Customer Reviews for

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    I loved this book! I have the whole collection. I am glad I boug

    I loved this book! I have the whole collection. I am glad I bought them before they changed the outer covers that they sell with today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    SCARY STORIES CHILL MY BONES

    Scary stories chill my bones the one story I loved is called the hook! The main characters are Donald and Sarah. The hook is about a boy and girl who go to the movies and heard some murder was on the loose with a hook for a hand it was very frightening and a real bone chiller. Another one of my favorites is called The Big Toe. It's main Character is a little boy that digs up a big toe and later that night he ate it for dinner. This one is my very favorite of them all It's called Cold as Clay. The main characters are a farmer his daughter and his daughter's love Jim. Now the daughter got sent away and while she was gone he died. I'm not telling any more so read it if you dare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Great for older kids!

    I loved this collection when I was in late elementary/early middle school. I remember my 5th grade homeroom teacher letting me read these stories to my class and scaring the snot out of them.

    I've read that these books have been banned in many schools due to the "disturbing artwork" and the fact that the stories are too scary. The bottom line is this: Know your kids. I really don't think they're inappropriate for older kids, such as 4th grade and up, but they would be too intense for younger kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Are You Scared Yet?

    Are you scared yet.? That's just one of the many horrifying lines that Alvin Schwartz writes. Each story makes you want to scream like my favorite story. Its about these 3 brothers. They are home alone with there baby sitter, when the phone rings and everything goes dark. Theres footsteps slowly creeping down the steps when out of no where..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite scary books.

    This book is so scary that kids and parents will like it to. Now what I really wanted to say is that this book is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    love this book!!

    When I was about nine I found this book in my school library. I absolutely loved it. That was sixteen years ago and I still enjoy it. I'm a childrens lead at Barnes and Noble and I always recommend this book to the older kids if there looking for a scary book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still Love it!

    I absolutely love all the books in this collection. I first read these books when I was 9 years old. That was almost 20 years ago. They stayed in my collection throughout the years because these stories stayed with me. I am actually writing this review because I'm buying the series for my daughter. I can't even pick a favorite because I love them all, they are some of the spookiest stories I have ever read, and let me tell you, I have read a lot of spooky books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    This collection never gets old!

    i remember reading these in elementary school just to scare the crap out of all my friends. Today reading these stories i am still creeped out but i love it! This collection of books will never get old. Its a great book for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    Creepy and Love It

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. The book has a few scary and mystery stories. My favorite scary story is " There Is Room For One More". My favorite mystery story is "The Babysitter". I think kids ages 7 and up should read this. This is the best book ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spooky Tales Indeed

    Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark: Collected from American Folklore was the first horror short stories that I've ever read. And it totally scared the crap out of me. I loved reading it during Halloween time. These tales are wicked great spine chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    KAYLA

    I love love love this book...I used to read this book to my little cousins about 10yrs ago... they still to this day talk about how fun it was when they slept over and i would read this book to them in the dark with a flashlight! This book helped to created some really fun memories! Now i have a daughter who gets a kick out of being scared, so i will pass down the fun to her:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    this book is outstanding

    it make your skin crawl, you can't go anywhere with looking around after reading this book some people think it crazy but/ it delerious it doesn't make in sense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    Bone Chilling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is really scary. This is probably the scariest book i've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    SOOOOOOOOO!!!SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is scary!My friend Benjamin has read all the books but not this one.I read this book in the dark to be really scared!I read the other Scary Stories in my library too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2001

    Keep a light on!!!

    Very Scary!! These stories chill you to the bone. I love scary stories as well as ghost books and I have read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    I remember the days...

    ... when I was 7 or 8, after repeatedly checking out this book at the school library, sitting under a dark staircase of what we truly believed to be a haunted apartment complex, holding a dim flashlight with a trembling hand, reading aloud to each other the terrifying contents of this book. I remember the nights, lying in bed with my head under the covers, reading to myself while clutching the book in one hand and my security blanket in the other, gasping at every distant sound made from the haunted old apartment I used to live in, thinking the stories were coming to real. This book truly scared the bejesus out of me! :x

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2000

    Really good

    I really reccommend this book. The cover is scary and so are the stories and illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    Best series of stories ever.

    This book will chill your bones up and down your spinal cord. Alvin Schwartz is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    extrodinary

    a well put scary stories, it cool to read in the dark and especialy to tell to your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Very Scary

    While not literary masterpieces they are entertaining, scary pieces of folklore both ancient and modern. They scared me, some of them to this day and I haven't read the stories in years. A frightening collection indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2