BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 11, 2014

    These are great books, that's not why I rated them so low. I'm p

    These are great books, that's not why I rated them so low. I'm pretty disappointed, however, that the publisher felt the need to change the illustrations that made these books so great (and scary) for so many generations. I grew up with these books and wasn't excited to see them changed recently when I went to buy them. Were they too scary? Isn't that the point of the stories in the first place? Stop trying to sugar-coat the world so that kids can't even have a good scare anymore without some parent complaining about their kids having nightmares and being afraid of the dark. It's a crippling thought that younger generations are so sheltered against having a real experience anymore.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! I have the whole collection. I am glad I boug

    I loved this book! I have the whole collection. I am glad I bought them before they changed the outer covers that they sell with today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Provides everything but the scare

    Which is not a bad thing! These are some very familiar, in some cases, very OLD, spooky stories of the kinds that kids and grownups have been telling around campfires from time immemorial. The style and tropes of story-telling have changed over the centuries, even over decades, so some of these seem a little pointless, or fall flat, when you just read them out of the book to yourself. But if you get the dramatization right, the timing, the hushing of voice, the expression of your eyes, just right - and the only light flickers just inside your little circle of wide-eyed listeners, with darkness and mystery looming right over your shoulders - some of these stories will have sleeping bags scrunched VERY close together for the rest of the night. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants some great spooky slumber party or campfire stories to scare the bejeezus out of your audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Bought for my grandson who loves scary stories. He loves it and would recommend it to anyone interested in scary stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    SCARY STORIES CHILL MY BONES

    Scary stories chill my bones the one story I loved is called the hook! The main characters are Donald and Sarah. The hook is about a boy and girl who go to the movies and heard some murder was on the loose with a hook for a hand it was very frightening and a real bone chiller. Another one of my favorites is called The Big Toe. It's main Character is a little boy that digs up a big toe and later that night he ate it for dinner. This one is my very favorite of them all It's called Cold as Clay. The main characters are a farmer his daughter and his daughter's love Jim. Now the daughter got sent away and while she was gone he died. I'm not telling any more so read it if you dare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Great for older kids!

    I loved this collection when I was in late elementary/early middle school. I remember my 5th grade homeroom teacher letting me read these stories to my class and scaring the snot out of them.

    I've read that these books have been banned in many schools due to the "disturbing artwork" and the fact that the stories are too scary. The bottom line is this: Know your kids. I really don't think they're inappropriate for older kids, such as 4th grade and up, but they would be too intense for younger kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy

    Haven't read this in years. The short stories are creepy and some you might recognize. What makes it even more creepy is the drawings. Definitely worth reading, especially on Halloween.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Are You Scared Yet?

    Are you scared yet.? That's just one of the many horrifying lines that Alvin Schwartz writes. Each story makes you want to scream like my favorite story. Its about these 3 brothers. They are home alone with there baby sitter, when the phone rings and everything goes dark. Theres footsteps slowly creeping down the steps when out of no where..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite scary books.

    This book is so scary that kids and parents will like it to. Now what I really wanted to say is that this book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    love this book!!

    When I was about nine I found this book in my school library. I absolutely loved it. That was sixteen years ago and I still enjoy it. I'm a childrens lead at Barnes and Noble and I always recommend this book to the older kids if there looking for a scary book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scary Book

    The Book is gruesome, filled with many stories. Stories that make you laugh and be afraid. Amazing drawings and story (or multiple stories), but i dont know if getting scared is a good lesson? Or not? The book is very short and can probably be read in an hour and a half, with normal-big size writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still Love it!

    I absolutely love all the books in this collection. I first read these books when I was 9 years old. That was almost 20 years ago. They stayed in my collection throughout the years because these stories stayed with me. I am actually writing this review because I'm buying the series for my daughter. I can't even pick a favorite because I love them all, they are some of the spookiest stories I have ever read, and let me tell you, I have read a lot of spooky books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    BOOK REVIEW FOR SCARY STORIES TO TELL IN THE DARK- ALVIN SCHWARTZ (DON'T READ)

    I read Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz. I would give this book a three out of 5 star rating. I give it this rating because the book was a good idea mainly because of the fact that it involves the reader(s) participation other than just picking it up and reading it, what I mean is that at the end of a story or when the story reaches a climax, the book tells you to scream at the audience or something like that. It is also full of poems and songs along with stories and "creepy" tales. I gave it the second star because it was somewhat creepy. but Alvin Schwartz definately could've written the stories with more detail.
    For that reason, I didn't like the book. It made for an extremely boring read because it was like a 5th grader wrote it. It was probably meant for 4th graders, but that doesn't mean that it can't be written less boringly if that's a word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    This collection never gets old!

    i remember reading these in elementary school just to scare the crap out of all my friends. Today reading these stories i am still creeped out but i love it! This collection of books will never get old. Its a great book for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    Creepy and Love It

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. The book has a few scary and mystery stories. My favorite scary story is " There Is Room For One More". My favorite mystery story is "The Babysitter". I think kids ages 7 and up should read this. This is the best book ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Scary Story Review

    The Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark was awful; and I¿ll tell you why. One of the stories is about screaming, bloody heads dropping from a fireplace. Another is about a boy who finds a hairy toe in the ground, and it¿s not connected to a body! The rest of the stories have the same affect on me; they all were terrifying to me! It¿s fine to read the book, if you want to sleep with one eye open for a month! Keep this book away from little children! Reading this book left me wanting to burn it on a cold day! DON¿T READ IT!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spooky Tales Indeed

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark: Collected from American Folklore was the first horror short stories that I've ever read. And it totally scared the crap out of me. I loved reading it during Halloween time. These tales are wicked great spine chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    dsfsd

    sdfsdf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    very scary

    short stories that are really scary and give you chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    KAYLA

    I love love love this book...I used to read this book to my little cousins about 10yrs ago... they still to this day talk about how fun it was when they slept over and i would read this book to them in the dark with a flashlight! This book helped to created some really fun memories! Now i have a daughter who gets a kick out of being scared, so i will pass down the fun to her:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3