Customer Reviews for

Scepter of the Ancients (Skulduggery Pleasant Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A skeleton detective with teenage girl apprentice

Skullduggery Pleasant is a skeleton detective who stops a dark wizard. There are lots of action/battle scenes, and yet it has funny moments. This is definitly a series where you have to go in sequential order to understand the story line, plus it makes it better. One...
Skullduggery Pleasant is a skeleton detective who stops a dark wizard. There are lots of action/battle scenes, and yet it has funny moments. This is definitly a series where you have to go in sequential order to understand the story line, plus it makes it better. One of the main characters is a girl, so this book would appeal to both boys and girls. There is mystery, action and magic in this book, even if you don't like fantasy books you will like this one. I am a twelve year old boy and an avid reader and this is one of the best books I've read.

posted by 3386164 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Definetly recomened for Harry Potter fans!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    A skeleton detective with teenage girl apprentice

    Skullduggery Pleasant is a skeleton detective who stops a dark wizard. There are lots of action/battle scenes, and yet it has funny moments. This is definitly a series where you have to go in sequential order to understand the story line, plus it makes it better. One of the main characters is a girl, so this book would appeal to both boys and girls. There is mystery, action and magic in this book, even if you don't like fantasy books you will like this one. I am a twelve year old boy and an avid reader and this is one of the best books I've read.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    CAN NOT PUT IT DOWN!!!!

    I could read this book for hours and hours. This book has a little of everything. Humor, action, mystery, suspense. The first couple chapters are boring, but as you are reading them you are getting hooked. Finally there is a chapter that starts that the book is locked in front of your face. Then from that point on it is awesome. Over all this is a very good book. I love it!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Skulduggery pleasant

    Best book ever

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    best series ever

    this is the best book i have ever read its halarious i did skip meals to read it the only problem is landy is only planing on making 9 so sad i wish that he would never stop sometimes this book gets slightly gory but not much in the rest of the 3 that are out right now i would say the first one is the best the second one is the funniest and the third one is the sadist, most suspenseful, and most misterious.i dont want to read any other books than this one im going to die from waiting for the next one to come out. i highly recomend this book
    to any teen or 12 yrs. iv read it so many times its great!
    i think they should have stuck with the original jacket though.(hope val gets skulduggery's original skull back and saves him)

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Best books in the world - scratch that, GALAXY!!!

    Skulduggery Pleasant is the best series ever!!! I am a Harry Potter fanatic, and yet the HP series pales in comparison. I've convinced most of my class to read it. They say that it is the best ever! My friend said that she was on pg 11, and it was the best book she'd ever read! This magnificent series of 6 is my favorite series ever!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Carrie Spellman for TeensReadToo.com

    It all started when Gordon Edgley died. Well, it actually started much earlier than that. I mean, if you want to be picky it "all" started at the dawn of time. Or is that just when time started? Never mind. The point is, for Stephanie Edgley it all started when her uncle Gordon died. Gordon wasn't much of a family man; in fact, Stephanie was probably the one closest to him. Even saying that, though, is a bit of a stretch. It would probably be better to say that he tolerated her presence better and more often than he did the rest of his family. Which still doesn't completely explain why he left his house, his fortune, and his book royalties to her. Actually, there's a lot of unexplained things about Gordon, even more so now that he's gone. Like the strange man at the funeral. The one wrapped so tightly in a scarf, sunglasses, and an overcoat that you can't even glimpse an inch of his skin. That was the first time Stephanie had ever encountered Skulduggery Pleasant. <BR/><BR/>The next time they were in the same room was for the reading of Gordon's will. The one where he left most of his things to his twelve-year-old niece. Much to the dismay of Stephanie's aunt and uncle, who got a boat (Uncle Fergus gets seasick), a car ("We already have a car!"), and a brooch ("It doesn't even have any jewels on it."). Stephanie's parents, incidentally, got the villa in France. Skulduggery Pleasant received the strangest gift of all, which is some very cryptic advice. With which he was completely content. This was not to be the last encounter between Stephanie and Skulduggery. <BR/><BR/>Having spent most of a day exploring part of Stephanie's new house, she and her mother get in the car to go home and find that the car won't start. The mechanic that comes to fix it has to tow it back to his shop. Stephanie convinces her mother that she can stay at the house alone while the car is being fixed. But, the storm that started while they were waiting for the mechanic grows worse as time passes. It is eventually determined that the car won't be fixed until tomorrow, and the road to the house is flooded. Stephanie is stuck for the night. Though it takes some convincing for her mom to leave her there. <BR/><BR/>Freedom and solitude: Stephanie couldn't be happier! Which lasts all of a few minutes. Someone is trying to break into the house, and somehow Stephanie doesn't believe him when he says he won't hurt her if she just lets him in to get what he wants. Skulduggery Pleasant to the rescue! And what a strange rescuer he is. In the struggle with the intruder, Skulduggery's hat and scarf fall off to reveal only a skeleton! Stephanie is so shocked by this that she mostly forgets what he's done. Now she has a million questions: Who and what is Skulduggery? How did he know her uncle? Why was he at the house? How is it that he can throw fire? Can he teach her? And how does he stay upright when there's no skin and muscle to hold him together? <BR/><BR/>Stephanie is stunned, but oddly not frightened, by recent events. She was just contemplating how boring life was, and suddenly life got considerably more thrilling! Skulduggery isn't in the market for a sidekick, but he might just have gotten one. After one night in his world (he did have to keep her safe after all) Stephanie can't imagine pretending not to know what she knows....<BR/><BR/>Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Very good

    An extremely good book that is good for all ages. I definetly recommend this if you love magic and action. Cant wait to read the rest of the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Rawrz and stuff

    I honestly love the serise so far, and Derek Landy better hurry up before all his fans go and riot for the next book. Only one thing nags me... Why are all the halarious authors from UK?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved every word!

    The characters in this book are clever and fun. The plot line gets more and more interesting as you read the book. This book is laugh out loud somthing you can really get into! On to the next one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Best book ever!

    Love it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    AWSOME

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD, I BOUGHT ALL THE BOOKS THESE BOOKS ARE JUST A LITTLE VIOLENT BUT THEY ARE STILL
    THE BEST BOOKS EVER I COULD DO WITH OUT THE BAD WORDS DEREK LANDY IS MY FAVORITE AUTHOR IN ALL THE BOOKS I READ I LOVE THIS BOOKS

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    One of the best books ever written! Amazing storyline and characters!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Three

    Awe. Some. Book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Entertaining AND AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Yeah, it's cool and one of the best books that i've ever read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great!

    Funny, overall awesome story. Great for teens

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfull!!

    I love this book so much! I've read it so many times that I've lost count. It's full of action and is over flowing with fantasy. Magical, fire throwing, butt kicking goodness is what this is!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    VALKYRIE

    Best. Series. Ever.
    I love Skulduggery Pleasant! There are 8 books so far. I'm on the 6th. Again…
    Best! Series! Ever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    AWSOME

    I got recommendation by my teacher and I ended up reading it within about four days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    GREAT Series!!

    Fast paced, fun, and hilarious! Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Only the first three

    Its wierd how they only have the first 3... their on #6 and counting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7