Customer Reviews for

Scarlett: The Sequel to Margaret Mitchell's Gone with the Wind

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

An Instant Classic

After reading Gone with the Wind, I was curious about Scarlett. I was a little leary about it though,seeing that it was a sequel written by another author. But it picked up right where Gone with the Wind left off and I was immediately swept up into it, I could hardly pu...
After reading Gone with the Wind, I was curious about Scarlett. I was a little leary about it though,seeing that it was a sequel written by another author. But it picked up right where Gone with the Wind left off and I was immediately swept up into it, I could hardly put it down. I absolutely and highly recommend it!

posted by historicalfictionsac on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Review

I think alexandra had no right writing a gone with the wind sequel shes not margret mitchell. Its like me deciding im going to write another harry potter book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 10492707 on June 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Instant Classic

    After reading Gone with the Wind, I was curious about Scarlett. I was a little leary about it though,seeing that it was a sequel written by another author. But it picked up right where Gone with the Wind left off and I was immediately swept up into it, I could hardly put it down. I absolutely and highly recommend it!

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A sequel for those who really love Scarlett O'Hara

    I loved Gone With the Wind - adored it. The movie, although it is a legend seemed so shallow in reference to the characters, Clark Gable as Rhett never did it for me, he was to delicate, no scoundrel.

    Just a note - this is not a book about Scarlett and Rhett although he is in some of it - he is out of the plot, though not out of Scarlett's thoughts for most of the book- this is a book about Scarlett. A girl who lost all of her ideals in a war who has to "find herself" as a woman - without a man.

    I think the problem is that people who read the first book liked Scarlett as a narcissist - she was young and immature but needed that narcissism to survive - as Margaret Mitchell put it "gumption". But what happens when you have enough , when the "fight" is over, you have arrived, you are an adult, can you be happy? Does the "gumption" just leave? What you do with that need, and what happens when you look outside of yourself? Also - when the man is gone?

    This is what happens to Scarlett. She has to face her consequences like any youth, attempts to live now as an adult they way she was raised, and then her gumption takes her everywhere to find her niche. In my opinion it is truly amazing - yes the plot is a little dramatic every now and then but please also remember that this was also done with Mitchell's notes too.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone that loved Scarlett in the first, not necessarily Scarlett and Rhett, but Scarlett O'hara - the daughter of an Irish Immigrant who was raised to be a lady on a plantation.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    A must read for any GWTW fan!!

    Gone With the Wind, one of the greatest books ever, leaves us hanging. What happens to Rhett and Scarlett? Although not quite the same as Margaret Mitchell's book, I absolutely loved Scarlett. We are sent on so many new adventures with Scarlett as she first tries to make Rhett love her again, and we are introduced to Scarlett's family in Ireland as she makes a new start for herself and her daughter, Cat. This book had me on the edge of my seat, waiting to see what would happen and wondering "is there any hope left for Rhett and Scarlett"? A wonderful conclusion to Margaret Mitchell's classic and a must-read for any true GWTW lover!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing

    I think this one was even better than the original gone with the wind. Couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Phenomenal

    This book is a definite page turner. A must read after Gone with the Wind. The author captures Margaret Mitchell's style perfectly and picks up right where she left off. If you didn't know better, you would think the same person wrote both. Love, love, love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Scarlet

    Is scarlet as gone with the wind?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    sosososo good! :)

    This book is everything it should be. Being the sequel to such a great novel you would think it would not be as good as Gone with the Wind but in my opinion it is just as good or even better. I would rate this book an eleven out of ten. It is that good. Gone with the Wind leaves you wondering what is going to happen next, wondering what happens with Rhett, why did he leave, what is Scarlett going to do next? I love the way Scarlett grows and matures throughout the book using her strength and stubbornness getting her through all the struggling times she goes through. The story taking place in the south like Gone with the Wind but with a little twist and Scarlett leaves to Ireland with the O'Hara family. Before this she deals with the fact that Rhett has left her, and mammy dying. Scarlett follows Rhett to his home in South Carolina thinking she can win him back.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Romance

    I loved the plot of this book. It was a perfect romance book. Once you start reading you can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2015

    Amazing

    I in my opinion am the biggest fan of GWTW im sure other would disagre but i loved this book i could not put ir down. It kept the feeling of the charactures as i felt then in the original and kept the story together. Added exitement and intrige and even a little mistery taking into consideration this took place in Ireland i belive it was on point. And i could go on for days about how good it was because it really was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2015

    Amazing

    This was an amazing sequel! If you loved the original, you'll love this one as well! Great job, Ripley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Great book not good as original but still loved it

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Not as great as the first, but still super.  Great!

    Not as great as the first, but still super.  Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    I read GWTW at 11 years old...and fell so in love (and into obse

    I read GWTW at 11 years old...and fell so in love (and into obsession!) with it that my mother finally hid it trying to "break the spell"...haha. When I heard about Scarlet, I was dubious that it could hold its own but I was VERY pleasantly surprised. With a sequel, you have obvious comparisons of the authors but that seems an exercise in futility to me. Two very different authors both did justice to this iconic heroine. I only wish there had been more time with Scarlet and Rhett together....we did wait a long time for that to happen! Very nicely done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Scarlett went home to Tara.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great sequel

    I enjoyed this continuance of GWTW even though it was not written in the same style as Margaret Mitchell wrote the original. It gave a little more closure to the story. To the person who said that they did not want to read the rest of the book because Scarlett has children other than Bonnie in this book....well you must have not read Gone With the Wind at all and just watched the movie. They were deleted out of the screenplay for the movie. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Umm

    Umm…………… Isn't this a clan? Cause It doesn't look like one. XD Nobody's here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I am reading it now!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    My favvorite

    Ccvyygtfkxdijjfjrfh*6*";"*$""--%-'*$

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Hey!

    My english teacher would love this book!She loved gone with the wind and read the whole book in two days!This so reminds me of my english teacher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    By anonymous on April 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5