Customer Reviews for

The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta Series #17)

Average Rating 3.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Even better than the last!

This was really a great read. I was looking forward to this book as I hoped it might explain a few things that I wondered about at the end of Scarpetta and I was not disappointed. The story is fast moving (watch out CNN and Nancy Grace) and I felt that I really understo...
This was really a great read. I was looking forward to this book as I hoped it might explain a few things that I wondered about at the end of Scarpetta and I was not disappointed. The story is fast moving (watch out CNN and Nancy Grace) and I felt that I really understood what moved the main characters - I was in Starbucks not long after finishing a late night reading session and was still so captivated by Cornwell's descriptive writing I made a bit of a fool of myself with the barista, who looked a bit like I imagine Lucy looks. Truly the sign of an excellent read.
She obviously does her research and then some since I had a situation not unlike the one she describes with my company Blackberry - the woman is amazing. A 5 star experience that makes shopping for the holidays much, much easier.

posted by TM63 on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Complicated and uninteresting

I usually read the Scarpetta series books in one or two sittings. Not this one however. There are many reasons for this - the book's length of over 400 pages; the complicated, many threaded plot line, the awkward interaction of characters and so on. I am a big fan of...
I usually read the Scarpetta series books in one or two sittings. Not this one however. There are many reasons for this - the book's length of over 400 pages; the complicated, many threaded plot line, the awkward interaction of characters and so on. I am a big fan of all the Scarpetta characters but not in this book. After plodding through all those pages, the unintersting plot is brought to closure very quickly and very illogically. NOt worth the read

posted by sisenhower on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    As always, Kay Scarpetta is in the midst of adventure.

    If you like Kay Scarpetta, you'll love this book, too. As always, "in character", the ME is so likable, you want to be one of her very best friends. Lucy is Lucy. Pete is Pete, etc. Lots of plot twists and exciting page-turning adventure. I just can't wait for the next one!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    CAPTIVATING

    When reading Patricia Cornwell's SCARPETTA FACTOR you can expect hard-charging, dramatic and intimate looks into the lives of our favorite characters. Cornwell is the master of nuiancing the unusual -- nothing is off-limits and everything is volatile.

    Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy, and Morino share equally in the complexities of this story. Each coming from a different direction until the plot reveals itself. As with all of Ms. Cornwell's Scarpetta books, you find yourself spiralling through the pages toward the inevitable explosive conclusion.

    Find a quiet place, turn off the phone and computer and be ready to pry your fingers from the cover of the book when it ends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Ms. Cornwell has done it again,

    Ms. Cornwell has done it again, she has written another fantastic book. I love her characters. After reading all of the Scarpetta novels, it is like a visit with old friends. I don't want to ruin the book for anyone by giving away too much. But I will tell you that Ms. Cornwell has written a new baddie that I hope will return. As with all of the Scarpetta novels this is another winner. I enjoyed it cover to cover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

    Another awesome novel from Cornwell. Emotions run deeper than ever in the latest Scarpetta adventure. Old plots & villans resurface with twists & turns that keep you tuned in. Highly recommended reading, especially if you are a fan of Cornwell's works!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    If you love Patricia Cornwell, you WILL read "The Scarpetta Factor"!

    Pick up any and all of Ms. Cornwell's books for an thrilling, can't-put-it-down read, and the latest in her series about the brilliant Kay Scarpetta is no exception to the rule. "The Scarpetta Factor" finds Kay, Benton, Lucy, and Marino in New York City, close to Christmas. A young woman is murdered and dumped in the city; the manner and time of death defy the appearance of the crime. A creepy Christmas card, a terrifying package, a "lost" Blackberry, and a couple of aging co-conspirators; plus a disturbing reappearance from a dangerous and demented nemesis from the past-all contribute to an attempt to ruin not just the holidays, but the lives of everyone they touch. Lies and deceit, real and imagined ghosts, and the complicated relationships of people in love-all set against the vivid descriptions of New York's amazing scenery. It makes for an unforgettable reading experience. The only flaw to this book is that it is very light on past history. For anyone who has not read at least the last Scarpetta novel, some of the plot and character interaction could seem vague and contribute to the appearance of a lack of depth in certain characters. A longtime Scarpetta reader would already know important details. This is the only reason I gave this book four stars, fully realizing there is no way for Ms. Cornwell to supply all the information that makes her stories so rich for all of us dedicated readers.
    I can't give away the ending-but if you know Scarpetta, there's a sauce simmering and bread baking somewhere, and the smell of it in my mind's eye always brings me to the brink of tears. I will say to this book what I would say to ANYTHING Ms. Cornwell EVER cooked up for me in her own kitchen-more, more, MORE!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Great Book

    You have done it again, what a great book The Scarpetta Factor. I read it in about three days, and was not one bit disappointed. It has some major twist and turns in it, and Dr. Kay Scarpetta was wonderful as usual. It is a must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cornwell just gets better and better

    Excellent read. It was so good to have Lucy, Berger, Marino and Benton back with Scarpetta. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat, a never guess ending!! I look forward all year to Cornwell's new book and so far I have never been disappointed. If you have never read a Scarpetta book, start at the begining and read your way through, you will not regret it.

    Cornwell incorporates current events into her books and that makes them seem more real, they are easy to get lost in.

    Now the waiting starts for the next book, I will be first in line to get it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    The Scarpetta Factor is a must read for fans of the saga and new readers who enjoy great books.
    If this is your first Cornwell novel you won't be dissapointed. A little lost about things that happened in other books. So go get the entire Scarpetta series. Might seem like alot of books but once you start reading the first one your hooked.
    Ms Cornwell is a very good writer, I looked forward to all of her works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Cornwell, and Scarpetta, at their Best!

    First rate writing and plot in this the latest Kay Scarpetta novel. Kay's character continues to unfold, and we're seeing a kinder, gentler and more vulnerable side that lends itself well to the story line. Lucy continues to walk the tightrope between law and disorder. Her techno-bilites allow her so much e-access that the line constantly blurs, and she consistently confuses and offends those who care about her most, often in her efforts to protect them. Benson continues to fuel the rivalry that exists between he and Marino, and this is nicely played throughout. And an old foe returns. The pace is fast-moving, especially the last chapters where information will bombard you from everywhere, so pay attention. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Scarpetta

    I am looking forward to the lastest book by Cromwell in the Scarpetta series. The last book she brought Scarpetta back to the familiar characters we had come to love. It was one of the best in the series bringing back the characters we had become familiar with in the earlier books. I had stopped buying the middle of the saga because it seem to be lost in Neverland. I am hoping Cromwell will keep her characters as they are in the last and earlier books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    A Real Dud!

    The Scarpetta Factor is the worst Scarpetta novel yet. Cornwell has reduced characters that used to be real and interesting to a bunch of unbelievable whining crybabies. A crime/mystery novel should have either a rousing plot that keeps the reader engaged or likable characters that are fun to visit even if the plot is lacking. The best books have both and this one has neither. After meandering with no apparent story for most of the book, towards the end Cornwell whips out that stupid French crime family--again!! (yawn) Scarpetta should never have left Virginia; everything seems to have fallen apart since then. Come on, Ms. Cornwell. We KNOW you can do better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    What's not to like!

    Terrific Authors don't ever miss out on deliverying the best to die-heart fans, even when a fan can choose to like a previous plot in an earlier novel, the style and thrills remain the same with each book written by this author. Same here, fresh new plot and great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    What a disappointment!

    A Conneticut ME who ,however, spends most of her time in NYC (including a job in TV) gets in trouble because inspite being a no nonsense woman can not say no to an interview with a woman she despises. What a poor start. The plot gets all convoluted e illogical. Then there is her niece, a superwoman. in her early 30s is already a selfmade billionaress who in her spare time has been a super spy, a member of black especial ops(with several notches on her firearm), former Tobbaco and Firearms ex member and expert, former FBI,expert helicopter pilot and expert in all other small things like that. And then we have to believe that Scarpetta's husband was awol for What? 8 years? and she , being such a brain and a dish in this day and age did not have remarried of had a boyfriends?. From then on the reading is boring and illogical.Do yourself a favor, skeep this book and read the Sunday newspaper instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Not much of a factor

    Not too much forensics. Plods in spots. Disjointed in other places. New characters not developed. I will wait for paperbacks for any future Scarpetta books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Very Disappointing

    I am a big Scarpetta fan, and this book was just boring. Scarpetta is made out to be angry and paranoid, and there is very little action. The storyline is slow, new characters uninteresting, overall a big disappointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    She needs her groove back.........

    Rambling is the best word to describe this book. Her early books were true page turners, this one took me so long to finish because it could not hold my interest. Too much dark emotional conflict between and in the main characters, I just feel sorry for them now. They seem to lead such boring, work-obsessed lives. When you finally plod to the end and get to the plot it is pretty thin and not as action packed as her other books. Sorry Patricia, this one didn't do it for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Cornwell Is Back!

    Scarpetta Factor is a return to the high energy level of Cornwell's earlier stories. It brings together a lot of related open-questioned paths that have been laying there waiting for a satisfying unified resolution...in that the author succeeds. I really enjoyed the show!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    IS thrilling as always...

    Patricia Cornwell is great at writing thrillers. This is her 3rd book of the Scarpetta series that I've read and I love them all. I feel like I should go read the other 14 before these. Her characters are strong and she does a great job at linking the previous book to the current book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    The Scarpetta Factor

    Wouldn't recommend it. Couldn't get past page 60. Not at all up to Cornwell's standard. Not at all like the other Scarpetta books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Series Going Through Depression?

    This makes the 17th book in this series. Although I love Patricia Cornwell's Scarpetta series, I have to be honest and say that it has lost the fast paced action and mystery the early books had. I enjoy a series because of the growth of the characters, and how you learn to love and hate them. They become like an extended imaginary family that you're so passionate about, you can't wait for their next adventure. But this book, along with the previous one in the series, have really turned Kay into a depressing whining character who doesn't really whine or voice her emotions. Everything and everyone is "whiny" for lack of a better word. It droned on and on, and so the book doesn't pick up pace until the last quarter of the book. And yes, the technical details are what made us fall in love with the early Scarpetta books, but now, Cornwell over-indulges in all the technical speak and names. I could do with a little less explanation and a little more story. I will buy the next book, and hope that it's better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26