Customer Reviews for

The Scent of Rain and Lightning

Average Rating 4
( 1789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(610)

4 Star

(615)

3 Star

(308)

2 Star

(129)

1 Star

(127)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This book is not what I expected

When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end...
When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end - this book far exceeded my expectations. I recommended it to a coworker while I still had 30 pages left to read!

This book begins in the present day - a story of a girl whose parents have been murdered and how they deal with the news of the murderer's commuted sentence. After the first chapter or two, the book turns back 23 years to tell the story of how the girl's parents came to be dead. The story switches from past to present to explain the characters and their relationships to each other. This book is well written to explain the details of what happens in not only the crime, but in the characters' daily lives as well. While you're involved in the book, you think you know who did what and what really happened, but you'd be wrong. You may have some idea of how the characters/plot is developing, but you'll be taken aback by the twists at the end of the story. This book is good enough to keep you turning the pages, but toward the end you'll be hard-pressed to put it down until you've read the last word.

There is a part of this story that's a little corny, and it's the relationship between the girl and the murderer's son who, as an adult, helped his dad get out of prison. It's corny and a little predictable/unbelievable, but it doesn't take anything away from the story as a whole and becomes an endearing part of it by the ending.

I give this book five stars because it is worth it. I was really surprised by the twists in the story and was satisfied with the ending.

posted by JoanieGranola on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

A Time Waster

I was a little more than disappointed in this book, hoping for a thrilling, suspenseful tale of murder in a small town and, instead getting a romance novel with a rather obvious ending. I would recommend this book for a pre-teen or teenage girl but not for an adult of e...
I was a little more than disappointed in this book, hoping for a thrilling, suspenseful tale of murder in a small town and, instead getting a romance novel with a rather obvious ending. I would recommend this book for a pre-teen or teenage girl but not for an adult of either gender looking for a "good read".

posted by Reny44 on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1799 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Don't buy this book!

    I wish I had read the other reviews before I paid for this book. Very juvenile style and fatuous descriptions of characters. I stopped reading; it was that bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Great read!

    I was glad i read this book. It held my interest to the end, and I didn't see the ending coming. Definitely an easy and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    Very Slow and Predictable

    I was very disappointed in this book. I expected more by all the reviews of the book prior to purchasing. The author writing a seemingly elementary style, very specific in descriptions and detailed in the plot and character development. The story line was very predicatable and did not live up to the "page turner" description in other reviews. Other described it as very sexual, obviously they only read the first 30 pages.

    I do not recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a thick, involved plot or complex character relationships. Very simple, but an easy read if you have nothing else available.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    engaging yet light

    this makes a nice book club selection. i'm not a huge mystery fan, but this book keeps the reader interested all the way through. the author has a refreshing style that doesn't leaving you hanging for long, but fills you up with surprising twists and turns. a really enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    A must read.

    A totally entertaining murder mystery. I am not a very good sleuth, but if I can figure it out before I am halfway, I put the book down. This was not that book. I did not have a clue until the final chapter. It was awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Good read

    The story was a really good idea. I loved the writing and the suspense and frankly I was surprised by the outcome. However, the book could have been longer; I feel like the last 50 pages were rushed and the author put too much information in the last few chapters. The ending was rushed and, I felt, could have been laid out just a bit better. However, overall, good book and I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Story kept me interested

    Not my typical read, but saw it recommended in the Nook blog (Unbound) and was also recommended by the manager at my local B&N, so I thought I might give it a try.

    It's the story of Jody Linder, whose parents were killed when she was a little girl. Now grown, a storm is approaching the small Kansas town where she lives--but there is also a different kind of storm approaching, involving the killer, and others who were involved on the night of the murder. Its easy to sense the approach of the rain storm, but not everyone sees the real storm that's coming.

    The characters are real and interesting and hte plot keeps you involved, I read this book pretty quickly because it is so interesting--I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Gives you a feeling...

    ... that you are actually in Kansas. This book is excellent because it is a mystery at it's finest, in which case you really can't guess who did what up until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    This book was a lot of fun to read. I found myself quickly being drawn into the story as the book narrated the few weeks leading up to the "big event." I was especially pleased that the story presented some "twists" and "turns" that were unexpected!
    The only thing I found disappointing were two gratuitous sex scenes that truly didn't help the book's story in any way shape or form. They seemed simply tacked on as an after-thought. Otherwise, a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!

    I must say this is one of the best books I've read. I am usually good at knowing the ending before hand, but I must say the author used a very original ending. Definitely recommend it and will probably read it again =-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting ride from start to finish!

    When Jody Linder was three, her father was killed and her mother disappeared. Now 26, Jody moves back into their home working to make it hers. An unexpected visit from her three uncles sets Jody's world into a chaotic spin focusing on that fateful night when she lost her parents. Billy Crosby, the man in jail for the murder, has been released and is coming home. As Jody relives memories from her childhood, Nancy Pickard shows us Jody's fears and growth, loneliness and anger. Along with her family, we also meet Valentine Crosby and her son Collin. What will happen when Billy gets back to town? Did he commit the murder and dispose of Jody's mother? What relationship is there between Jody and Collin? The book builds to a surprising climax and an ending not easily forgotten.

    I absolutely loved this book! I read it on my Nook, while sharing it with my husband, and found it a quick, suspenseful, exciting read. The characters and setting are so real that the book comes alive as you read. This is a book I will definitely read again, and I recommend it to individual readers as well as groups. It is a story you will want to discuss with others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Wonderful book

    Absolutely loved this book. It kept me on the edge of my seat and I read it in two days!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    what a wonderful read!

    I truly enjoyed this book! ended up finishing it in one day. found the characters fascinating. will most certainly be finding more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Surprisingly Good

    I really wasn't expecting much. I expected this to be a "chick" book which I am not really into but it had some interesting insight into people and their motivations and reactions. Good summer read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully told tale

    As I was born in Kansas I picked this book to read. I read a few pages then bought it and read it. I found myself drawn into the story after the first few pages. I like the way the writer keeps you guessing who did it! Details, I wanted details so I furiously read through the book to the end to get them and was surprised at the ending. I thought I had it figured out but was totally happy to be wrong. You got to know the characters and I felt it would make a great movie but they would probabaly screw it all up and change everything so maybe just forget the moview idea and read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I enjoyed the entire Jenny Cain series, so I decided to take a chance on this book. Glad I did. The characters were interesting, complex and well drawn. The story drew me in. The mystery kept me turning pages. The romance was believable and nicely woven into the story line. The twists and turns and character motivations were plausible but not predictable. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Good Read

    I thought this was a good read. I like how the author weaves the past and present throughout the book. The story was interesting. I thought the character development could have been a bit better. The ending was a little surprising; I like how there weren't any unanswered questions left. Overall, I would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    A Great Pageturner.

    I loved this book. I have 5 kids and couldn't put it down. Yes, I fed the kids!!!! Absolute surprise ending. Would definitely recommend this book. Great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed the read.

    I read this book quickly as the characters and plot kept my attention the entire time. There was just enough intrigue to keep you guessing, but it wasn't so involved to be overwhelming on details. I have already recommended it to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Not usually my thing...

    I am an avid reader. Although, my reading consists of the main girly, love story types -typically. However, while in Barnes and Noble one day an older woman continally recommended this novel. I was reluctant, and we got to talking and she really made it seem like despite my usual stories, I should give this one a try. And so I did. Honestly, I am happy I took her advice! There was romance, there was suspense, there was drama, and there was reality. I read it in a day and a half and honestly, I could not wait to until the part came up that I could figure out who did it. That part never came. Instead, the second I thought I had it, I had to guess again. And the ending was unlike what I thought it would be. For a book to keep me guessing is an accomplishment. My only minor issue was that I would have liked more detail or more story to the ending and what really happened. They told you everything yes, but I wanted to know more! I recommend this book without a doubt though! After 40-50 pages in, my reluctancy was gone and I was off on an all night reading adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1799 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 90