Customer Reviews for

Scat

Average Rating 4.5
( 471 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(304)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Scat- a great story!!

Nick Waters and his friend, Marta, go to the private Truman School in Florida.Everything is pretty normal there; average students, a few nasty teachers (like the biology teacher, Mrs.Starch.) and the known school bully-trouble maker, Duane Scrod Jr.
But a few days befo...
Nick Waters and his friend, Marta, go to the private Truman School in Florida.Everything is pretty normal there; average students, a few nasty teachers (like the biology teacher, Mrs.Starch.) and the known school bully-trouble maker, Duane Scrod Jr.
But a few days before Nick's Biology class goes on a field trip to the Black Vine Swamp, an incident occurs. Duane becomes very mad at Mrs.Starch for humiliating him in front of the class and eats her pencil right out of her hand! Tehn he storms out of the class room and doesn't come back to school for awhile.

When Nick and Marta's class goes to the Black Vine Swamp, a small wildfire breaks out. Everyone is ordered to leave. But, Mrs. Starch stays behind to retrieve a student's inhaler. She goes missing. later, it is found out that the fire was arson and not an accidnet. What is going on? Where did Mrs.Starhc go, and does it involve Duane? Read to find out!!

It starts out slow, but gets better. I like the theme and where it takes place. A very good book; great for kids and pre-teens to read.

posted by kaitlyn97 on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ok

The book was ok not the best It was slow and easy I didnt like that the book was a jumble of parts divided into sections but it was good Average age group is 9-11

posted by 8625394 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Scat- a great story!!

    Nick Waters and his friend, Marta, go to the private Truman School in Florida.Everything is pretty normal there; average students, a few nasty teachers (like the biology teacher, Mrs.Starch.) and the known school bully-trouble maker, Duane Scrod Jr.
    But a few days before Nick's Biology class goes on a field trip to the Black Vine Swamp, an incident occurs. Duane becomes very mad at Mrs.Starch for humiliating him in front of the class and eats her pencil right out of her hand! Tehn he storms out of the class room and doesn't come back to school for awhile.

    When Nick and Marta's class goes to the Black Vine Swamp, a small wildfire breaks out. Everyone is ordered to leave. But, Mrs. Starch stays behind to retrieve a student's inhaler. She goes missing. later, it is found out that the fire was arson and not an accidnet. What is going on? Where did Mrs.Starhc go, and does it involve Duane? Read to find out!!

    It starts out slow, but gets better. I like the theme and where it takes place. A very good book; great for kids and pre-teens to read.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Wow

    Great book with amazing plots and characters i highly recommend it

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    It's For Everyone

    Scat, by Carl Hiassen, is another young adult book that entertains. It has a combination of variety in settings and characters, and a strong plot, and is his best book yet.
    The book has a complex plot with many small details that slowly tie together. The main issues are to bust an illegal oil drilling operation and to return a panther cub to its mother.
    There are a wide variety of characters, including the noble teenage hero, a tough biology teacher, and the idiotic, short-tempered antagonist.
    The book has many interesting settings, such as a wet, misty swamp, a creepy house in the wilderness, and a reputable school. Paris, France, Iraq, and Texas are not visited but are significant to the story.
    Overall, Hiassen has written a great book that closely resembles his earlier works for children. It's good variety and plot make it a perfect addition to anyone's library.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    awesome

    this is the best book ever along wilth all the other books written by this author

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excited

    Sounds good. i cant wait to read it. I hope it is as good as Flush and Hoot!!!

    12 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    This book rocks

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Scat

    The book is about martha and nick go looking for their biology teacher in a swamp.
    LOVE THE ALL THE BOOKS

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Scat

    The best mystery book i've ever read i luv this book sooooooo much

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Ok

    The book was ok not the best
    It was slow and easy
    I didnt like that the book was a jumble of parts divided into sections but it was good
    Average age group is 9-11

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    GOOD

    Its a good book. Its just good though. Nothing extra special. However, I like the storyline.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Book

    Love tis book scat means poop lol

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is gr8! I recommend it 2 any1 who has been 2 Florida. It teaches you about some of the natural resources there without giving a boting read. This book has a mysterious touch! If you like adventures or mysteries this book is for you!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    The Best Book Ever!!!!!

    It was a book that cept me on the edge of my the whole time i read it i couldn't put it down. "Smoke" is the bulley or so they think. Who started the fire? Where is Mrs.Starch? You need to read the book to find out

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    One of the BEST books ever!

    I read this at the same time my friend read it, and we both LOVED it! As soon as I finished it, I read Hoot and Flush. This is a must read for everyone of all ages!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is very good i would recomend it to anybody who likes animals and a good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    SCAT - A "must read" book!

    This book is about two kids named Nick and Marta and they have this very strict teacher named Mrs. Startch as their bio teacher. Mrs. Startch takes their students on a field trip and they must leave suddenly due to a forest fire. One of Mrs. Startch's students left something in the forest and Mrs. Startch goes back in. Suddenly, she doesn't come out of the forest during the forest fire. Everyone thinks she is dead or she is missing. While the police do an investigation on this fire and the disappearance of Mrs. Startch, Dr. Dressler the headmaster of Truman School goes to her house and finds a letter addressed to him saying that she needs to leave due to a "sudden family emergency". Dr. Dressler and the police department think that a student, Duane Scrod Jr, a student that didn't like Mrs. Startch might have something to do with her disappearance. So when they hear this about Mrs. Startch's disappearance, they go to solve the mystery. Read this book by Carl Hiaasen to find out more on what happened to Mrs. Startch!

    Reading this book was an awesome experience. This book had a lot of excitement and suspense. It made me want to read more books by Carl Hiaasen and many authors like him because of the suspense and excitement they put into their books and stories."'This is so freaky, Nick.' Marta puffed her cheeks to let the air hiss out. 'I mean, I can't stand the woman, but still, to think her lost in that swamp..." (Hiaasen 54). I think this point proves how suspenseful this story is because Hiaasen leaves the reader with a "cliff hanger" on how they really think about her even though she is lost in the forest. This book left a lot of "cliff hangers" which made it a very suspenseful and exciting book to read.

    I would recommend this book to an audience that loves to read mysterious, suspenseful books. This book would be an excellent book for people who like suspenseful, mysterious books because of all of the suspense and mystery that Carl Hiaasen puts into this book. I have also read the "Series of Unfortunate Events" by Lemony Snicket and I think these books are also mysterious and suspenseful. These books remind me of "SCAT" because of all of the mystery and suspense Lemony Snicket puts into all 13 of his books in this series as well. If you like reading "SCAT" you would love reading "The Series of Unfortunate Events" because they have the same suspense, mystery, and their stories are very similar.

    My favorite scene in "SCAT" would probably have to be the scene when Dr. Dressler goes to Mrs. Startch's house to see what is up with her disappearance. I think that this is my favorite scene of the book because it is really suspenseful and it leads to her disappearance but Dr. Dressler thinks the reason of her disappearance is false. The reason of her disappearance is "a sudden family emergency" but according to Dr. Dressler and her school file, she has no family. I think this is the best scene because it leads the police to her disappearance, it was mysterious, and it was very suspenseful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVERRRR!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was very goooooood no lie i would recommend this book if u want 2 read something AWESOME but seriously though this book is good and if your looking for a book with mystery trust me this is your book! And i am 12 yrs old byyyyyyaaaaaa!!!!!!!!
    :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Scat

    Please take ny advice about this bestseller novel. If you are the type of person who likes mysteries with a twist of love, you'll absoulutly love this book. I have not met a single person who has a conplaint about it.

    Sincerily,

    Not telling you who i am but take my advice!!!

    PS: There aren't alot of "big words" like some of the other people posting are telling you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Page turner -- even for adults

    I ordered this book for a 12-year old who is a reluctant reader. I began reading it myself and was intrigued -- partly because I am familiar with the location and partly because of the humor. Read the first chapter on line and you will be hooked! Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Okay

    It was a good book, but at times the plot was unrealistic. I was looking for a good realistic fiction and this book did okay. I recommend it to people who have read Hoot (by the same author) and enjoy environmental stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24