BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scent of Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Avry the Lily Whisperer After reading the first few chapters

    Avry the Lily Whisperer
    After reading the first few chapters I actually went back and double-checked that it was indeed written by Snyder. It seems to lack her natural flair and intricate world-building ability. The beginning was confusing and the end was what I would expect of a novice storyteller. Only the main body of the book seemed to have an essence of what Snyder is capable of. It is almost as if she has taken a step back from the series.
    Knowing what an incredible abundance of creativity and character development she usually packs into her books, I was more than a little surprised.

    Avry is back from the dead and eager to go undercover to defeat Tohon. The boundaries between life and death are at the very least not a black and white issue anymore. What was alive is dead and yet still walking around and what is supposed to be dead seems to be quite alive. This state of affairs is linked to a secret substance created by Tohon.
    The return of the healer is met with suspicion and mistrust by even those closest to her. That makes it harder for Avry to identify friend or foe.
    I would like to see Snyder delve a little deeper into the connection of the plants with Avry, who has become a bit of a Lily-whisperer.
    Her relationship with Kerrick was completely secondary to the plot and even the strange attraction to the evil one himself took more of backburner during the story.
    What Snyder did focus on was the war and the surrounding tribes, possibly with an eye on future conflicts to come.
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Another one that I didn¿t figure was a sequel until I started re

    Another one that I didn’t figure was a sequel until I started reading. This book is an excellent read though. I loved Avry, I quickly picked up on the worldbuilding, which is quite extensive and impressive, and all characters seem well-motivated and three-dimensional. Excellent writing too. No wonder this was a bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    This book caused a lot of trouble with my social life; I couldn'

    This book caused a lot of trouble with my social life; I couldn't  put it down! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Avry survived her first run-in with the evil King Tohon. Well, k

    Avry survived her first run-in with the evil King Tohon. Well, kind of. Technically she died, but was saved by a plant that may be way more important than she though. She also managed to fall for Kerrick, her traveling partner. However, things are not looking good for the good guys, so Avry and Kerrick part ways for the better good. Avry goes undercover in the army of her sort of ally Estrid while Kerrick goes home to get the aid of his kingdom that he kind of abandoned. Both of them will run into peril and surprises around every corner. If they can manage to stay alive, they might be able to just might be able to figure out how to win this war.




    I was really excited to read this book because I loved the first one in this series. I found the beginning to be a little clunky though. I know it's hard to write enough so that a new reader knows what's going on while still moving the story forward, but this seemed a bit awkward. Luckily things smooth out fairly quickly, and once the story gets past the introduction it hums along at a fairly quick clip. There are two main stories here when Avry and Kerrick split up at the beginning. They are both full of peril, and there are plenty of twists and turns for both of them. I really enjoyed the surprises. There were several I did not see coming, so that was really fun. Avry was still a capable and awesome character. She is very determined and wants to make sure she takes care of as many people as possible. Kerrick's parts of the story were fairly short, so I didn't feel that I knew him quite as well. It was still an interesting addition to the overall story.




    I guess by nature of being a middle book, it was very dark for the most part. There weren't a lot of happy points, but that helped make the few bright spots even better. Overall the book kept my interest throughout, but the ending was killer. I hate cliffhangers though, and this was a big one. Did it pique my interest for the next book though? Absolutely. Mission accomplished there. This is a great fantasy book, and I really can't wait to read the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Pure torture to have to wait until December 31 to find out what

    Pure torture to have to wait until December 31 to find out what happens. Death Lily, just eat me now! I read the book in a day and a half. On the edge of my seat. I don't usually write reviews, but I HAD to find out when the next book would be available as soon as I finished the final page. Please, wait and buy the series at once. Save yourself from the heartache

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Danielle Book provided by: NetGalley Review origina

    Reviewed by: Danielle
    Book provided by: NetGalley
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    : Scent of Magic, which picks up the plot from where Touch of Power ended, was an excellent continuation of the Healer trilogy. The plot of Scent of Magic was interesting; however although there were few unexpected plot twists throughout the novel what were clearly meant to the main surprise plot twists were actually extremely easy to predict from the early chapters.




    The first book in the series had solely followed Avry whereas Scent of Magic allows readers a glimpse in Kerrick’s mind with regular switches between the characters’ point of views. Although it was interesting to understand Kerrick better and see the events unfold from his point of view the scenes told from his perspective did not seem essential to the main plot. In fact, unless the characters introduced within the scenes viewed in Kerrick’s perspective are vital to the final novel in the trilogy, the main purpose of these scenes seem to be to provide an explanation for the pieces of information regarding his welfare told to Avry later in the novel.




    Avry continued to be an extremely interesting character for the novel to follow and although Kerrick did not add significantly to the plot he also continued to be a very intriguing character. Some of other the main characters in the first novel of the trilogy had very minor roles in Scent of Magic; this was disappointing as these were extremely interesting characters whose presence was an excellent component of the first novel. There were a few rather interesting characters introduced in Scent of Magic however these characters were not explored fully and added only slightly to the plot.




    The relationship between Kerrick and Avry was mostly ignored during the novel, due to their separation for the majority of the novel, with the exception of when either character thought about the other’s welfare. This was unfortunate since the chemistry between the two main characters was one of the best components of the first novel in the trilogy.




    Overall, although Scent of Magic was an excellent novel it did not quite live up to the extremely high expectations generated from the trilogy starting with an amazing first book due to some of the best components of the first novel being missing from the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin (UK) Limited and Netgalley.)
    This is the second book in the ‘Healer’ series, and kicks off where book 1 ‘Touch of Power’ left off.
    **Warning – some unavoidable spoilers for book 1 ‘Touch of Power’**
    Following her healing by the peace lily, Avry decides that the best thing for her to do is to allow her enemies to believe her dead, so that she may work under cover. Leaving Kerrick, even though they have only just admitted their feelings for one another, Avry travels back to ‘Mom’ (who we met in the first book) who helps her with a disguise. Avry then infiltrates the army, and begins teaching them Kerrick’s tricks for moving through the forest unheard.
    Avry’s plan is to not only aid the army against Tohon’s army (and zombies – which they don’t believe her about), but also to try and reconnect with her sister Noelle (who tried to kill her in book 1 – slightly nuts).

    Kerrick on the other hand travels home (I think?) to give people the news that Avry is dead and rally his own army, but gets ambushed by some large zombie ufas on the way and then gets jumped by the person leading the ufas – Cellina, but she lets him go and lies to the king that the ufas killed him (not sure why she does this).

    Now Avry is intent on stopping Tohon’s zombies, and figuring out exactly what he has been doing with the death lilies. But how long will her disguise fool people for? How will Avry react to the news that Kerrick is dead? And will they triumph against Tohon’s armies?


    This book confused the hell out of me, and the last two lines were an absolute killer!

    I really liked the first book in this series, I often have problems keeping up with the storyline in fantasy novels, but I didn’t really get that with the first book. It seems that all the confusion was being stored up for this book though! It’s not even that long since I read the first book, it’s only about 5 weeks, and I still got confused!

    Avry basically wants people to think that she’s dead so that they’re not looking for her and trying to kill her – good plan if you ask me. What I didn’t really get was why she was so intent on making up with her sister when the last time she saw her she tried to kill her! I mean, why not just leave well alone? Especially when you’re trying to not get killed, and the woman your sister works for is also trying to kill you!
    Anyway, Avry can’t possibly just go into hiding or something, so instead she finds the army, talks her way in, and then begins training them to walk quietly. I sort-of understood that part, but Kerrick’s journey? Not a clue I’m afraid. He got attacked by some zombie ufas, and the girl controlling them (Cellina) took his sword and told king Tohon that the ufas had killed him. What happened to him after this? I don’t know, I got seriously confused. Why did Cellina cover for him? Not sure on that one either. Who were the other people he ended up running into and helping? Not a clue.

    Anyway, there were parts that I understood and liked! I kinda liked the way King Tohon managed to turn Avry on just by touching her, I liked how once again the lilies and their venom was a key part of the story, and I liked how Avry and Kerrick eventually found their way back to each other.

    The storyline overall was a bit bland though, and in my opinion this book had a serious case of middle book syndrome, it seems that even Avry can’t cure that. The ending though? Oh my! This bland, confusing story hit us with one hell of an ending. Ms Snyder – those final 2 sentences made me want to scream!!! ‘No!’ How can you do that?! To Avry and to us?!
    Let’s just say that those final 2 lines had more impact on me than the entirety of the second book, and now I might have to read book 3!

    Overall; a fantasy story that was unfortunately a little bland and difficult to get through, with a major cliff-hanger at the end.
    6 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    LAKE

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    disappointed

    Confusing book and then it doent tell you what book comes next after they leave you hanglng at the end not happy that i paid almost 10 dollars for this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Very good must read

    I love this book its full of adventure. It takes me right into the story and i cant put it down. The only thing i dont like is the ending and if theres not another book im going to be very mad at this ending i really want to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved Touch of Power and was excited to jump back into Avry a

    I loved Touch of Power and was excited to jump back into Avry and Kerrick's realm but I was left disappointed with this one. Avry and Kerrick separate in the beginning of the book. They're goal is to take down Tohon. Everyone thinks that Avry was killed when she took the plague from Prince Ryne. When they go their own ways, Avry changed her look and joins the army in hopes of defeating Tohon and Kerrick ends up prisoner to a tribe. The story is written in both Kerrick's and Avry's point of view.

    I loved Kerrick and Avry together, so I was disappointed that they are separated the entire book. Hell we barely see the other characters from the first book. However, that isn't why I had trouble with this story though. I was never able to fully get into it. I found myself continually scanning through pages to get farther in the story line. It could have something to do with the ARC copy I received. The formatting was horrible. First off, there were no chapters, no stopping points. Remember how I said that the story is in both Kerrick and Avry's POV? Well the switch between them didn't even warrant a separate paragraph. So I would be reading about Avry running around with her comrades training and then all of a sudden she's being tortured by a tribesman. It would take me a while to get my bearings that this was Kerrick, not Avry and by the time I got adjusted, they'd switch again. Now I'm sure this problem will be fixed for the finish copy but that was a huge distraction for me. Just when I would start to get into the story a bit, I would be knocked off kilter again.

    I just didn't really enjoy the second story to be honest. This happened with her Poison series as well. I was hoping though, that since I was so in love with Touch of Magic, that I would gobble this story up as well but that just wasn't the case. It's a decent story once the formatting is fixed but even so, I won't be clamoring for the next book. I found that everything that I loved from the first book was missing in this one. It didn't even seem like it would be the same storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Love Maria Snyder

    I thought this was wonderful. I love all of her stories, in fact I stalk each and every arrival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it so much!!! I don't know how she does it, but the sequ

    I loved it so much!!! I don't know how she does it, but the sequel was just so awesome! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    After reading Touch of Power and just completely, utterly loving

    After reading Touch of Power and just completely, utterly loving it I knew I had to read Scent of Power. Maria V. Snyder writes such wonderful stories with the right amounts of action and romance and such captivating characters; you just lose yourself in their world while you are reading.

    Now this is a continuation of Avery and Kerrick’s story. Unfortunately for most of the book they have to travel two different paths that lead them on very different adventures. Now while I understand the reasons behind this, what I did not like is the way the story switched from Avery to Kerrick and back again.

    There are a lot of plot twists I wasn’t expecting and I love seeing Avery become more brave and sure about herself in her world. She is a strong female character and yet she still has strong emotions and feelings for the people around her.

    The only thing that makes me really sad is that this book ends with such a huge cliffhanger and we won’t get to find out what happens for another year. How am I going to survive!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    Worth the money! Wonderful continuation of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I adore Maria Snyder's work. My favorite is still her Poison S

    I adore Maria Snyder's work. My favorite is still her Poison Study series, but Touch of Power really struck a cord with me and was similar in so many ways. Since Maria is on my must read list, it was a no-brainer that I would be reading this one.

    I love how take charge Avry is in this book. She readily makes decisions for herself and follows through with them. I never felt like she made any hasty decisions. Some wrong ones yes, but always in the hope to get to the bottom of things and find answers. I also love that fact that its obvious she loves Kerrick (and he loves her), but their feelings for each other do not get in the way of what they both feel they have to do. I was intrigued by Avry's thoughts on the Peace and Death Lilly's. Everytime she lets one of the flowers take her, I always hold my breathe a little bit that it might be the time that they don't let her go. I found that theory that the flowers are attracted to the potential of magic to be particularly fascinating because it plays such a huge surprising role in this book.

    The story isn't particularly fast paced, but it's action packed. There are so many different things going on. Avry is busy with undercover work in Estrid's Army. I love that she teaches them how to move through the woods just like Kierran taught her to do. Kierran is trying to stop a vicious northern tribe from annihilating his homeland. But to do that, he has to go home to the people and family he's left behind. And while a lot of his story seems to just complication the plot, I wonder the greater purpose. Especially the tribe...I think they might come in handy in the future.

    I'm most curious what King Tohon's next move is. I know what he wants, but he seems to be playing around at getting it. Although what he did with his undead army was just awesome. I want to see how this can all possibly wrap up in the next book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maria, has grown to be a new favorite author of mine. She elegan

    Maria, has grown to be a new favorite author of mine. She elegantly weaves a story keeping the reader on the edge of their set. Like Touch of Power, I had a hard time putting down the book. Although I think I liked the first one a tad bit more. This one did not disappoint. I found the story easy to follow, and enjoyed learning about old and new characters. The book was set up to tell both Avry's and Kerrick's story while separated and their own adventures in trying to get back together. I liked this but found myself wanting to jump over each point of view to figure what happens to the other. The stories the two tell are occurring simultaneously and  it makes since in how the story developed. The two stories really needed to be in the same book and not two different ones, but I found I still had some mixed feelings about the overall presentation. I defiantly recommend reading it and believe it was a great story. I find myself excited for the next book and can not believe the ending of this one... curious to figure out more about our young hero's lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maria has done it again. This next instalment of the Healer se

    Maria has done it again. This next instalment of the Healer series is just as amazing as I've come to expect of her writing. 
    I love the world that she's created. It has magic elements, but I can totally see myself a part of what she describes. There are beautiful descriptions as well as awesome emotional detail that pulls me in and has me invested in the characters. When something happens, whether it is tragedy striking or a moment of joy, I want to celebrate or cry right along with them. 
    I loved being in Avry's head, and the use of 1st person POV. She has such a great voice and she amuses me with her wit and awes me with her intelligence. It is always a pleasure to watch her interact with Kerrick, Belen, the monkeys as well as some new and intriguing characters she finds herself surrounded by. She commands respect, even if it is not at first glance. She knows her craft, and I enjoy that confidence.
    We also get to be in Kerrick's head, and that is also quite a perspective. The only thing that threw me, was the switches in POV and perspective. It was fine mostly going from 1st to 3rd person, but in the arc, there was really no indication that it was switching and I would often be confused until I realized that the perspectives had switched. This is an easy fix, and I am hoping that the finished copy will have something more distinctive. 
    Anyways, back to more of what I loved. There was so many things going on with the plot, and Avry kept finding new ways to get herself in the thick of action, "in trouble again." This book is in no way a filler, there was so many major events that happened, as well as new trials and plots that bring more to be resolved in the next book. Speaking of, I cannot wait to get it in my hands and find out what happens next. 
    Bottom line: I love this series, the characters and Maria's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I liked that she [Maria V Snyder] has created a genuinely strong female lead who manages to not only save herself most the time, but to protect the people around her; too often supposedly “strong” female characters still need the male to come along and save the day. ~ Under the Covers

    Avry is the last Healer in the Fifteen Realms, making her valuable to friends and enemies alike, but with the exception of the man she loves, Kerrick, they all think she’s dead. But the insane King Tohon grows more powerful, especially as he can command an army of the dead and Avry must come out of hiding and do all she can to help stop him despite her fear of him. Meanwhile rumours of another invasion abound and Kerrick must return home and do all he can to stop it, leaving Avry all alone…

    In Touch of Power the first book in this series, I remember it being very similar, too similar, to her Study series, the characters and the story were too close and although I enjoyed it I was a little disappointed. However, I am glad I carried on reading as although the similarities are still there Scent of Magic seemed to breakaway and form its own identity.

    What I really enjoyed about this book was the story, Touch of Power was just a warm up to get to the real action in this book, I found couldn’t wait to see what would happen next and what the characters would do as war starts to break on the Fifteen Realms. What was also great was the characters, especially Avry, I liked that she has created a genuinely strong female lead who manages to not only save herself most the time, but to protect the people around her, too often supposedly “strong” female characters still need the male to come along and save the day.

    This book also switched POVs from Avry to Kerrick, and although it was essential and interesting to see what was happening on the other side of the Kingdom, I felt that it switched over far too often. You would just be getting into what was happening with Kerrick and then it would go back to Avry and although I feel the switched POVS did add to the story, it was frustrating as they felt so short.

    I really liked this book and am really getting into this series, it has all the things I love about books, fantasy in particular, adventure, magic, great storytelling and romance. I can’t wait to read what happens next!

    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Love... Love... LOVE!. Full review soon.  

    Love... Love... LOVE!. Full review soon.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3