Customer Reviews for

Scary Stories that Scream to be Read

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

New Stories for a New Generation by a 4/5 grade teacher

I grew up reading Schwartz's "Scary Stories to Read in the Dark." I loved every story--scaring myself one page and laughing the next. I was surprised when years later, now an elementary school teacher, that those were still the only kid-friendly scary stories around. Th...
I grew up reading Schwartz's "Scary Stories to Read in the Dark." I loved every story--scaring myself one page and laughing the next. I was surprised when years later, now an elementary school teacher, that those were still the only kid-friendly scary stories around. They are still great--but come on, the kids need something new.

Well, now they have two wonderful collections to choose from. O. Penn-Coughin (Joseph Kehoe) has written a set of stories that makes kids read and adults happy. My reluctant readers want to keep reading. Mr. Kehoe has made reading easier by bolding and then defining key vocabulary. He also has placed the settings of many stories in real true historical times and events. Finally, he has stories that include Spanish phrases and folklore. It makes the stories more approachable for all of my students. They learn while they shiver.

Mr. Kehoe is also a fantastic author to invite to your schools. As Mr. O. Penn-Coughin, he reads his stories chillingly-well. He also focuses on what it takes to be a writer--and how to improve your writing. Mr Kehoe/O. Penn-Coughin has become a role-model that the children refer back to over and over.

posted by JSpeed on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Weird!

This book wasn't scary at all! Though I honestly had fun with it. Though most agree with me. Lets just say its a funny type of scary. Like in one of the stories they say to laugh until the person next to starts to laugh...ehich I thought was fun to play out!!

posted by 5575144 on May 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    New Stories for a New Generation by a 4/5 grade teacher

    I grew up reading Schwartz's "Scary Stories to Read in the Dark." I loved every story--scaring myself one page and laughing the next. I was surprised when years later, now an elementary school teacher, that those were still the only kid-friendly scary stories around. They are still great--but come on, the kids need something new.

    Well, now they have two wonderful collections to choose from. O. Penn-Coughin (Joseph Kehoe) has written a set of stories that makes kids read and adults happy. My reluctant readers want to keep reading. Mr. Kehoe has made reading easier by bolding and then defining key vocabulary. He also has placed the settings of many stories in real true historical times and events. Finally, he has stories that include Spanish phrases and folklore. It makes the stories more approachable for all of my students. They learn while they shiver.

    Mr. Kehoe is also a fantastic author to invite to your schools. As Mr. O. Penn-Coughin, he reads his stories chillingly-well. He also focuses on what it takes to be a writer--and how to improve your writing. Mr Kehoe/O. Penn-Coughin has become a role-model that the children refer back to over and over.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    I'm Still Screaming!

    I was lucky(???) enough to hear O. Penn-Coughin ("open coffin") read some of these stories in person. "Yo Mama's Right Here" is to die for! I still get nightmares from time to time. Some of my other favorites are "The Clown from Down Under," "Into the Woods," "The Old Woman," and "Hot Heads of Jalapeno Canyon." Some of the stories are funny and others make you scream. There are some where you feel the author is just messing with your head. But that's cool too. You never know what to expect. And that's how I like my scary stories. I highly recommend "They're Coming For You." And I highly recommend you leave a light on!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    O. Penn-Coughin breaths life into the terrifying genre of horror!! A MUST READ!

    They're Coming For You: Stories that Scream to be Read is an out-of-this-universe creepy delight! In the season of macabre, this book is full of classic stories - perfect for classrooms, sleepovers and campfires! Jan Boemann was right! "I have seen the face of horror, and it's name is O. Penn-Coughin. Well said, Jan.

    Alvin Schwartz's books are a family favorite, but the pages are worn thin. O. Penn-Coughin breaths life again into the terrifying genre of horror, for whole new generations to enjoy. I can't recommend it enough. The combination of horror, humor, and haunts is enough to delight any reader. (the illustrations are to die for.)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    O.Penn Coughin

    This book, out of all the scary stories I've read, was probably the best. It was not scary enough to give a two year old nightmares, but it was scary enough to give you, and I quote 'Da Chicken Skin.' I have all of O. Penn Coughin's Scary Stories That Sream to be Read series, including the special edition Valentine's Day book with short novel at the end. Once again, O. Penn Coughin's scary stories series os one of the best by far in my opinion.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    love it so much!

    i love te series,sary stories to read in the dark.thats why i love this book.i got to admit,one or two stories were boring.you gotta bebable to handle a good scare to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    Patch up your walls! By Rachel, 4th grader

    Hi, my name is Rachel. I am in the 4th grade. If you are looking for a scary story this is the one. O. Penn-Coughin is the best writer ever! You can read his books for hours. Not put your mind into this book and listen. I encourage you to read these books.

    El Cuco might come through your wall tonight, if you don't read this book. You might see little Johnny in the sack. Or maybe he will choose to eat your first. Who will be eaten first, little Johnny or You? So, patch up your holes. Good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Scary.?

    I think this is the BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    cool!

    its great but how do i delete it?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    great

    great scary and good!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dead Scary

    If the dead could read, they'd be scared of this book. You should be too because... they're coming for you. This book is a lot of fun. It's not big on blood and guts, so if that's your thing, best look elsewhere. The stories in "They're Coming For You" have an old-school creepiness that hits the spot. And your funny bone will take a few shots too. It's perfect to read alone or for putting on your own creep show. And don't forget the sequel... They're Coming For You 2: More Scary Stories that Scream to be Read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    good

    Best book eevr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    christyherndez54@gmail.com

    Add me :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Jjj

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Awsome

    Oh shut up!Ya I may be a 4th grader but i know a good book when i read 1!YOU WOULDNT KNOW A GOOD BOOK IF IT CAME AND CRACKED YOUR HEAD OPEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Shold i get it

    Is it like super scary or should i get it cause im only 9

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Cool

    Scary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Wow

    I do not remember when i was ever on the edge of my seat lke that like seiously it made likf finish the bookvunder and hour i love and i know you will too i love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Ich conf┬┐s

    Vas din dis ¿nglisch?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Kanakitta┬┐

    Say your name 5 times. Say Tsukar¿n¿ mikelaa karmea no¿r 5 times. Post this to 5 other books.Dig a hole and write your wish, than bury it. If you don't do it, the monsters from ¿r¿fll¿h will kill or injure you when you least suspect it. Kanakitt¿ is my name. If your name starts with G, you will be killed. Write ¿¿€¿ ¿r!?¿ /!f€ on a wall somewhere. You will not get hurt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Clowns

    I thought the ones with the clowns were desturbing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you want to see real desturbing clowns go to google images and look up scary killer clowns- x.n.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4