Customer Reviews for

A Scary Scene in a Scary Movie

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    You must get your hands on this book!

    Funny and realistic, with exceptionally memorable characters. Beautifully constructed with twists and turns. Sure to become a national bestseller in the first few weeks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    A CAPTIVATING PLEASURE!

    MATT BLACKSTONE HAS WRITTEN A FUNNY STORY WITH A FRESH APPROACH TO UNDERSTANDING OF WHAT IT TAKES TO GO THROUGH THE GROWING PAINS OF BEING A YOUNG ADULT OF TODAY. IT SHOULD BE USED AS A GUIDE TO GROWING UP! A GREAT BOOK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Excellent piece of literature - I highly recommend you check it out !

    "A Scary Scene in a Scary Movie" by Matt Blackstone is an attention grabbing , life changing book. While i was reading this book, my mind opened to see things i never thought possible, the simple yet mind blowing structure is what made this book an absolute joy to read. I especially loved reading about the lives of the various characters and their emotions. As a high school student, I found this book both enjoyable and easy to relate to. I can assure anyone whom decides to read this book, will certainly not regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    This author gives a voice to a new generation of writers

    This book must be read immediately. Matt Blackstone creates a novel that speaks to the hearts of people everywhere. Rene is character that is inherently inside of everyone. I found myself getting emotionally involved in the story and its characters. This book is a must-read for anyone that has ever dared to dream. Do yourself a favor, read this book now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    A Entertaining piece of literature

    Reading this novel made me more attracted to reading because of the "high school" jargon and it's consistent plot throughout the book. A Scary Scene in a Scary Movie is very well written book that is not monotonous so you will not force yourself to read it but instead you will actually want to read it and finish it. The cast of characters are realistic with a protagonist being someone we would all know in real life as the kid we have known for years and never even bothered to learn their name. I would definitely recommend this book to a friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    You can HEAR what you READ

    The author's voice is clear and compelling...you trust it...it is honest, funny and real. His ear for dialogue is so true that you can hear his characters speaking into your ear as you read his book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    you'll be rooting for rene all the way through

    matt blackstone is a talented new writer who brings the angst of being rene to us on each page of a scary scene in a scary movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down!

    An honest, hilarious, thrilling story about an atypical teenage outcast. I was lucky enough to read an advanced copy, which I couldn't put down. I can't wait to buy the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Highly Recommended - a GREAT read!

    This debut author draws in the reader by evoking a full range of emotions, strong character development and imagery that one can almost touch and feel; you won't be able to put it down until you reach the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    A refreshing read. After reading several books that did not capture my attention, this one stood out. A fantastic, hysterical story that is perfect for all ages, especially young adults fans. Recommend this to your friends- it is a book you do not want to miss!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK!!

    "A Scary Scene In A Scary Movie" by Matt Blackstone is a life changing story not only for teens, but also for adults. As a teen I feel like I can relate to this story so much.From the moment I opened and read the first sentence of this book I was attracted and wanted to read more, more and more.This book is filled with excitement and many conflicts with the main characters. I'm sure this book will open your mind up and make you experienced friendship in different ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Entertaining,Funny.and the Life of a Teenager

    Reading this book made me actually want to read. I'm not a big fan in reading and staying interested in one book; but, this novel kept me interested the whole way through. This has problems that teenagers go through with life and school. As for me, I can connect to it because I'm the person in the background like Rene. I believe that is why I stayed reading it to the end. It's a MUST have and you won't regret buying it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Funny And Intriguing

    Reading this book made me laugh and expand how i would handle situations and think. Throughout this book, the author used the mind of a real teenager and made it funny . This book made me want too continue reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    fun quirky charachters

    This book was a very fun read. The author took eccentric characters and really brought them to life. Although they seem different, I think everyone can relate to them in some way and that's the brilliance of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Best Young Adult Book I've Read All Year

    Matt Blackstone's debut novel is funny, clever, suspenseful...an absolute joy to read! I can say with certainty that this is the best young adult book I've read all year. Just preordered a bunch for my students. They will LOVE this!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Blackstone's Debut Has The X-Factor

    In this contemporary YA novel, Matt Blackstone delivers a pitch-perfect depiction of life for a teenager struggling with OCD.

    I awaited the release of this novel for months, and am happy to report it exceeded all expectations. The comical tale does more than keep readers laughing and flipping pages with anticipation; it offers insight to a population most of us cannot understand. OCD is not an illness that attacks organs or makes someone feel ill - it is a mental disease that controls the brain, preventing victims from experiencing the same quality of life the rest of us often take for granted.

    As both a reader and educator, I was thrilled to see an author tackle a topic needing more attention. It's encouraging to see a portal for teens to gain insight about their socially awkward classmate or the neighbor who spends weekends performing 'odd' rituals. Knowledge is essential for tolerance and acceptance to permeate; it is the key ingredient for understanding the foundation of behaviors and personalities we may not understand.

    Blackstone nailed the character of Rene, never once deviating from the mindset of an OCD teen. That fourth wall was sealed to perfection. Through his developed supporting characters, the reader is taken through the reactions of multiple outsiders - those who are compassionate and understanding, and those who target individuals they consider 'different'.

    A Scary Scene in A Scary Movie is a book that makes you think. It guides readers to view situations from multiple perspectives while laying the foundation for personal reflection and meaningful discussion. I recommend this book to anyone seeking an engaging story bound to hold your attention. I especially recommend it for educators and reluctant teen readers.

    Having worked as a public school teacher, I most enjoyed the scenes taking place in Rene's high school - his interactions with teachers and classmates kept me nodding in agreement, and of course, the inferences I pulled regarding educational issues delivered feelings of nostalgia.

    This book grabbed me on the first page. I immediately developed an interest and personal connection to Rene. I never considered him a character; instead, he was a real person with a story I needed to hear. I love a book that makes me feel, think, and learn. Despite being housed under the young adult umbrella, this book provides readers of all ages those exact opportunities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Great read! A wonderful insight into the inner workings of kids!

    When I was first recommended this book by a friend, I was wary and disinclined - why would I read a young adult book over the summer?! I'm a teacher and I felt exhausted already from dealing with kids over the long academic year. But he recommended it highly and as I just got a Nook (awesome!) I figured I'll give it a try. Boy am I glad I did! Blackstone offers a deeply insightful account of the inner workings of a kid's thought processes - how insecure, confident, superstitious, grasping, fragile, super-heroic and, well...cool it really is. My buddy said that Blackstone was a teacher and it shows - his character drawing of Rene could only be done by someone who knows kids well and understands what they are thinking - as a matter of fact, it seemed that I thought exactly the same way when I was a teenager...that he was reading my adolescent mind. Great job - his strong character sketches really engaged me! This seems to be the author's first book, but I would definitely read another by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1