Customer Reviews for

The Scent of Rain and Lightning

Average Rating 4
( 1803 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(615)

4 Star

(620)

3 Star

(310)

2 Star

(130)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This book is not what I expected

When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end...
When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end - this book far exceeded my expectations. I recommended it to a coworker while I still had 30 pages left to read!

This book begins in the present day - a story of a girl whose parents have been murdered and how they deal with the news of the murderer's commuted sentence. After the first chapter or two, the book turns back 23 years to tell the story of how the girl's parents came to be dead. The story switches from past to present to explain the characters and their relationships to each other. This book is well written to explain the details of what happens in not only the crime, but in the characters' daily lives as well. While you're involved in the book, you think you know who did what and what really happened, but you'd be wrong. You may have some idea of how the characters/plot is developing, but you'll be taken aback by the twists at the end of the story. This book is good enough to keep you turning the pages, but toward the end you'll be hard-pressed to put it down until you've read the last word.

There is a part of this story that's a little corny, and it's the relationship between the girl and the murderer's son who, as an adult, helped his dad get out of prison. It's corny and a little predictable/unbelievable, but it doesn't take anything away from the story as a whole and becomes an endearing part of it by the ending.

I give this book five stars because it is worth it. I was really surprised by the twists in the story and was satisfied with the ending.

posted by JoanieGranola on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Time Waster

I was a little more than disappointed in this book, hoping for a thrilling, suspenseful tale of murder in a small town and, instead getting a romance novel with a rather obvious ending. I would recommend this book for a pre-teen or teenage girl but not for an adult of e...
I was a little more than disappointed in this book, hoping for a thrilling, suspenseful tale of murder in a small town and, instead getting a romance novel with a rather obvious ending. I would recommend this book for a pre-teen or teenage girl but not for an adult of either gender looking for a "good read".

posted by Reny44 on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 615 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! This book is not what I expected

    When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end - this book far exceeded my expectations. I recommended it to a coworker while I still had 30 pages left to read!

    This book begins in the present day - a story of a girl whose parents have been murdered and how they deal with the news of the murderer's commuted sentence. After the first chapter or two, the book turns back 23 years to tell the story of how the girl's parents came to be dead. The story switches from past to present to explain the characters and their relationships to each other. This book is well written to explain the details of what happens in not only the crime, but in the characters' daily lives as well. While you're involved in the book, you think you know who did what and what really happened, but you'd be wrong. You may have some idea of how the characters/plot is developing, but you'll be taken aback by the twists at the end of the story. This book is good enough to keep you turning the pages, but toward the end you'll be hard-pressed to put it down until you've read the last word.

    There is a part of this story that's a little corny, and it's the relationship between the girl and the murderer's son who, as an adult, helped his dad get out of prison. It's corny and a little predictable/unbelievable, but it doesn't take anything away from the story as a whole and becomes an endearing part of it by the ending.

    I give this book five stars because it is worth it. I was really surprised by the twists in the story and was satisfied with the ending.

    63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Surprise

    When I read the summary of this book I knew it was going to be good, however I did not expect it to become my top read so far in 2010. This book is completely captivating and pulls the reader into a small town community that is tight knit and shows the strength in numbers, even when they are wrong.

    The story that unfolds is unlike any other story I have ever read, and trust me, I've read a ton of books. Nancy Pickard did and amazing job and the twists and turns in this book are truly unique and make for an amazing and intriguing book that is well worth buying! I know I will be reading it again in the future.

    45 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great legal thriller

    In Rose, Kansas, the Linder family owns the town. The powerful ranching clan runs a tight ship especially in terms of protecting twentyish schoolteacher Jody Linder. In 1986, Billy Crosby was arrested for killing her father Hugh-Jay Linder dead; the victim's wife and Jody's mom Laurie vanished. Billy was convicted of the murder as he had motive after being fired from the High Rock Ranch and Laurie's bloodied sundress was found inside his truck.

    Billy's son, attorney Colin believes his dad is innocent and has spent years working appeals. He obtains a new trial and secures the release of his father while the retrial takes place. Colin's deep conviction shakes up the town and its leading family as each goes back two decades to relook what happened.

    This is a great legal thriller enhanced by a strong family drama. The story line grips the reader as two families were impacted in 1986 and must go through the horror once again with one hoping for the same results and the other for a different conclusion. Although the denouement re what happened twenty plus years ago is too neat, fans will set aside time once started on one of the year's best dramas as this is a character driven crime tale that is impossible to put down.

    Harriet Klausner

    32 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely stunning!

    I absolutely loved Nancy Pickard's The Virgin of Small Plains, but this book is even better. Nancy is a magician at making you feel what her characters are feeling and at weaving enough suspense into her writing that you just know that something dreadful is going to happen on the next page, and you have to get to it to find out what. She uses different viewpoint characters who only see part of what's going on and understand even less, and lies, and hidden objects to draw you into a mystery that will lead you in many different directions until you're shocked by the surprise at the end.

    This is a mystery that transcends its genre into mainstream, almost literary, fiction because of its beautiful prose, the spot-on descriptions of the Kansas cowboy country setting and life, the complexity and depth of the characters, and the masterful way that it's plotted. I don't want to give anything away about the story, because in no way do I want to diminish someone else's joy in reading it, and joy you will find!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MEMORABLE,ENGROSSING,CAPTIVATING READ! I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED!

    The mystery involves a rich and powerful ranching family in a small Midwest town and a murder that took place twenty some years ago. Much of the book takes place in the past; the events leading up to the murder of Jody's parents. At twenty-five, the world as she knows it is dumped upside down. The killer of her parents is being released from prison, pending a new trial, and he is back in town. It's also a love story and a story of a close-knit family. A memorable, engrossing, captivating read that is totally unpredictable. I thoroughly enjoyed!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    This is the second book in the Barnes and Noble recommends that has been added to my collection of favorite books. I was drawn into the story so deeply I felt like the characters were old friends of mine. The way the Author explains the details about them and how they are feeling and what the scenes are around them is amazing. I felt that I was right along with them throughout the book. The surprise ending had me sit up and say NO WAY!! I thought it was great, I am going to purchase her previous book since I liked this one so much. Once you get started with this one you won't be able to put it down. It is so easy to read, nice flow to the story and a totally enjoyable experience.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Engrossing

    I was sceptical when I first heard of this book. I decided to take a chance reading it based on positive reviews of the author, who I was unfamiliar with.

    I could hardly put it down once I started reading. It conjured up so many emotions in me: a sense of awe at the landscape, fear, anticipation and surprise at the denouement.

    I will try another book by this author but this is one to definitely recommend.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    This book is outstanding! It is different from what I normally read, so I wasn't expecting much. I just saw the book on this website and thought I would try it. I was sucked in by the story in the very beginning and couldn't tear my eyes from the pages until I was finished. The author fantastically draws her characters. I felt so invested in their lives. The writing put ME right there in Rose, Kansas, experiencing and feeling everything, which is something that is often missing in books I have read recently. Books have also left me bored because they are so predictable. With THIS book, I was left guessing until the very end- and nothing that I predicted was even close to the truth.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Had me from first page

    Finished this book in one day. Many characters but very easy to follow.
    Liked the writing so much I went online and ordered her other novel.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    True to Life

    The characters in this book were so realistic and I could clearly picture them. There was just enough detail to picture the scene and the characters, but not so much that you get bored.
    I thought the beginning was a little slow, but it's definitely worth continuing on! It picks up soon after the first chapter and draws you in with mystery and the depth of her characters.
    I thought it was a beautiful story and well written. I definitely thought I knew how it was going to end and was completely wrong! And I read/watch a lot of mystery kind of shows and can usually guess what's coming next.
    I'm certainly going to read more from this author!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a mild title for such an engrossing read! My first Nancy Pickard and what a ride! It just sends me after everything by this author.

    I was able to vividly picture the town, the homes, the people - the entire landscape of this novel. I was spellbound by each character's personality and descriptive daily life. The characters were my neighbors or the ones down the block; the plot believable; the main love story was every woman's dream! Difficult to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this Book

    This is the first book I have read by Nancy Pickard and I absolutely loved the story. The characters are very believable, the plot maintains your attention and, there are some great twists and turns.

    I highly recommend if you would like a fairly quick read - 292 pages that will keep you asking for more.

    This is the 3rd book I have read based on B&N recommendation and I have never been disappointed! I have discovered a new author for my library and I really look forward to Nancy Pickard's next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Never Saw it Coming...

    This book was an excellent read and hard to put down. I finished it in about three days (Love my new Nook by the way =)). As I was reading I kept trying to figure out "who done it" but was blown away by the ending. I read her first novel as well and enjoyed it too. I grew up in Kansas and I think that was part of the allure for me for beginning to read this author's books. I hope she has another one in the works. I'll be looking for it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCITING STORYLINE!

    This gripping story begins in the present as Jody, an English teacher, whose father was murdered 23 years before and her mother disappeared the same night learns that the killer has been granted a new trial and is released from prison. She was only 3 years old when it happened. Two families were affected in 1986 and must go through the horror all over again. Jody is faced with questions of whether her family's influence caused the wrong person to be arrested for 23 years; whether it is possible to love someone connected with the convicted murderer and what her role should be. This was an exciting story line that will keep readers glued to the pages! I recommend!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    One of my favorite reads of 2011

    Excellent story, wonderful characters...didn't want it to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Gives you a feeling...

    ... that you are actually in Kansas. This book is excellent because it is a mystery at it's finest, in which case you really can't guess who did what up until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting ride from start to finish!

    When Jody Linder was three, her father was killed and her mother disappeared. Now 26, Jody moves back into their home working to make it hers. An unexpected visit from her three uncles sets Jody's world into a chaotic spin focusing on that fateful night when she lost her parents. Billy Crosby, the man in jail for the murder, has been released and is coming home. As Jody relives memories from her childhood, Nancy Pickard shows us Jody's fears and growth, loneliness and anger. Along with her family, we also meet Valentine Crosby and her son Collin. What will happen when Billy gets back to town? Did he commit the murder and dispose of Jody's mother? What relationship is there between Jody and Collin? The book builds to a surprising climax and an ending not easily forgotten.

    I absolutely loved this book! I read it on my Nook, while sharing it with my husband, and found it a quick, suspenseful, exciting read. The characters and setting are so real that the book comes alive as you read. This is a book I will definitely read again, and I recommend it to individual readers as well as groups. It is a story you will want to discuss with others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    what a wonderful read!

    I truly enjoyed this book! ended up finishing it in one day. found the characters fascinating. will most certainly be finding more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully told tale

    As I was born in Kansas I picked this book to read. I read a few pages then bought it and read it. I found myself drawn into the story after the first few pages. I like the way the writer keeps you guessing who did it! Details, I wanted details so I furiously read through the book to the end to get them and was surprised at the ending. I thought I had it figured out but was totally happy to be wrong. You got to know the characters and I felt it would make a great movie but they would probabaly screw it all up and change everything so maybe just forget the moview idea and read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!

    I enjoyed the entire Jenny Cain series, so I decided to take a chance on this book. Glad I did. The characters were interesting, complex and well drawn. The story drew me in. The mystery kept me turning pages. The romance was believable and nicely woven into the story line. The twists and turns and character motivations were plausible but not predictable. I recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 615 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31