Customer Reviews for

The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta Series #17)

Average Rating 3.5
( 516 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Even better than the last!

This was really a great read. I was looking forward to this book as I hoped it might explain a few things that I wondered about at the end of Scarpetta and I was not disappointed. The story is fast moving (watch out CNN and Nancy Grace) and I felt that I really understo...
This was really a great read. I was looking forward to this book as I hoped it might explain a few things that I wondered about at the end of Scarpetta and I was not disappointed. The story is fast moving (watch out CNN and Nancy Grace) and I felt that I really understood what moved the main characters - I was in Starbucks not long after finishing a late night reading session and was still so captivated by Cornwell's descriptive writing I made a bit of a fool of myself with the barista, who looked a bit like I imagine Lucy looks. Truly the sign of an excellent read.
She obviously does her research and then some since I had a situation not unlike the one she describes with my company Blackberry - the woman is amazing. A 5 star experience that makes shopping for the holidays much, much easier.

posted by TM63 on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Complicated and uninteresting

I usually read the Scarpetta series books in one or two sittings. Not this one however. There are many reasons for this - the book's length of over 400 pages; the complicated, many threaded plot line, the awkward interaction of characters and so on. I am a big fan of...
I usually read the Scarpetta series books in one or two sittings. Not this one however. There are many reasons for this - the book's length of over 400 pages; the complicated, many threaded plot line, the awkward interaction of characters and so on. I am a big fan of all the Scarpetta characters but not in this book. After plodding through all those pages, the unintersting plot is brought to closure very quickly and very illogically. NOt worth the read

posted by sisenhower on November 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Complicated and uninteresting

    I usually read the Scarpetta series books in one or two sittings. Not this one however. There are many reasons for this - the book's length of over 400 pages; the complicated, many threaded plot line, the awkward interaction of characters and so on. I am a big fan of all the Scarpetta characters but not in this book. After plodding through all those pages, the unintersting plot is brought to closure very quickly and very illogically. NOt worth the read

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Even better than the last!

    This was really a great read. I was looking forward to this book as I hoped it might explain a few things that I wondered about at the end of Scarpetta and I was not disappointed. The story is fast moving (watch out CNN and Nancy Grace) and I felt that I really understood what moved the main characters - I was in Starbucks not long after finishing a late night reading session and was still so captivated by Cornwell's descriptive writing I made a bit of a fool of myself with the barista, who looked a bit like I imagine Lucy looks. Truly the sign of an excellent read.
    She obviously does her research and then some since I had a situation not unlike the one she describes with my company Blackberry - the woman is amazing. A 5 star experience that makes shopping for the holidays much, much easier.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spectacular!!!

    Now I need to buy the rest of the series!!!!! I love all the true to life characters, Dr. Kay Scarpetta, Benton westley, Niece, Lucy, a forensic researcher and all the ones in between! A well off financial planner, Hannah Star is missing and presumed dead, among other unfortunate characters. The real life characters blend together with uncanny circumstances that keep the readers' eyes glued to the pages experiencing the suspenseful, incredible plot. One of the best I've read in a while!!!....Another spectacular book I read recently and recommend highly is EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L. Pirrung...This one is a completely different storyline, but it keeps you entranced and sitting on the edge of your seat, all the same!....Others that also have made a difference in my life are, THE SHACK, THE HELP, and THE THIRTEENTH TALE....

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super

    Marriage between Benton Wesley and Kay Scarpetta seems to be working out fine even though he remains angry and jealous of police officer Pete Marino. His feelings makes it difficult for them to work together, which they must on her latest cases. Toni Darien was murdered by a blunt force trauma to the head; which is obvious but the time of death is not. Reliable eye witnesses insist she was still alive hours after the medical examiner declared her dead.

    Besides her pro bono ME position in Manhattan, Scarpetta is the forensic expert on the CNN Carley Crispin Show, hosted by Carly Crispin whose superiors want to replace her. They want Kay to star on a new show The Scarpetta Factor because she has the gift of always finding the killer. When Kay returns to her ME office, she picks up a Fed-Ex package that strikes her as off kilter. She calls for the bomb squad and is proven right that there was a bomb in the package that could have badley injurered her and Benton. Kay, Benton, her niece Lucy Farinelli,, Pete Marino, ADA Jaime Berger work together on several cases though there is a strain within the sleuthing group. They believe there is a connection to Toni's death and the disappearance of beautiful millionaire Hannah Starr as well as the bomb scare. None of these so-called experts has found the link between all their cases as a clever diabolical puppeteer works their strings perfectly.

    It does not take being a forensic expert to know that Patricia Cornwell's latest Scarpetta Factor is filled with excitement and plausible twists that also contains revelations about each of the recurring cast; none of this is easy to do when this is number seventeen in this great series. Switching perspectives without slowing down, the story line is told in the third person with varying leads enabling the readers to get deep inside each of the main players especially to what fears and traumas they must overcome. Fans will enjoy competing with the Scarpetta zoo crew in trying to discover who killed Toni and why and what happened to Hannah.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Scarpetta Factor Patricia Cornwell does it again

    As a long time Cornwell fan, this book is a great read. I feel as if I know Doc Scarpetta,Benton, Lucy and Marino. I have all of Patricia Cornwell's books and I just love reading them. I try not to read them too fast, because I don't want to get to the end. That does not work, because they are so great that I just keep reading and finish them within
    1-2 days. The Scarpetta Factor is a great read and full of surprises.
    I can't wait for her next book.

    Janet O

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    Eh

    I used to love the Scarpetta books. They were great books with lots of scientific cred. Several books back Cornwell seemed to get wrapped up in this weird paranoia and I just can't stand the characters anymore. They're always communicating on super secret phone lines and doing high tech web searches when realistically I want an interesting whodunit. I keep hoping Cornwell gets her grove back. But not with this one.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    INCREDIBLE PLOT!

    Dr. Kay Scarpetta, what a life! A woman in a man's field, forensic, detective work...nothing gets past her! I love it!! A little bit of everything to keep the reader completely enthralled and captivated...The suspense is incredible!! Well worth your time!

    A couple of other books I'd like to recommend but are completely different are EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by L. Pirrung and THE HELP, by K. Stockett.....All three are equally captivating and exciting.....GREAT LESSONS IN HUMAN DIGNITY and so much more!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Incredible Detail, Phenomenal Plot, a Definite MUST READ!!!

    This book is most certainly one of the best in the Scarpetta series! The amount of detail truly allows the reader to not only feel as though they are there with the characters, but that they truly understand what is happening; I must admit I gained a bit of knowledge while reading this one for sure! For true Patricia Cornwell/Scarpetta fans, this book will not leave you disappointed. New details and feelings come to light from some of the characters, making it easier to understand and piece together events and decisions from earlier books. Feeling as though you are a part of their world, you will not want to put this book down! And just when you think you know what will happen next, in true Patricia Cornwell fashion you will be amazed at the turn of events leading to the end. Most certainly one that you won't want to miss!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ENTHRALLING and CAPTIVATING!

    Fascinating characters, Kay Scarpetta,forensics, Lucy Farinelli, forensic researcher,work on a number of cases, one of which is Hannah Star, missing and assumed dead....INTENSE, EXCITING READ!

    Another few that kept me motivated, excited, entertained and feeling GOOD FEELINGS were, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, by Linda Pirrung, 206 BONES, THE HELP...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Cornwell Never Disappoints

    What I love about reading a new Patricia Cornwell novel is that, besides the great plot line and well developed characters, you can also be sure to take away from it some new insight into forensic science and technical advancements. For techies like me it's always an added bonus to also learn something new, while being wrapped up in a suspenseful page turner- and once again Cornwell delivers on all counts. I can't wait to read her next Scarpetta novel and to see what new individuals she may introduce us to and down what unexplored avenues she might lead us next!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    The Scarpetta Factor is a 10

    "The Scarpetta Factor" is like no other in the Dr. Kay Scarpetta series. Patricia Cornwell reaches into Kay's past and brings back a haunting reality. Dr. Kay and the ones that are involved in her everday life, Benton, Lucy and Marino, are thrown into a mystery looking for a missing person, solving a murder, and living the crazy everyday life. Never seeing the past coming back to destroy their lives once again. One of the best Dr. Kay Scrapetta novels yet, Patricia Cornwell has taken her readers to a place they have never been , yet keeping them deep in the past that makes Kay, Kay Scarpetta. The Scarpetta Factor is a must read for all Patricia fans!Having all Patricia's books, her work is amazing, you see yourself in the enviroment, taking the clues, solving the crimes right along side Dr. Kay. Each new book Patricia's work becomes more evolved wrapped in todays events and keeps you wanting more. I'm ready for number 18.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Not recommended

    Much too much technical and medical details crammed in; so much so that I would occasionally lose track of the characters and the actual plot. I managed to wade through all of the non-essential technicality to get to the end and was left hanging. The ending was terribly flat and abrupt. I had stopped reading Cornwell several years ago and will not read any more of her works.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed!

    I've always enjoyed reading Pat Cornwell's Scarpetta novels, however I must say with deep regret that I was very disappointed with The Scarpetta Factor. In her earlier novels she took the time to develope the characters and create chilling plots, but this story is bland with repetitive themes and dull characters. With all that said, The Scarpetta Factor makes for a depressing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Truly Boring

    I have read all the Kay Scarpetta books and I must say that this was a disappointment. There was too much jammed into this one book, too many different stories being told at once. Confusing, really hard to follow. I think I will pass on the next one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Bored

    I read this book to the end, even though I was bored to death from the beginning. Too much moving from one place to another. I've read other Cornwell books and enjoyed them, but not this one. Try again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Scarpetta is almost back!

    With every addition to the Scarpetta series you see a little more of the "old" Kay Scarpetta coming back. The past few novels in this series I have missed the strong Scarpetta of old. In this installment we see a little of that peeking through. I also loved to see her cooking again. Patricia Cornwell is a master story teller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Very Disappointed

    I have read some of the previous Scarpetta novels and enjoyed them. This one was too long. There was too much detail given, referring back to previous books, for just about all the characters. Too much detail also given for some of the procedures or processes they were doing, even the food cooked at the end. On the flip side, the conflict between Lucy & Berger was built up and then all of a sudden all better in one short sentence. Also with Dodie & Carley, build them up, they disappear and then a small blurb at the end. I just feel this could have been written with one hundred pages less, still giving the reader a good book and detail to areas that really needed it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Dreadful reading

    I have always been a Patricia Cornwell fan. Her latest book was an extreme disappointment. Many times I found myself thinking...didn't she just tell me this before? She jumped from one character's perspective and time period too often, repeating a scenario she just described. I could only read a couple of chapters at a time before falling asleep. And, after reading more than 3/4 of the book, I didn't even finish reading it--I sold back online. Good riddance.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Worst book Cornwell has written.

    I have read all of the Scarpetta books. While they have gotten progressivley worse over time, this book has sunk to a new low. Cornwell spends 75% of her writing focused on the petty hatreds, misunderstandings, and worries of her characters. There is almost no action. The reader slogs through 350 pages before some semblance of a plot emerges. It is hard to believe that Cornwell is writing about mature, intelligent adults who have worked together for a long time. They behave more like spoiled children. I keep hoping that the stories will return to the action and mystery that characterized Conrnwell's first several books, but that clearly has not happened.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2009

    Scarpetta Factor Really Exists

    On a four hour flight to Aruba I was totally emerged into the latest novel written by Patricia Cornwell. When I had to disembark I couldn't wait to get to the hotel to continue following my favorite characters and what was happening in their lives. I have enjoyed how the author has developed each and every character. Although I must admit I have been a bit disappointed in Benton's new job. Nevertheless, I did catch a ray of hope at the end of the book, when Kay gave a warning to "Special Agent Wesley". Perhaps in the next book he will be back with the FBI and have more danger in their lives as they did in the past. I still consider Ms. Cornwell my most favorite author. It is evident that she does a great deal of research on all aspects of her books, whether it be the location the story is set in, or current event hot items that she intertwines into the story. I believe the Scarpetta Factor does exist because it truly kept me enthralled through out the book. One final comment is it was hard for me as I read to picture Angelina Joli in the role of Kay Scarpetta.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 517 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26