Customer Reviews for

The Scarlet Pimpernel (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Scarlet Pimpernel

This was definitely one of my favorite books in the entire world. It was so amazing...the Scarlet Pimpernel is one of the greatest characters in literature. He's extremely clever and just all around amazing. The book was totally captivating- a mixture of action, suspens...
This was definitely one of my favorite books in the entire world. It was so amazing...the Scarlet Pimpernel is one of the greatest characters in literature. He's extremely clever and just all around amazing. The book was totally captivating- a mixture of action, suspense, and romance. Orczy touches into the horrible events of the French Revolution in a great story. It deserves nothing less than five stars.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good book

For the most part this book was good. There were a couple of things i didnt like about it. One was the dialogue. Sometimes it would be hard to follow, especially when the characters had a thick accent. I also did not like how the Pimpernel's identity was revealed in...
For the most part this book was good. There were a couple of things i didnt like about it. One was the dialogue. Sometimes it would be hard to follow, especially when the characters had a thick accent. I also did not like how the Pimpernel's identity was revealed in the introduction. Although I did'nt like some parts, others were very interesting. One of these parts was when Lady Blakeley goes on a search for her husband, the Scarlet Pimpernel. She and Sir Andrew watched patiantly as Percy tricked Chauvelin twice in less than an hour. I found this part particularly funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    I loved this book when I was a teenager. Back then I still believed in honor, love, and marriage. I still believed that I¿d make a mark upon the world. Though Baroness Orczy¿s THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL still stands the time of almost 40 years since I last read the book; I have changed. I no longer believe in love nor will I leave my mark upon the world ¿save my son and two young grandchildren. I am almost too old to have adventures, now that I am in the autumn of my life. I leave the 5 star rating to the young, and keep the 4 star rating for the hope my youthful memories give me. Yet, that pleases me. I abhor regret.

    Originally published for the stage in 1930, the Baroness takes the reader back to the French Revolution when Marie Antoinette presumably said, ¿Let them eat.¿ Madame Guillotine is feeding ravishingly on entire French families, and one man is determined to stop the bloodshed. His calling card is known to his followers and those men, women, and children now living in England: the five petal red flower. The Scarlet Pimpernel is a good choice. The mysterious man, known by that name, secrets these innocent French subjects from imminent bloodshed to the blossom of a new life in England. But the ruthless French Agent Chauvelin relentlessly pursues the enigmatic Pimpernel.

    Enter the beautiful, but feckless, Lady Blakeney. Marguerite has already helped Chauvelin dispose of the marquis and his aristocratic family, much to the disdain of Lord Blakeney. Even colder towards his wife, he and her brother are more determined to complete their work in France. Realizing, the danger she has put the two men in, Marguerite follows them to France. Her actions after all have had unintended consequences and she must find Percy and her brother before two men become Madame Guillotine¿s next meal. The cat and mouse chase is on and Marguerite loves again the man she has sharpened her wit upon. There is so much more to Lord Blakeney than meets the eye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    A QUICK READ!

    THOROUGHLY ENJOYED IT. EASY, QUICK READ. SORRY I DID'NT READ IT SOONER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great!! :)

    I have always been a fan of this book. If you liked Dickens' "A Tale of Two Cities" you will love this. I quicker read than Dickens but it is full of: The French Revolution, thrilling suspense, romance, twists and turns. A great classic for any old book fan (like myself).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    7th grade book club read in February!

    I had to read this book for my 7th grade book club. I thought it was a hard book to read. I sat next to my dad because he speaks French and I say about 1/10 of the book was in French.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2001

    Try putting this one down!

    I love the classics, but it's been a long time since one gripped me like The Scarlet Pimpernel. I read it practically non-stop for two days. Although it has some weaknesses, it's power to charm is great, and the characters are so well-drawn that your every emotion will be excited as you await their respective fates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    awsome

    This book is very interesting and overwhelming in a good way. very intriuging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    The Best of the Best

    I think that this book is for young adults. it has great literary value. Not only is it well written, but it enhances your knowledge in the history of the French Revolution and expands y our vocabulary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4