatically wrong, and hard to read time after time. These are probably issues that should be direct to Ms. Deveraux. However, having the ebooks numbered incorrectly, whose fault is that? I just finished #5 which has a preview for #3 which clearly indicates that "Scarlet Nights" #3 is after "The Scent of Jasmine" #5. Also, on every page of the story portion of the ebook version of The Scent of Jasmine in the top left corner is "Judge deveraux" so the name of the author is wrong on every page and the author's last name is not capitalized. Who is responsible for that? Now let's talk about ebook number #4 in this series, the fault of both Barnes and Noble and Ms. Deveraux. Having read five of the six books in this series, I have to ask, what were these people thinking? First #4 is not anything more than a seventy page short story, and completely unnecessary to the series as a whole. The enhanced portion of this book, which by the way this book is only available in NookColor format, is video. I was hopeful that the videos would add to the story. They do not. To make matters worse, the videos are all of poor quality and have a very amateurish feel to them. Again I have to ask, what were these people thinking? If I was buying this series as regular paper versions, I would be extremely upset that book #4 in the series was unavailable to me. The story series is very good, and I still love my NookColor and Ms. Deveraux is still one of my all time fav romance writers (I've read probably more than 20/25 of her books), but I am disappointed in the execution of these books to electronic format. Please someone tell me where is the quality control and editors when these conversions are done?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Devoted Fan

    I've been reading Jude Deveraux books before I should've been allowed to read her books! I was in 6th grade when I read Sweet Liar! I liked this book immensely and I'm glad she has gone back to the familiar family series of books. I recommend this book to any devoted fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    engaging police procedural romance

    In Edilean, Virginia, twenty-six years old Sara Shaw and Greg Anders are to marry in three weeks. After receiving a late night call Greg leaves without notifying his fiancée.

    Two days after Greg vanished; worried about the safety of his sibling undercover Fort Lauderdale Police Detective Mike Newland enters a still reeling Sara's apartment. He explains he is the brother of her BFF Tess and is staying with her. He conceals that he is there to catch Greg's mother Mizelli Vandlo while the FBI wants to nab con artist Anders. As she helps them set up a sting to catch a thief, in his wildest imagination, Mike never expected to fall in love with his hostess while Sara wonders if she is fickle as she reciprocates his deepest regard.

    The third Edilean romantic suspense (see Days of Gold and Lavender Morning) moves the town into the present with an engaging police procedural romance. Readers will root for Sara although wonder why an intelligent young woman rebounding from her fiancé's desertion allows a stranger to bully her. Still Jude Deveraux fans will enjoy the commitment phobic Florida cop and the jilted Virginian falling in love.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3