BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scarpetta (Kay Scarpetta Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 423 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Impressive Addition to the Scarpetta Series

A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cor...
A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cornwell. I loved how clues are interwoven into each page in this layered Scarpetta adventure. In true Cornwell fashion the forensic detail was impeccable and the book the best yet.

posted by AzPO3 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Where Was the Story???

I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woma...
I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books. The early ones that take place in Richmond, VA are great reading. However when Cornwell moved Kay and her gang out of Richmond, the books just went downhill. This book is just plain awful. It rambles on about a murder of woman I didn't know or care about. Then the plot deviates from the murder story to ramble on about animal rights, breasts implants, and Lucy again has a gay relationship that has nothing to do with the main story line. After years of wanting Westly, Kay is having problems with him. Marino, one my favorite characters, changed so much it was unrealistic. Marino and Kay never resolved their problem either at least not verbally so what is the reader suppose to conclude about them. The plot is boring, confusing, has no suspense, and the ending is terrible. This is the last book I will ever buy by Cornwell. Personally I think she has gone as far as she can with Kay Scarpetta or she has lost her touch as a writer of classy readable supense thriller books. I have already traded my copy to a used book store for a more interesting book to read and enjoy.

posted by Aki on January 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Impressive Addition to the Scarpetta Series

    A great read and impressive addition to the Scarpetta series. I am awed by how Cornwell can continue to generate such suspense and mystery in the Scarpetta lineup. It is fascinating to see Scarpetta and her old friends continue to develop through the mind¿s eye of Cornwell. I loved how clues are interwoven into each page in this layered Scarpetta adventure. In true Cornwell fashion the forensic detail was impeccable and the book the best yet.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    INDESCRIBABLY WONDERFUL!! Classic Cornwell!!

    ABSOLUTELY STUNNING!! Patricia Cornwell has done it again!! Scarpetta is a magnificent work sure to become a classic!! Focusing mainly on the brilliant work of Dr. Kay Scarpetta, and likewise bearing her name, Patricia Cornwell¿s newest work is truly a ¿must read!¿ <BR/><BR/>In this latest thriller, Dr. Kay Scarpetta is called in from Boston to solve a heinous New Year¿s Eve crime that makes no sense to investigators. As a personal favor to her colleagues, Dr. Scarpetta walks right into this complex case and tackles it ¿head on.¿<BR/>The case has a confusing trail of DNA and a confounding set of circumstances that baffles even New York¿s finest. The plot swirls and spins around a complex cast of characters, all of which seem mutually exclusive until the final chapters of the book when Ms. Cornwell reveals a carefully woven matrix of unlikely and sinister connections. And, ¿¿. the ending will fool you!<BR/><BR/>This thriller has more twists and turns than a mountain road, and it enthralls its reader from its first word to its last. It¿s a true page turner. I stayed up half the night finishing this book because I simply could not put it down!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing.... Patricia Cornwell is back...

    I was lucky enough to be able to read her book before it came out. I really enjoyed this book. Her last two had seemed to lack something and I found this book to be back to her amazing writting. I couldn't put Scarpetta down until I had read it all. Everything fell into place like it should and u weren't left hanging in the end. This is a must for all Patricia Cornwell fans.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Another great Cornwell book!

    Cornwell has once again wowed us with her new Scarpetta book! This is a must read for not only all Cornwell fans, but also for anyone interested in a great forensic thriller. Cornwell has written a best seller with the addition of new characters, as well as our favorites. Kay Scarpetta is back and she's better than ever! And I loved that Marino is back to his old self. And, as is Cornwell's signature style, all of the forensic details are true science. This mystery had me on the edge of my seat until the very end. This is a must read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Patricia Cornwell Did It Again!

    This book has it all! Without giving anything away, let me just say Patricia Cornwell's new book is a MUST-READ! You will not be able to put the book down until you have read each and every page of it. The wait to find out what happened to Investigator Pete Marino is finally over! Lucy's new love interest keeps the story line so much more interesting. Well written (of course!) and unbelievably entertaining... Don't miss out on your chance to read one of the best Scarpetta novels yet!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Smart, well researched thriller.

    This novel is definitely a five star in my book! Cornwell really worked to develop the characters, and the plot was full of her signature twists and turns! Her characters have grown and changed, some stronger, others not who we have known them to be. Cornwell also added a new level to the book by weaving current day issues into the plot. Smart, well-researched, thrilling and a tad bit dark, Cornwell really hit a home run with this one.<BR/>She kept me constantly jumping to incorrect conclusions and in one particular scene, actually physically jumping. I can't wait to share this with friends and family so we can discuss all the intricately woven threads and the sheer entertainment value of Scarpetta.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Wow well worth the wait.

    Patricia Cornwell has done it again. She continues to keep the books coming and they never slack in comparrison. It is wonderful to have Kay Scarpetta back this book is awesome. I would suggest that anyone who is interested in Forensics read this its not just a book it gives understanding and excitement.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    She does it again!

    She's back! Dr. Kay Scarpetta is back with new tales, new adventures! Who knows what she'll accomplish this time. New characters, old friends...all are included in the newest book. Patricia Cornwell keeps bringing Dr. Scarpetta back and throws her into something new that will capture you and won't let go! Keep her comin', Patricia Cornwell!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    I have been waiting for this book

    Happy Anniversary Kay, it is 20 years since you came on the scene. I have been waiting for this book. Kay is no older but she is wiser and more compassionate. The characters in this book are really unique and the murder a real puzzle. Lucy is involved in a new enterprise that helps Aunt Kay and Marino is rehabilitated to my great relief. The solving of the murder was a real surprise - classic Cornwell. As usual you can take the forensic science to the bank. I am confident fans will love this book. I did.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    What You've Been Waiting For

    Book of the Dead left us hanging by our fingernails, particularly when we're left wondering if Marino could survive his biggest obstacle: himself. And if Lucy has anything to do with it, he wouldn't or would he? The answers you've been asking yourself are answered in Patricia Cornwell's newest SCARPETTA. A "can't put down", "don't make me quit reading" book. Those of us who love the characters will not be disappointed --- you'll find yourself sighing for Rose, rooting for Marino and holding your breath for Lucy! The lead up to the end is in Ms.Cornwell's typical style of laying out the plot, peppering it with colorful people, sprinkling in some forensic jargon and slamming us against the back bookcover. The only time you'll be disappointed will be when you finish this book and there just isn't any more!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    Wonderful, as expected

    Cornwell's latest in the Kay Scarpetta series is a thrilling page-turner that I found difficult to put down! Picking up post-disaster in SC, we get a detailed series of events leading up to the current twisting & turning case Kay, et al find themselves wrapped up in. This is one of the best Scarpetta adventures yet!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    One of the best Scarpetta books in years!

    I was lucky enough to receive an advance copy of this book- and it's one of the best Kay Scarpetta books that Patricia Cornwell has written in years! Packed with action, plot twists, new characters as well as all our beloved regulars, this book will definately keep you on the edge of your seat- you won't want to put it down!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing like this

    Scarpetta is in a class all its own. Even in the Dr. Kay Scarpetta series there is nothing quite like this. The setting is in today's life from 9-11 to the job market. Patricia has never had a character like Oscar Bane. There are a few story lines to follow, and more incite to the people who surround Kay. You can not figure out the ending to this book till the end, down to the last chapter I was thinking it couldn't end this way, no way Patricia could do it. I couldn't put the book down, it is the longest one yet. The detail of the time line in this book isn't like any thing else Patricia has done, at least none I can recall. I have every one of Patricia's books and after twenty years of writing I do not feel like I have read the same thing once. This is one of my favorites, because I can see Kay Scarpetta in our world, dealing with our life. Thank you, Patricia Cornwell for sharing your work with us.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    Exceptional

    Scarpetta is an exceptionally well-written book with unforgettable characters and a plot (and sub-plots) than only Cornwell could create - a book that is difficult to close until the very end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Another Scarpetta Winner! Now I can't wait until the next one.

    The book was worth the wait. It was true Scarpetta for me, I couldn't wait to turn the next page to see what strange twist the story was going to take. I was so sure that Dr. Lester was somehow involved, maybe that's another plot for another time. I was so relieved that the book ended without Scarpetta being hurt, I was a little worried that with the title being just Scarpetta that this would be the last book. As an avid PC and Scarpetta fan, I hope that there are many, many more to come. And I was so relieved to see Kay and Marino somewhat reunited, it was unbelievable to me as close as they were that they would never speak again. All I can say is PC has another winner on her hands and I can't wait for the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Thanks to Patricia Cornwell Christmas came early this year!

    Patricia Cornwell masters the art of research and brings it up a notch in Scarpetta.In vintage Cornwell style she sets the stage for an intense thriller.Lucy, Marino and Benton turn up like familiar old friends and take this suspenseful journey with us.She toys with our judgement and when we think we have solved the mystery she brings us in another direction.A nail-biter to the very end allowed for that rare "literary hangover" well worth the loss of a night's sleep.<BR/>Thanks to Cornwell my Christmas shopping will be easy this year!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Another Fantastic Book

    Another fantastic book!! It was definitely a page turner and very hard to put down. I love the way Cornwell keeps you guessing all through the novel with surprises and endless clues to beat the band. With Cornwell¿s elegant touch of characterizations and her detailed way of scene description, it¿s like savoring every bite of a triple chocolate cake followed by the best Columbian gourmet coffee that only Juan Valdez could appreciate. Cornwell fans will not be disappointed yet again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    WOW!!!

    "Scarpetta" is remarkable. The mystery, suspense, surprises, new characters, revealing technology, this story has it all. I hate to spoil this story with any description, it is great to have it unfold before you. YOu really feel captured in every page. I will say this, Benton begins the story with incredible fatigue from pulling 2 all nighters. Well get ready, you will too. Your heart will race even after you close the cover. I highly recomend "Scarpetta" you will never forget it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Scarpetta

    Scarpetta by Patricia Cornwell is a fast paced novel that will leave you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. If you are like me who prefers the earlier Kay Scarpetta novels then you won¿t be disappointed. This novel is packed with clues and surprises that will leave you guessing until the very end. Cornwell¿s description of settings and of characters are so detailed that the reader is drawn into the story like a moth to a flame. I was unable to put it down due to the intensity of the plot. My only criticism of the novel is that it ended. I enjoyed Scarpetta so much that I plan on re-reading it again. Unlike most novels that are given so much attention and hype prior to distribution this one truly deserves it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Scarpetta

    I read this book and boy I was blown away. She really out did herself, on this book. The main characters are terrifc. And so are the new ones. I see<BR/>why the book is thick?Because all of her characters deserve equal share in the book. It's worth the wait for me personilty. Everyone will be surpise at the ending. And through the whole book. For some of you die hard lovers of Kay Scarpetta (like myself)she is so fantastic of a character, only Miss Cornwell does her justice. But all of this is my personal opinion. And there be some who won't like the book (of course) that's their opinion also.But the die hard fans will out way the bad one's.The plot is really good,writing is terrfic,it's so thrilling. I could go on but, you read for your self just stay with it after the first chapter. Then you can't put it down it's really worth the read.Plus the main characters are fantastic and so are the new one's. Did I say I Love it. I just did. 11-26-08

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9