BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scat

Average Rating 4.5
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Scat- a great story!!

Nick Waters and his friend, Marta, go to the private Truman School in Florida.Everything is pretty normal there; average students, a few nasty teachers (like the biology teacher, Mrs.Starch.) and the known school bully-trouble maker, Duane Scrod Jr.
But a few days befo...
Nick Waters and his friend, Marta, go to the private Truman School in Florida.Everything is pretty normal there; average students, a few nasty teachers (like the biology teacher, Mrs.Starch.) and the known school bully-trouble maker, Duane Scrod Jr.
But a few days before Nick's Biology class goes on a field trip to the Black Vine Swamp, an incident occurs. Duane becomes very mad at Mrs.Starch for humiliating him in front of the class and eats her pencil right out of her hand! Tehn he storms out of the class room and doesn't come back to school for awhile.

When Nick and Marta's class goes to the Black Vine Swamp, a small wildfire breaks out. Everyone is ordered to leave. But, Mrs. Starch stays behind to retrieve a student's inhaler. She goes missing. later, it is found out that the fire was arson and not an accidnet. What is going on? Where did Mrs.Starhc go, and does it involve Duane? Read to find out!!

It starts out slow, but gets better. I like the theme and where it takes place. A very good book; great for kids and pre-teens to read.

posted by kaitlyn97 on April 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ok

The book was ok not the best It was slow and easy I didnt like that the book was a jumble of parts divided into sections but it was good Average age group is 9-11

posted by 8625394 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Sarah

    This is a great book
    If you read it you will lov it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Odd and funny

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great twists and details!

    I really liked this book! The ending is unexpected and you really wonder whats going on! The main characters have good traits and a lot of characters in scat stand up for what they believe in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Scat

    This is a good book for kids many schools are reading this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    Triller!!!!

    This book is slow at first that's why I gave it the 4 stars but a wonderful read, a well thought out mystery, and is different from other books because it switches from the main character's point of view to his teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    Scat!

    I had to read this book for school snd i love it.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    best book ever!

    This book is super interesting! I highly recommendd it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Im suppose to like this! It was intresting and funny and it had a great plot!

    It had a great backbone , a great history surrounding it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Awesome

    You should so buy the book its worth it. Good thing they made a mini series!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Great read aloud for upper primary and middle schoolers!

    I usually read Hoot aloud to my students, but we've been really enjoying Scat this term. Hiaasen has the ability to portray his bad guys as bumbling idiots that get what they deserve. The fact that the lessons about conservation are taught by the adolescent characters makes it easy for kids to connect to. Hiaasen conveys his disdain for those who play fast and loose with conservation and environmental laws just as clearly to pre-teen readers as he does as the novels he writes for adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    love it

    i like it over all. at first it was it it was to normal for a great book. it gets beter and beter and by the third chapter i bet you will never put this book down agian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Great Book!!

    I loved this book it caught right away and had a good plot and happy ending. It is a must read Carl Hiaasan book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    animal

    read the book it is soooooooooo intresting ur life will b missing a chunk of awesomeness if u dont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    SCAT

    hey i just finished scat and it was great. i couldnt stop reading.hope you get it, it is definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    Great Book

    We read this book in school and it always left you on a cliff. When we finished it we all loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Educational on Florida Wildlife and a Fascinating Plot

    Scat is an interesting book dealing in the conservation of Florida wildlife, very similar to Carl Hiaason's other books, Flush and Hoot. A wildfire and a missing teacher begins the book in a suspenseful and absorbing way and then moves on into an engaging ending with a failing oil company. The story is also fairly educational on the slow extinction of the Florida panther. A good and well-worth it read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Cute, appropriate

    for all ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5