BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scarlet Woman (Middlemarch Mates, Book Three)

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very enjoyable

Good read

posted by 4135508 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This was an enjoyable story. Saber is both sexy and sweet, and

This was an enjoyable story. Saber is both sexy and sweet, and Emily is a strong person, but a struggling woman under the weight of the pain her husband caused in their life together before his death. You really get attached to the characters, and I LOVED how Saber ca...
This was an enjoyable story. Saber is both sexy and sweet, and Emily is a strong person, but a struggling woman under the weight of the pain her husband caused in their life together before his death. You really get attached to the characters, and I LOVED how Saber called Emily “kitten”. It’s the simple things in life sometimes that are so appreciated. I also loved Saber’s shameless pesky brothers. They had me laughing on more than one occasion.

That being said, there were a couple things that bothered me a little. The attraction between Saber and Emily felt very sudden and fast. I would have preferred a bit more build up in that regard. Also, while I completely understand why, Emily’s aversion to exploring the relationship was frustrating at times, and Saber certainly didn’t always handle it as well as he should have. All in all, these are minor things when compared to the big picture, and I’m interested in continuing with the series after reading this!

A fun and very sexy story, Scarlet Woman is a great lazy day read if you’re looking for playful kitties and a strong, lusty couple who aren’t always smooth talking when it comes to love. It’s worth adding to your TBR list!

posted by Mebuffy on September 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Good read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Steamy hot sex.

    Other than that I found the writing and conversations rather juvenile. But it was a free read.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Ehhh

    No real plot. Just sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Love it. Must read

    Love the raw basic to love. Enjoyed it and always love these type of reads. Determine and presisted love. Look forward in reading many of these books. Keep up the good writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Good plot idea

    Mostly just sex wished it had more story to it. About 220 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    This was an enjoyable story. Saber is both sexy and sweet, and

    This was an enjoyable story. Saber is both sexy and sweet, and Emily is a strong person, but a struggling woman under the weight of the pain her husband caused in their life together before his death. You really get attached to the characters, and I LOVED how Saber called Emily “kitten”. It’s the simple things in life sometimes that are so appreciated. I also loved Saber’s shameless pesky brothers. They had me laughing on more than one occasion.

    That being said, there were a couple things that bothered me a little. The attraction between Saber and Emily felt very sudden and fast. I would have preferred a bit more build up in that regard. Also, while I completely understand why, Emily’s aversion to exploring the relationship was frustrating at times, and Saber certainly didn’t always handle it as well as he should have. All in all, these are minor things when compared to the big picture, and I’m interested in continuing with the series after reading this!

    A fun and very sexy story, Scarlet Woman is a great lazy day read if you’re looking for playful kitties and a strong, lusty couple who aren’t always smooth talking when it comes to love. It’s worth adding to your TBR list!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Not bad

    Short, easy, entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Really good

    Great story that you can put down until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    Sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A love story set in modern day New Zealand about betrayal and le

    A love story set in modern day New Zealand about betrayal and learning to trust again, as well as earning the trust of a beloved. Did I mention this is also a paranormal shifter tale? Very well done, and the first in a series about brothers, men who shift into panthers, and who need to find their life mate. The author makes us care about the H/H, and their words, reactions and emotions are real and well written. This is also an erotically told tale. I will definitely be reading the rest of the series. I recommend Scarlett Woman for a satisfying love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great

    You should get it.Sure it has sex but its a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    The is a great book!

    This book has some funny parts and some serious parts and I feel like you can really get into the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy Story W/ a To Die For Hero

    Shelly Munro is very adept at writing steamy sexual encounters and shows her talent repeatedly in Scarlet Woman with numerous encounters between the sexy panther shifter Saber and the emotionally damaged Emily. From the moment they meet the sparks fly and the sexual tension palpable as each fights to keep themselves under control so their hearts don't get hurt.

    Saber is the oldest in a family of five brothers and always prided himself on his self control, but whenever he's around Emily his heart and mind take over and all he wants to do is make her his. He knows she's been hurt by her cheating dead husband and tries to give her time, fighting against his instincts repeatedly. I loved him for letting her live her life and not bending her to his will. He put aside his Alpha tendencies for her and it made him all the more appealing.

    A marriage of psychological and emotional abuse by a cheating dead husband has left Emily leery of men and her feelings. After misjudging her previous husband so badly she doubts herself on every level. After being told repeatedly she was undesirable she's come to believe that and that precipitates in her initial coming together with Saber. He's a sexy boost to her ego as he can't get enough of her and tells and shows her repeatedly. She never believes it though and it's not until the very end that she's finally ready for a HEA. I became frustrated by her as Saber couldn't have been more supportive and it shows how deeply her ex hurt her and it made me happy he was dead.

    Along with the sexy Saber comes his family of drool worthy brothers. I adored each and every one of them! They were playful and sexy and I found myself particularly drawn to Leo and hope to see more of him next. There's intrigue in this story as well with glimpses of a snoopy reporter who's trying to find out the secret of the panthers. Throw in snotty and nasty Maggie who's Emily's dead husband's sister and you have another possible problem for the shifters. I found her particularly grating and nasty and a poor excuse for a friend. The shifter world Ms. Munro has created has its own small town quirks and seems normal except for the occasional panther running loose. This story barely touched the surface of their culture and hopefully we'll dig deeper into the shifter mythos in future books as the lack of info made me feel left out.

    This story was a delightfully sexy way to spend the afternoon. The story went at a fast pace and introduced us to numerous sexy and charming men who were to die for and made this my favorite part of the story and has me breathlessly waiting to revisit them. This was a satisfying start to a sensual series that has certain facets that paranormal fans will enjoy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2