Customer Reviews for

Scarpetta (Kay Scarpetta Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Impressive Addition to the Scarpetta Series

A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cor...
A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cornwell. I loved how clues are interwoven into each page in this layered Scarpetta adventure. In true Cornwell fashion the forensic detail was impeccable and the book the best yet.

posted by AzPO3 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Where Was the Story???

I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woma...
I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woman I didn't know or care about. Then the plot deviates from the murder story to ramble on about animal rights, breasts implants, and Lucy again has a gay relationship that has nothing to do with the main story line. After years of wanting Westly, Kay is having problems with him. Marino, one my favorite characters, changed so much it was unrealistic. Marino and Kay never resolved their problem either at least not verbally so what is the reader suppose to conclude about them. The plot is boring, confusing, has no suspense, and the ending is terrible. This is the last book I will ever buy by Cornwell. Personally I think she has gone as far as she can with Kay Scarpetta or she has lost her touch as a writer of classy readable supense thriller books. I have already traded my copy to a used book store for a more interesting book to read and enjoy.

posted by Aki on January 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Scarpetta

    This book, for me, did not start with a bang. Had to really force myself to continue reading. By the sixth chapter it was starting to come together and from there became quite the familiar Cornwell page turner. All in all it's a good book and I would recommend it to others.<BR/>I would also recommend James Patterson and Rick Mofina books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    The Devil is in the Details

    ¿Scarpetta¿ is a skillfully written thriller. There is no question that Ms. Cornwell knows her stuff when it comes to setting the stage. The first three-quarters of this novel is packed with an abundance of essential details ¿ anatomical, physiological, psychological, medical, forensic, technical ¿ all part of introducing and re-introducing the characters and the crimes. The last quarter of the book moves rapidly toward the conclusion. It is a well-crafted interwoven and complex resolution that reveals itself in layers. Except for some instances of conflict between Kay and Bennett, it does, however, seem that Kay, Bennett, Lucy and Marino have all attended sensitivity training since the previous novel. While there are new adversaries, I did miss the tension in the familiar relationships. If you are a Cornwell/Scarpetta fan as I am, don¿t miss ¿Scarpetta.¿

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    Cornwell Returning to Form

    I have been an avid Scarpetta fan since the first volumes were published and, quite honestly, I had been disappointed in the last three or four installments. That made reading "Scarpetta" all the more enjoyable, as Cornwell seemed to be returning to some of the basics which made the early books so enjoyable. I found much more detail and development in the basic story plot, less rehashing of the "old" character flaws and more emphasis on solving a murder than on personal relationships. I have renewed interest in this series and I was at a point where I could have gone either way. But I would highly recommend "Scarpetta" and believe that you will find some of the old spark in this new installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    This 16th installment of Cornwell's series featuring forensic pathologist Kay Scarpetta finds Scarpetta living in Massachusetts with an apartment in New York, both shared with her husband, former FBI forensic profiler Benton Wesley. Scarpetta's called to Bellevue, where Oscar Bane, a man suspected of killing his girlfriend, is being held. Bane insists he will talk to no one but Scarpetta and is adamant that he did not murder his girlfriend, although all evidence points to him. Bane also claims he is being stalked by the actual killer. As Scarpetta collects DNA from Bane and listens to his declarations, she suspects he is infatuated with her. But Scarpetta is limited by doctor-patient confidentiality and cannot relay to Benton or the police her conversation with or suspicions about Bane. Pete Marino, once Scarpetta's right-hand investigator, now employed by the NYPD, is pulled into the investigation by the prosecutor, as is Scarpetta's niece, Lucy, due to her computer expertise. Someone claiming to be Scarpetta had been corresponding with the deceased via email and Scarpetta is being attacked by an online gossip column, all of which tie into the murder, linked to others of a similar nature.

    This series started strong, seemed to lag, and is, with this installment, on its way back. The reason: Scarpetta, Wesley, Marino and Lucy are together again, using their unique talents and collective intelligence in investigating cases that are twisting and complex. Although the revelation of the killer is unexpected, there are loose ends left dangling as to his ability to move around so easily without being detected and his motivation as to Scarpetta. However, this is a very good read, and this reviewer is happy to see the old crowd back together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Scarpetta, the sequel

    Once again, we find Kay Scarpetta threatened on a personal level. In this next saga in the continuing series about one of the country's leading forensic pathologiss, we find Dr. Scarpetta being asked for personally by a man whom the police suspect of murdering his girlfriend. the tale that unravels has all the elements of suspense usually found in this series, and is a good read.
    I sometimes wish for a different life for Lucy, as once again in this book , she is in danger. And, I don't like the thought of Kay and Benton's marriage being threatened. But, other than that, I highly recommend this book, especially for those who can't get enough of this series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A Good Wrap Up

    It's easy to see why some were negative of the story since it was a multi faceted plot. This was complicated by the tangent that Cornwill took in her narrative.Once you got into the story it was quite interesting. If I didn't know better I would say that this was the final chapter being laid down for it brought the history of the characters out and their interactions. A somewhat complicated story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Scarpetta makes a comeback

    After Patricia Cornwell publishing duds for her last 3 books, Scarpetta is a marked improvement. The plot is clear and our favorite characters are just that, characters. I almost didn't buy it as I was afraid that I would waste my money, but I was pleasantly surprised.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Scarpetta

    As always, Cornwell has written another great book. It kept me guessing all the way til the end! The characters went through such a dramatic change that I was, at first, disapointed. But everything fell into place - as always! A good book to curl up with and escape.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Scarpetta

    Good book overall, ending left some questions

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Great Cornwell Read

    Great read, as all Kay Scarpetta novels are.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    Scarpetta any questions?

    Well written and gripping. Different from the others and refreshing to some point. Does wonder some but still refreshing. Plot is well written and filling. Would recommend.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    I love the Scarpetta series, but not sure this one lived up to the hype.

    With all the media hype and advertising about how "you won't be able to figure this one out"....well, I figured it out pretty quickly. I knew who the villian was after about their 2nd appearance in the story. Sorry Patricia! There were a couple of things I didn't see coming towards the end. I'm not sure that some of the other conflicts in relationships were resolved, or certainly not to my satisffaction or what I thought was a very realistic manner. Benton has turned into a total whimp, in my opinion. Maybe Mrs. Corwell is leaving these relationship conflicts for books yet to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    Different

    This book is alot different than all of the other Scarpetta books. This one jumps back and forth alot. It is a harder read than the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    Disappointed in this Scarpetta Book

    I have read all the Scarpetta series books and was disappointed in this one. It was difficult staying interested throughout the book. Because I had enjoyed the rest of the series, I was surprised to find it so difficult to get through this book. I almost felt like it was a different author doing the writing. I don't know if I would read anymore of Patricia Cornwell's books after this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Good reading

    I enjoy all of Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta series. She makes you feel as if you know all her repetitive characters so well that you have them physically pictured in your mind. I am waiting for Hollywood to turn this series into magic on the big screen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Different Scarpetta

    The style was typical for Cornwell......Great characters, good plot and a lot of detail.....I enjoyed the book overall......I believe some of her earlier books were much better

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Scarpetta Is At It Again

    Another Cornwell-Scapetta hit. Excellent!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    back to what she does best

    I really enjoyed Scarpetta. In some recent Kay Scarpetta novels I felt like something was missing, but I am glad to see Patricia Cornwell back on top of her game.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Scarpetta

    Same characters. I'm hooked on background issues.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    a woman of steele

    where will she go next?? she has done almost everything

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6