BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scarlet Pimpernel (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Scarlet Pimpernel

This was definitely one of my favorite books in the entire world. It was so amazing...the Scarlet Pimpernel is one of the greatest characters in literature. He's extremely clever and just all around amazing. The book was totally captivating- a mixture of action, suspens...
This was definitely one of my favorite books in the entire world. It was so amazing...the Scarlet Pimpernel is one of the greatest characters in literature. He's extremely clever and just all around amazing. The book was totally captivating- a mixture of action, suspense, and romance. Orczy touches into the horrible events of the French Revolution in a great story. It deserves nothing less than five stars.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good book

For the most part this book was good. There were a couple of things i didnt like about it. One was the dialogue. Sometimes it would be hard to follow, especially when the characters had a thick accent. I also did not like how the Pimpernel's identity was revealed in...
For the most part this book was good. There were a couple of things i didnt like about it. One was the dialogue. Sometimes it would be hard to follow, especially when the characters had a thick accent. I also did not like how the Pimpernel's identity was revealed in the introduction. Although I did'nt like some parts, others were very interesting. One of these parts was when Lady Blakeley goes on a search for her husband, the Scarlet Pimpernel. She and Sir Andrew watched patiantly as Percy tricked Chauvelin twice in less than an hour. I found this part particularly funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    I liked it

    I am a High school student and I was required to read this book over the summer. It was a very interesting book and I'm glad I chose it. I will read this book many more times later on in my life, like I did with the Harry Potter series. I really enjoyed The Scarlet Pimpernel because it kept me interested with the suspense of what would happen next. I also enjoyed how the author introduced characters in unique ways. The ending for The Scarlet Pimpernel was by far the best part. Not only did it wrap up the story in a clever way but it demonstrated just how sly and quick-witted the Scarlet Pimpernel was.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    Awesome!!

    I started reading this book and thought it would turn out very boring.But after you kind of get passed some of the beginning it is awesome. I loved how the book just kind of flowed. It was pretty easy to picture the characters!! You truly don't know where or who the Scarlet Pimpernel is!!! If you're reading this than get the BOOK!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    old fashioned romance and intrigue

    this is one of the classics on my "must read list". even though you "know", it is still romantic and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    A very entertaining read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was good entertainment and well-written. Some of the events departed a bit from reality but I didn't mind because the writing was so good. A good book when you want to escape for a little while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    A delightful adventure tale of one man taking on the blood-thirsty mass-mob of the French Revolution. A concise and highly readable thriller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    A slow start, an incredible end

    Plow through the first two chapters of this book and you'll be hooked after that. I literally could not bring myself to put it down. I found myself feeling like I'd known Marguerite all my life, and at times I WAS Marguerite. This book has a fantastic twist, too. It's no wonder this book is considered an all-time classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    An excellent read!!!!

    This book begins slow, but then really takes off. An excellent adventure story, and a story of unexspressed love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    The Scarlet Pimpernel

    The Scarlet Pimpernel is a cunning hero, saving the lives of many from the French guillotine. Chauvelin, a French agent, will do anything to get his hands on the Scarlet Pimpernel, so he asks Margurite Blackeny, whose brother has just been condemned to the guillotine, to find clues for him, and if she does he will free her brother. So Margurite finds as many clues as she can. Chauvelin is able to piece them together, and sets off to capture The Scarlet Pimpernel. All is well until Margurite finds more clues that lead her to believe that the Scarlet Pimpernel is actually her own husband! I loved this book. There was plenty of action, adventure, mystery, and suspense. I recommend this book to anyone who likes action/adventure stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    A Must Read!

    This novel weaves a romance into the bloody times of the french revolution beautifuly. The title refers to the main characters signature, a red flower. A novel like this makes history seem not so old, because it has the qualities of a good modern romance that readers of today can enjoy and understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Suspenseful

    The Scarlet Pimpernel brings adventure and romance to the French Revolution. It is the story about how the Scarlet Pimpernel was the only hope for people being sent to the guillotine. The Scarlet Pimpernel's identity, however, is only known to his loyal followers. The Scarlet Pimpernel kept me entertained and in suspense as I tried to figure out the identity of the Scarlet Pimpernel. There were many twists in the story that kept me interested and wanting to read more. The characters had many different characteristics, which added to the book's suspense. The book is well written and made me want to read more to find out what would happen next. The book also helped me to learn interesting things about the French Revolution. The book thoroughly describes what it was like to live during the French Revolution. I enjoyed The Scarlet Pimpernel and recommend it to anyone who likes to read mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    A Delight!

    Baroness Orczy created a truly entertaining novel, and an enthralling premise for future stories. Such a mixture of action, romance, tragedy, comedy, and heroism is a delightful addition to anyone's library. I was thrilled to learn that there are other books in the Pimpernel collection, and can't wait to get started on those, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    My friend has to read this for her class in the summer

    My friend and i watched the movie and it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    It is a...

    really well written bk & it is page turning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Fantastic

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Read book then watch movie

    Book was good. Love the romance part. After u read watch ghmovie but the movie combines all threbooks btw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful little story. I was slightly surprised that much of

    A beautiful little story. I was slightly surprised that much of the narrative followed Lady Blakeney. Overall, I think I enjoyed the Leslie Howard/Merle Oberon movie version to the novel. The beginning of the novel read a little too much like a play, which is understandable since the play came out first. It seemed to take quite awhile to set the stage, so to speak, and finally get to the action. But, once the action and intrigues start, my oh my do they run fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Entertaining!

    The Scarlet Pipernel is one of the classic books I missed reading during my highschool years and when I saw it listed in the B&N Classic series, I decided to read the reviews. I enjoyed the reviews almost as much as I enjoyed the book itself! I admit I found Lady M's soul searching to be a bit tedious and wished for a lot more of Percy's clever dialogue, but all in all a worthwhile few hours with enough adventure, a bit of humor, misunderstandings and loads of tender romance. If you liked this book and you enjoy clever romances that don't involve sexual content, I recommend Georgette Heyer's Regency romances starting with "Venetia" and "These Old Shades". She wrote many of these, so if you like one, you will probably like them all. The only drawback is that they are rather expensive - $10 range - but worth every penny. I would also recommend Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Scarlet Pimpernel was a great book.  The fact that it was in the

    Scarlet Pimpernel was a great book.  The fact that it was in the French Revolution made it really interesting.  The characters' dialogue was sometimes confusing and the story made me try to guess what was about to come up next, but for the most part, I enjoyed reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A classic must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Easy to Read, but Hard to Put Down

    It is my opinion that "The Scarlet Pimpernel" is well deserved in the being called one of the Classics. Its virtually non-stop action and intrigue left me turning pages in a fervor for more. While I do think there could have been a little more development of the Characters of the major protagonists, I think that the vivid imagery and supplemental art gave great flush to the villain of the tale. When all comes to a close I am left without a figment of a doubt as to not only why it is a classic on my shelf but also that I would recommend it to everyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4