Customer Reviews for

Scarlett Fever

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scarlett Fever: Hilarious, Exciting, Meaningful, and Entertaining

Scarlett Fever is a fantastic follow-up to the first book in the series, Suite Scarlett. Life is never dull for anyone in the Martin family, especially Scarlett, whose job as Mrs. Amberson's personal assistant is becoming even more hectic and insane now that her boss ha...
Scarlett Fever is a fantastic follow-up to the first book in the series, Suite Scarlett. Life is never dull for anyone in the Martin family, especially Scarlett, whose job as Mrs. Amberson's personal assistant is becoming even more hectic and insane now that her boss has started an agency and is looking for talented actors to represent. She's also dealing with Eric-or rather, the lack of Eric-and thinking about him constantly, trying to move on from the disastrous not-quite-relationship they had in the first book. As a final touch to Scarlett's already overwhelming sophomore year, her new lab partner, Max, also happens to be the younger brother of Mrs. Amberson's newest client, a fifteen-year-old Broadway star-and Max seems intent on antagonizing Scarlett at every possible opportunity.

Just like the first book, the characters in Scarlett Fever are what make this novel so compelling. Scarlett is dealing with a lot of familiar problems that readers will relate to-antagonistic classmates, difficult adults/bosses, and heartbreak-and she does so in ways that are amusing, gratifying, painful, and completely real. Her relationships with the other characters in the book, like her brother Spencer, her best friend Dakota, Mrs. Amberson, and (of course) Eric, are all deliciously complicated and entertaining. Every supporting characters is also fantastically rich with personality, adding a depth to this story that is difficult to achieve. The plot moves quickly, though not too quickly, as the story unfolds and tension builds, bringing everything to a climax that is both satisfying and leaves the reader eagerly awaiting the third book.

posted by RebeccaLeach on February 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Umm...... is that it?

Seriously? Please someone tell me that this is a trilogy and that it's just taking awhile for the third book to come out? I can't imagine a writer just leaving a book hanging like this. When i finished the last page I automatically assumed there was a third book either ...
Seriously? Please someone tell me that this is a trilogy and that it's just taking awhile for the third book to come out? I can't imagine a writer just leaving a book hanging like this. When i finished the last page I automatically assumed there was a third book either already released or soon to be released. Until I saw the date this book was published and read the reviews about the ending. Did the writer just get bored with the storyline and move on to writing other books instead? This book has more loose ends than a pair of cut off jean shorts! Ridiculous. I'm completely baffled by the lack of negative reviews in light of the ending. Maybe people who hated it just didn't want to waste anymore time on anything having to do with this letdown? I don't know, but I felt like I owed it to readers to let them know that at the end of this book you'll probably feel ripped off. Maybe not. Apparently a lot of people like it. Other than the way this book was left hanging, like a worn out climber on Mt. Everest, the book wasn't horrible. There are some very likeable characters. The witty banter between Scarlet and her brother was always entertaining. The Eric situation was a complete waste. Why have her obsessing over someone she never really dated and had like two or three closed mouth kisses with for like a book and a half? Very childish. By the way (note to author) most fifteen year olds don't have that type of an attention span when it comes to guys they don't have much contact with. Didn't make sense to drag that "relationship" out once he left for college. Which brings me to the question, am I the only one who's slightly skeeved out by the fact that this college guy would wanna date a fifteen year old? Anyway, her moping got really annoying. And just when a more suitable character for her to be involved with starts to make a connection.......book over! Not to mention the other characters, like Spencer, who deserved better than this ending. So strange. I hope I'm just jumping the gun and a third book is actually going to get published. If that's the case, then I will revise my review. Until that time I can't in good faith give this book higher than two stars.

posted by 7410024 on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scarlett Fever: Hilarious, Exciting, Meaningful, and Entertaining

    Scarlett Fever is a fantastic follow-up to the first book in the series, Suite Scarlett. Life is never dull for anyone in the Martin family, especially Scarlett, whose job as Mrs. Amberson's personal assistant is becoming even more hectic and insane now that her boss has started an agency and is looking for talented actors to represent. She's also dealing with Eric-or rather, the lack of Eric-and thinking about him constantly, trying to move on from the disastrous not-quite-relationship they had in the first book. As a final touch to Scarlett's already overwhelming sophomore year, her new lab partner, Max, also happens to be the younger brother of Mrs. Amberson's newest client, a fifteen-year-old Broadway star-and Max seems intent on antagonizing Scarlett at every possible opportunity.

    Just like the first book, the characters in Scarlett Fever are what make this novel so compelling. Scarlett is dealing with a lot of familiar problems that readers will relate to-antagonistic classmates, difficult adults/bosses, and heartbreak-and she does so in ways that are amusing, gratifying, painful, and completely real. Her relationships with the other characters in the book, like her brother Spencer, her best friend Dakota, Mrs. Amberson, and (of course) Eric, are all deliciously complicated and entertaining. Every supporting characters is also fantastically rich with personality, adding a depth to this story that is difficult to achieve. The plot moves quickly, though not too quickly, as the story unfolds and tension builds, bringing everything to a climax that is both satisfying and leaves the reader eagerly awaiting the third book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    <3<3<3

    I LUV THIS BOOK!!! Plus, my friend waz practically beggin me to lend it to her. It is a must read for all teen and tween girls. (Or the young at heart) ENJOY!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Umm...... is that it?

    Seriously? Please someone tell me that this is a trilogy and that it's just taking awhile for the third book to come out? I can't imagine a writer just leaving a book hanging like this. When i finished the last page I automatically assumed there was a third book either already released or soon to be released. Until I saw the date this book was published and read the reviews about the ending. Did the writer just get bored with the storyline and move on to writing other books instead? This book has more loose ends than a pair of cut off jean shorts! Ridiculous. I'm completely baffled by the lack of negative reviews in light of the ending. Maybe people who hated it just didn't want to waste anymore time on anything having to do with this letdown? I don't know, but I felt like I owed it to readers to let them know that at the end of this book you'll probably feel ripped off. Maybe not. Apparently a lot of people like it. Other than the way this book was left hanging, like a worn out climber on Mt. Everest, the book wasn't horrible. There are some very likeable characters. The witty banter between Scarlet and her brother was always entertaining. The Eric situation was a complete waste. Why have her obsessing over someone she never really dated and had like two or three closed mouth kisses with for like a book and a half? Very childish. By the way (note to author) most fifteen year olds don't have that type of an attention span when it comes to guys they don't have much contact with. Didn't make sense to drag that "relationship" out once he left for college. Which brings me to the question, am I the only one who's slightly skeeved out by the fact that this college guy would wanna date a fifteen year old? Anyway, her moping got really annoying. And just when a more suitable character for her to be involved with starts to make a connection.......book over! Not to mention the other characters, like Spencer, who deserved better than this ending. So strange. I hope I'm just jumping the gun and a third book is actually going to get published. If that's the case, then I will revise my review. Until that time I can't in good faith give this book higher than two stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Awson Awsome!!!!!!

    Awsome but bad ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I love just about everything Maureen Johnson has ever written. T

    I love just about everything Maureen Johnson has ever written. This book was a wonderful sequel to Suite Scarlett, and my friend made me lend it to her on the Nook :)
    If you like this and are looking for another good Maureen Johnson book, Devilish and The Key to the Golden Firebird are definitely her best

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great book!!!!!! It really has you laughing the whole way throug

    Great book!!!!!! It really has you laughing the whole way through, and it always has you guessing on what is going to happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Is this the .2nd book?

    I loved the girst one and cant wait too read this one"!"!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from Missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Summer's end is upon the Hopewell Hotel and the Martin family. After a summer spent working around the Hamlet production taking place in the Hopewell's dining room, Scarlett Martin is ready to make a new start in all aspects of her life.

    In fact, all of the Martin children seem to be working toward something this fall. Lola, the eldest, seems adrift and desperate to find something to cling to. Spencer is still trying to launch his acting career--even if it could mean playing one of the most hated characters of all time. And Marlene, the youngest Martin, is being nice; a little too nice to avoid raising suspicion among the other Martins in fact.

    Meanwhile Scarlett is determined to stay on track at her rigorous high school--even if her new lab partner is determined to drive her insane. More importantly Scarlett is ready to get over Eric, her dreamy almost-boyfriend from the summer. Scarlett is even prepared to deal with her new job assisting Mrs. Amberson, formerly the Hopewell's crazy resident, now Spencer's crazy agent.

    When Mrs. Amberson acquires her second client, a rising Broadway star Scarlett's age, everything starts to get complicated. Scarlett finds herself dragged into the lives of both the new client Chelsea and her maddeningly annoying older brother Max (see mention of new lab partner above). Resolutions aside, nothing goes quite the way Scarlett planned, but maybe that's the way it's supposed to be in Scarlett Fever (2010) by Maureen Johnson.

    Scarlett Fever is the sequel to Maureen Johnson's earlier book Suite Scarlett. It is also the second book in what Johnson says on her website will be a trilogy (the books really stand alone if you happen to for some reason decide to only read this one but really if you are intrigued, reading from the beginning will make it that much more fun). If you thought you liked the first book, boy howdy are you in for a surprise with this one because you are going to LOVE it.

    As Johnson's amazing website puts it, the summer was nothing. In Scarlett Fever school is in session and things are about to get real for Scarlett and the Martin family. Law & Order and a dog with what appears to be Social Anxiety Disorder may or may not also play large roles in the story.

    Sometimes with a trilogy, or any extended series, the middle books suffer because everyone knows the books before and after will be around to pick up the slack. This situation creates what I refer to as a bridge book-- a book that cannot stand without the support of the series (I'm looking at you Playing with Fire).

    That situation does not exist here. While I'll never suggest skipping books in a series, you could here. Johnson provides just enough information about earlier events without getting repetitive or, gasp, boring. The story here is also fully developed and grounded, for the most part, in this book. There are, of course, unresolved threads since there is going to be a third book.

    Maureen Johnson is a really funny writer, a fact that is especially clear on her blog and when she tweets. Being a talented writer, Johnson sometimes handles some heavy issues which don't always allow her keen humor to come through. It comes through in Scarlett Fever without making this a slapstick story . . . except maybe for that one time with the cake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Why is there a cliffhanger ending if there is no sequel?

    The ending is super disappointing so watch out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Love love love

    This book was amazing. I loved it smuch icouldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I really did not like this book!

    DO NOT READ!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was the best. I think anybody who has read Suite Scarlett you should red this. You wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Way better than Suite Scarlett

    I have to admit, the sequael was way better than the original. The plot kept twisting and turning and she made me fall in love with max! I really wantred her to end up with him, so if there is a series I want Eric icked out1 he does not deserve Scarlett. What happens to Spencer, Marlene and the parents are you know, you know what is going to happen. but Lola is a total surprise with what she does. basically my only hate about this book is eric.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I've got Scarlett Fever

    Summer is finally over and thankfully, Scarlett's demanding boss Mrs. Amberson has moved out of the Hopewell Hotel into her own swanky NY apartment. But that doesn't necessary mean Scarlett is off the hook. No such luck. Mrs. Amberson simply can't manage anything without the talented O'Hara and has offered her an obscene amount of money to be her slave personal assistant in her newly opened talent agency, AAA (Amy Amberson Agency - not the automotive company). Thankfully the agency only has two clients: Scarlett's comedic brother Spencer who is having a bit of trouble landing any role and the newly discovered Broadway starlet and perfectionist Chelsea Biggs. Although Chelsea really should be counted as three clients as she comes along with a terrifying and controlling stage-mom and a surly brother Max who happens to attend the same school as Scarlett. But those clients are more than enough to turn Scarlett's world upside down without the added bonus of her quirky family: Lola is not acting like her normal, self-assured and elegant self, Maureen has been acting...well...nice and Scarlett is just trying to get over a certain actor who may have broken her heart. It's enough to make any teenager lose her mind.

    There is nothing so fun as sitting down with a Maureen Johnson book - especially when Scarlett Martin is involved. Her dialogue is witty, her characters are sparkling and there is constant supply of mad-cap antics that would keep even the toughest critic entertained. Maureen Johnson's previous novel, Suite Scarlett, centered around the eccentric Martin who reside in the 'vintage' NY Hopewell Hotel caught my attention and Scarlett Fever did more than enough to hold it. Scarlett is like a breath of fresh-teenage air. She's got insecurities but is a take action type of gal who is creative enough to survive any situation. And under Mrs. Amberson's employ - she's gonna need that. Once again, Scarlett et al charmed the pants off me and even though Scarlett Fever ended on a somewhat horribly unresolved, cliff-hanger ending (I'll try not to hold that against you Ms. Johnson), I for one am extremely pleased to hear that more will be coming from our charming blond hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scarlett Fever is catchy

    This follow-up to Suite Scarlett picks up right after the ending of the first book and takes in the roller coaster ride that is Scarlett's life. She has helped with the production of Hamlet there in the family hotel, and is dealing with her feelings for her ex, Eric, and suprising feelings for the brother of Mrs. Amberson's newest client. The dialog is very good and the story moves along very well. There are so many questions at the end that it makes you really look forward to the next book in the series. I highly recommend this book to anyone and especially if they really like the first book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4