Customer Reviews for

Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Awesome collection!

    What's astounding about this book is that it is so much more profound than the title suggests. A friend of mine reccomended it to me and I was a little pessimistic when he told me the title. There isn't one dud in this whole collection. I would be shocked if these two talented writers didn't make it to the big leagues. Two of my favorite tales were 'Them Bats is Smart, They Use Radar' by David Whitman (an insanely funny story) and 'Fishes Dream of Lonely Things' by Weston Ochse (this one really got underneath my skin. Other stories I enjoyed were 'Silence' and 'Night of the Hunters'. If this book doesn't become a mainstream hit, something is just wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    A must read!

    This book is one of the most entertaining collections of short stories I have ever read. 22 different tales that cover a wide range of horrific and hillarious situations. There's comedy, gore, terror, suspense, not to mention several very touching and sensitive moments. This book is in no way a collection that just perpetuates the typical American view of Southern folk. It is very insightful, and written in a respectful way by two people that know how to make fun and compliment a person in the same sentence. Particular gems to look for are David Whitman's 'Them Bats is Smart, They use Radar', and Weston Ochse's 'Great Appalachian Easter Feud.' I can't reccommend this book enough. You will not regret buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Great Collection!

    I really enjoyed reading this collection of short stories. I expected great horror stories and a bit of parody, but what I didn't expect was to be laughing out loud throughout many of the stories. They were a delight to read, and you'll remember the characters long after you've finished the book. I highly recommend it for fans on horror and dark humor. These authors are two guys to watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    You Can't Go Wrong With This Unique Book

    When I first received my copy of Scary Rednecks and Other Inbred Horrors hot off the presses from DarkTales Publications, I expected to be disappointed. The trade paperback style book looks great, complete with a rusted-out, bullet-ridden jalopy (spray painted with ¿Jesus Saves¿¿a nice touch) on the cover, but an entire book of stories which consisted of some sort of freakish cross between Hee-Haw and The Exorcist sounded far from entertaining. I couldn¿t have been more wrong. Whitman and Ochse have created an anthology of short fiction that is both inventive and broad in scope. The characters are rich and well-developed, and the ¿Redneck¿ mentioned in the title is a far cry from the traditional stereotype. Southern culture is explored in the book from several diverse points of view, and always with a cultural respect, even considering the ribbon of humor that runs through the loosely related short stories. Each is original and entertaining in its own right, ranging from dark, whimsical fantasy to terrifying horror, but taken together the stories provide an interesting insight into a uniquely American way of life based on honor, pride, and tradition. In ¿Circus Clowns and Elephant Cracks¿ by David Whitman, Judd, one of the books more memorable characters, ponders the meaning of life while dangling helplessly upside-down from the back of a rampaging elephant, his face repeatedly pounding against the giant animal¿s testicles. The same character was bitten on the penis by a rattlesnake in an earlier story, leaving his three good friends to argue over which one will be required to suck out the poison. A kind of ¿lovable loser,¿ Judd (and his buddies) are an example of dark comedy at it¿s finest. Weston Ochse¿s eerily disturbing ¿Sweet Little Piggy¿ is about a huge, malformed, albino child with a cleft lip and an uncanny ability to sense the painful thoughts of those around her, which she translates into drawings. The reader comes to appreciate her other, more lethal abilities also. ¿Catfish Gods,¿ also by Ochse, is a moving story about a young boy and his best friend fishing on a summer day. A very special kind of catfish is waiting, deep beneath the water¿s surface, for Trey, the main character. Superficially the story seems to be a simple tale of the supernatural, but in reality it deals with many different issues on many different levels, including the importance of childhood friendships (and childhood memories), the depth of childhood imagination and belief in the legends and myths created by adults, and the way children view death. One story, ¿Night of the Hunters,¿ was written as a collaborative effort between the two authors. The tale is both humorous and terrifying, and puts a whole new spin on the hunter becoming the hunted. This is just a small sample of the twenty-one stories in Scary Rednecks. In any anthology this size I would normally expect at least two or three ¿filler stories¿¿stories that really don¿t quite make the cut but are used to bring the book to an acceptable length¿but not here. Each and every story is entertaining, with both well-developed plots and characters which engender the reader¿s empathy (or sympathy). I give Scary Rednecks and Other Inbred Horrors my highest possible recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

    Once a year, the field of horror literature produces a short story, novel, anthology or collection that pushes the limits, breaks new ground and raises the genre to new heights. SCARY REDNECKS AND OTHER INBRED HORRORS is such a book. Whitman and Ochse have done an outstanding job of delivering some truly unforgettable tales. Their voice is unique, a mix of Edward Lee, Tom Piccirilli, Nietzsche, Sam Kinison, and Steinbeck. Place those ingredients in a blender, shake well, and the result is this book. Packed with horrific visions, wonderful prose, creepy atmosphere and TONS of bawdy humor, I cannot rave enough about this collection. Truly the first great horror book of 2000 and an impressive debut from DarkTales Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Brilliant collection!!!!!Funny AND Dark.

    I sort of got this on a whim. I read a couple of Whitman's short stories on the net and I liked his style. I was totally not prepared for how damn good this collection. The first story had me on the floor with laughter. I was at school reading it and I was actually embarassed at how hard I was laughing. I can honestly say that some of the stories are the among the funniest I have ever read. The energy is unbelievable. Whitman's 'I Saw Renny Killing Santa Claus' is fantastic. It manages to be a little subversive and yet it still has heart. Ochse 'Great Apalachian Outhouse Feud' stands on equal ground as well. Funny and clever as hell. Just when I thought I had bought a collection of comedies I was knocked for a loop. The dark side of this book was surprising. 'Catfish Gods' by Weston Ochse brought back so many memories of my childhood. What a gem. Whitman's 'Silence' is easily one of the best horror stories I have read in a long time. I guarantee you it will be a classic. I didnt even get into some of the re-ocurring characters that exist in this collection either. I loved the dialogue, which was very tongue in cheek--and disarmingly intelligent. You can feel a streak of John Steinbeck in it. I *KNOW* these two young writers are destined for greatness. This book is a true collector's item. Awesome and unique collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

    same time. Probably one of the most interesting authors I have ever read- the stories stick with you vividly forever...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    TONGUE IN CHEEK?

    ...you betcha. The title shouldn't scare you away, because it's a theme and not a redneck slamdance. There's humor, atmosphere, and downright, youbetcha chills. I read it in one sitting 'cause I couldn't put it down. Buy two and give one to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

    This book is an excellent read. A perfect blend of the light and dark side of horror. It is difficult to include some recommended titles and are related, because there isn't quite anything that will prepare you for the sharpness of David Whitman. ENJOY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Scary Rednecks: And Other Inbred Horrors

    Scary Rednecks and Other Inbred Horrors is the funniest, most original thing to hit the horror world in years. A collection of fiction from rising stars David Whitman & Weston Ochse, it will make you laugh on one sentence and shuder on the next. From story to story you will never know what to expect. BUY IT!!! READ IT!!! YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1