Customer Reviews for

Scarpetta (Kay Scarpetta Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Impressive Addition to the Scarpetta Series

A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cor...
A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cornwell. I loved how clues are interwoven into each page in this layered Scarpetta adventure. In true Cornwell fashion the forensic detail was impeccable and the book the best yet.

posted by AzPO3 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Where Was the Story???

I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woma...
I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woman I didn't know or care about. Then the plot deviates from the murder story to ramble on about animal rights, breasts implants, and Lucy again has a gay relationship that has nothing to do with the main story line. After years of wanting Westly, Kay is having problems with him. Marino, one my favorite characters, changed so much it was unrealistic. Marino and Kay never resolved their problem either at least not verbally so what is the reader suppose to conclude about them. The plot is boring, confusing, has no suspense, and the ending is terrible. This is the last book I will ever buy by Cornwell. Personally I think she has gone as far as she can with Kay Scarpetta or she has lost her touch as a writer of classy readable supense thriller books. I have already traded my copy to a used book store for a more interesting book to read and enjoy.

posted by Aki on January 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Disappointing

    It seems as if Patricia Cornwell is just giving up, or at the very least, no longer cares about writing for the reader but to fulfill an obligation. All the characters have changed dramatically from book 1 and none for the better. As a reader i found myself hating each and every character I used to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    A Disappointment.

    I was so excited when I found this book in the Library and started reading right away. It felt as if someone other than Cornwell had written this book because it was so choppy and kept jumping as if a new thought had just accrued to Cornwell. At one point I felt like I was reading a first draft of the book that had not been edited. Then to have Kay and Benton married and questioning their relationships to one another over and over again, was just too much. To have Kay being belittled and put down at every turn in the road did not seem in character. Other people saw me reading this book and I did not recommend it to them to read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    disappointing

    as a long time cornwell fan, i have watched her books go downhill, dramatically. The first 400 pages could have been condensed into 150 pages without missing anything. It was only the last 100 pages that really held my interest. I was ready to return it to the library without finishing it. Not up to Cornwell's standard. a shame

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Cornwell

    My Mother told me if you can say something nice, don't say anything at all.<BR/>so..........

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Scarpetta not main character

    Scarpetta was a background charcter to her neice Lucy. The murder never was presented as the main object of the story, only as an after thought. If you want to read a great who-done-it mystery, this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Weak storyline

    Not one of her best. Boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Stale and Predictable

    I have been a long time fan of Patricia Cornwell and the Kay Scarpetta series, but I think this will be the last Scarpetta book I read. It seemed from the very beginning to follow a rudimentary formula. I kept hoping for a few plot twists that never came and the ending so predictable it almost jumped off of the page 100 or so pages early.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    TOO MUCH TALK

    I HAVE READ MANY OF THE EALIER SCARPETTA'S. ENJOYED THEM ALL.
    I AM ON PAGE 214 OF 374, I AM TOO FAR IN TO STOP AND CURIOUS, BUT STILL NO ACTION YET, JUST TALK TALK TALK. I AM DISAPPOINTED THUS FAR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Don't Waste your time.

    I always loved Patricia Cornwell books until this one. The story rambles on and on and could have been told in one page. I miss the twists and turns that Scarpetta's other plots had. I certainly wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. Sorry I have wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Difficult to "get into it"

    Have loved Patricia Cornwell books but this one is by far my least favorite. Cannot recommend ~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Cornwell's Worst

    This book is convoluted. The plot is confusing and poorly developed with the villian introduced almost as an afterthought. The print space devoted to the dwarfs was excessive in light of their limited role in the ultimate outcome. Then there is the implausible survival of Lucy. A trained police detective taking his victim by surprise and shooting at close range would not leave the target breathing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Yuk Yuk Yuk!!

    I own all of the Kay Scarpetta books and always anxiously await the next in the series, but come on!! This was a total let down. I haven't finished it yet! I have picked up and finished two other books and keep going back to this one. I can't do it. I keep hoping the plot will turn around and the typical storyline will grab me.......not happening

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SKIP THE AUDIO BOOK

    I SINCERELY HOPE THE BOOK IS BETTER THAN THE AUDIO VERSION. I AM NOT SURE IF THE PLOT WAS LACKING OR THE READING WAS SO DRONE LIKE THAT IT MADE LISTENING TO THE STORY PAINFUL. PERHAPS ANOTHER READER WOULD HAVE BREATHE LIFE INTO THE CHARACTERS, INSTEAD YOU JUST WANTED THE BOOK TO BE OVER.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    scarpetta

    It was interesting in some parts. This may be the last book of hers I read though. I do not like every book of hers containing some form of animal cruelty. She carries it a little too far. I know its out there but listening to books on my way to and from work are my down times. I don't enjoy listening to stuff that makes me all mad and uncomfortable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    the first step forward in the Scarpetta series in a long while

    The earlier books in the series were much better than the last 4 or 5. It seemed like Cornwell had gotten tired of her characters and didn't know where to go with them or what to write. In that regard, this latest in the series was at least moving forward, but I still feel that Cornwell has lost her muse relative to this cast of characters and that she needs to re-invigorate herself, most likely with an entirely new premise / set of characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Scarpetta

    I stopped buying Cornwell several books ago because I was bored. With that said, I may have missed something along the way, so I felt as if I was not a part of the "in" crowd and unaware of past life-events with regard to Scarpetta. After finishing the book, I asked myself, "Why did I talk myself into buying this?" So once again, I found the book a bit off and I'll not talk myself into another Cornwell book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2