Customer Reviews for

Scarlet's Walk [Bonus DVD]

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good... but

    the actual disc is great though the dvd leaves a lot to be desired. i was hoping for some interviews, commentary, etc. but it's just a few songs with some personal film footage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Total Fairytale

    This is a soothing, beautiful side of Tori that i appreciate as much as her darker, angst-ridden works. I approached it with reservations but after the 2nd listen love pretty much everything about it. This is a much easier listen than the other albums and something i want to share withall my friends, not hde in my closet and rock out to like some or her earlier works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Fearie Goddess Does It Again

    Scarlet's Walk is another beautiful work for Tori Amos. Like her last records, she evokes many personalities, summoning them out of her head and into the world. She opens the record with melody-ridden songs like "A Sorta Fairytale" and "Srange", which are probably two of her best songs to date. Then she slides seductively along with "Don't Make Me Come To Vegas" and "Pancake". Most of the songs are perfect examples of Tori; full of abstract picture-words along with her haunting piano. But there are some songs that wander off, setting their own path. Songs such as "Your Cloud", "Mrs. Jesus", and "Virginia" make their own unique voices heard. I love anything Tori does, so this may not be a perfect "review" but i honestly believe anyone could listen to this record and really enjoy it (maybe possibly relate to a line or two). It's definitely a must for any Toriphile. As far as I'm concerned, she's jumped through the window again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another must-have for any Tori fan

    Once again, Tori has captured the heart and soul of her fans. Scarlet's Walk is an ethereal combination of her trusty Bosendorfer and the lesser-used Wurlitzer, weaved together to create songs of enigmatic proportions. They tell the story of Scarlet, Tori's alter-ego, as she makes her way across America after the September 11 attacks. Tracks range from the upbeat, pop-like "Amber Waves", to the blissful "Strange" and "Mrs. Jesus", to the somber and heartfelt "I Can't See New York" and all places in between. Warning, however: once you start listening, you won't want to stop. You find your soul intertwining with Scarlet's, or Tori's if you prefer, and you lose yourself in it. I'll be shocked if she isn't nominated for a Grammy for this album. I think I've found a new favorite. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Goddess does it again!

    Yes, the ToriPhiles are certainly going to get what they have been waiting for. More of Tori's beautiful, thought provoking music. Her voice is just as angelic as ever. No one could possibly duplicate what Tori has done in the music world. As always she thanks Neil Gaiman and mentions her friends, the fae.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must For All Toriphiles!!!

    The beautiful Tori does it again. This album will be a favorite on every fan's list! With songs like "Gold Dust" and "A Sorta Fairytale", Tori brings her magic to us once again. This special limited edition of Scarlet's Walk is a must for all Tori fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori Amos: Female Godess

    Once again, Tori delivers an album worthy of praise and recognition. At first, the album appears to be a pop mistake. My first impression of the album was a disappointment. I felt as though Tori was drawn into the pop web that almost all good artists are caught between (Jewel, Natalie Imbruglia, No Doubt, just to name a few). But once I dived into the album, I found myself hearing a journey of strength, pain, life, so many twists and turns. Both Gold Dust and I Can't See New York capture the Tori magic that we know so well. Pancake, Your Cloud, Carbon, Sweet Sangria, and Taxi Ride and very DIFFERENT from known Tori Songs but sure to become favorites. I was disappointed by songs such as Don't Make Me Come To Vegas, Mrs. Jesus and Wednesday. I felt Tori strayed so far away. But a song i felt most connected to is Wampum Prayer. Too bad its length is only 44 seconds. But the message is powerful. For any Tori fan, this album is a milestone, and a definite cd worth of getting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori's American Tale

    Tori's seventh album is another exquisite gem in her Faerie Queen crown! She delivers just what listeners want, weaving her soprano vocals and lilting piano in a musical voyage across America. The limited edition packaging is fabulous, well worth a few extra dollars! This little box is full of magical souveniers from Scarlet's Walk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back to Basics.

    Tori has struggled, now has a child, witnessed the tragedy of Sept 11 through an artists eyes and now paints a picture of Scarlet walking from LA to New York.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1