Customer Reviews for

Schindler's List

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Thomas Keneally has had a series of wonderful novels under his n

    Thomas Keneally has had a series of wonderful novels under his name but this has to be one of his best. Oskar Shindler starts out in the book as supporter of the Nazi party and an undercover agent for the Nazis to hold in their horrific plan to seize Poland. He is a smooth talker, a visionary, and a young entrepreneur by the start of the memorable World War II. By just getting an understanding of his background, you would never believe he would become a hero for not just the 1,100 Jews he saved, but for the rest of the world.
    Keneally does a great job showing the starting life of Shindler. We see his succession from the war and his transformation from a man who was doing fine making profits to someone who uses his fortune to open factors not just for his benefit. He supplies work and a sense of safety for Jew workers he hires. Previously having confirmations with Nazis and being arrested two times before, he is a warrior who finds a liking for danger.
    This story is not only about Shindler. We hear about the journeys of Jews in the ghettos and what occurs in the concentration camps. Some of the things you will hear can be disturbing but we all need to just be thankful that we didn’t have to go through this horrific time period. We hear stories from his friend like Itzhak Stern. We learn how important Shindler is to their lives.
    I loved this book because I see that guardian angels are real. Keneally shows this by providing us visual of Shindler looking after the Jews not just in the multi factors they went through but also at their ghetto. I wasn’t able to put down the book and I finished it within two weeks. Being the savior of 1,100 doesn’t seem to be much compared to the 6 million lives destroyed by the Nazis. 1,100 lives is a ton. He saved families and if you think about it, those people had off springs. His story still makes impacts on people and I’m glad he was honored by the Jewish world.
    Troy N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Differant Point of View

    The story of Oskar Schindler is an amazing one. He risked his life, and the lives of those close to him, to save just under 1,200 Jewish prisoners, with no personal profit in it for him. He did it because he saw the inhuman evil of the SS, and because it was the right thing to do. The true horror of the Holocaust was not that so few risked doing the "Right Thing", but in the horribly simple fact of their sacrifice's necessity. Julius Madritsch, Herr Schindler's fellow businessman, would have joined Oskar, and added the 3,000+ prisoners who worked for him to Schindler's list, had he believed in the possible success of his plan. Many helped maintain Schindler's Black-Market trade (although on three separate occasions he was betrayed, and sent to prison), and many more were involved the creation and success of Brinnlitz. Schindler, through luck, determination, and sheer overwhelming charm, was just more successful than the others. He didn't manage to save them all, but as the Talmudic verse Izhak Stern quoted in October 1939 said:"He who saves a single life saves the world entire."
    Schindler's List is the story of Herr Schindler as he tries to save innocent people. Researched and detailed, author Thomas Keneally opens a window into the past. The view isn't great. SS Hauptsturmführer Amon Goeth terrorizes and murders prisoners, and beats his Jewish maid. SS bury thousands in the woods (and then dig up the bodies to cremate them). Hangings and starvation are normal occurrences in Plaszów. Through it all, Schindler bribes and gambles for the safety of his Schindlerjuden. An amazing, inspiring read. I recommend it whole-heartedly, as the view it shows isn't great, but it is honest. It shows an aspect of the Holocaust that is little known. A Good German.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    Wondderful and inspiringly writing

    I thought that the book was wonderful. Though some parts were a little none interesting. The end was the overall best great book a recomened that you read it. I havent seen the movie so I cant say anything about that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Schindler's List...of Flaws

    Before I read the novel, I already knew what it was about: A German man who saved more than 1,000 Polish Jews by having them work at his factory instead of being sent to concentration camps. I expected Oskar Schindler to have the characteristics of a hero: confident, pure, and selfless. As I got to know Schindler and his filthy yet respected persona, I was disappointed to learn that he wasn’t the ideal hero. He isn’t ashamed of his infidelity, that he is a Nazi member, and sees the war and depression in Germany as a chance for him to make more money. I was utterly disgusted by this man.
    Even though I disliked Oskar Schindler, I couldn’t help but admire his driven attitude. He knew what he was capable of and he wasn’t afraid to go after what he wanted. At first, the liquidation of the Jews meant nothing to Schindler until he became close to his business associate and friend, Itzhak Stern.
    Stern managed to save Schindler from living a life of greed and materialism. I found the friendship between the two very sentimental despite the dirty work they were both committed to in trying to save the Jews.
    Schindler was a changed man by the end of the war; he learned he was capable of committing bad things for the greater good. My dislike for Schindler ebbed and I was satisfied to see the hero in him.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Stand Up For What You Believe In

    This book is about Oskar Schindler, a man who came into the metal-making business just to make money. Then, he turned around and used his wealth to extricate 1,200 Jews from death camps all around Poland. He did it because he contradicted with what the SS did to Jews. Schindler took Itzahk Stern¿s quote that ¿ He who saves a single life saves the world entire¿ and ran away with it. He put his own future at risk for the plethora of Jews he tried to save, so they could also have their own future. Oskar Schindler was not alone on this quest of saving Jews, as Julius Madritsch, fellow business tycoon of Schindler¿s would have undertaken this quest. If he believed that this scheme had a chance of being successful he would have added 3,000 more Jews to Schindler¿s 1,200 that they both would have saved. This book urges you to as the saying ¿ do unto others, as you would want due to you¿ like Oskar Schindler did with overwhelming charisma, grit, and fortitude. As other camps were serving meals that ranged from a meager 700-1,000 calories a day as Alexander Biberstein, a doctor who experienced a normal death camp and Schindler¿s pointed out; Schindler distributed meals that ascended 2,000 calories a day. He opened his heart to all Jews when many did not even classify them as human beings; he created labor camps called Emalia and Brinnlitz with his own hard earned money. He fulfilled the promise to his Jews that they would ¿ survive the war under my care¿. Schindler¿s List inspired me to stand up for what I believe in and not shy away from your goal when nothing is on your side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great is an Understatement

    World War II was a dark time in German history, but there were the few Germans that silently fought against the oppression. One man who did such deeds was a businessman by the name of Herr Schindler. "Schindler's list", by Thomas Keneally, is about Herr Schindler and his story about how he saved thousands of Jewish prisoners from the Nazi concentration camps by telling them that they were used for cheap labor. This book was exciting to say the least. It was near impossible for me to put it down. The story was gripping, intense and emotional. Keneally did an unbelievably phenomenal job adding detail to everything, making it even more irresistible. This book is a must read for anyone who is looking for a book that will give them a good look at WWII. It was a remarkable book. The only large negative about the book is that it was slow in the very beginning. It took a while for me to get into it, but after the first couple of chapters, it really took off. The reason for this was that Keneally wanted to set up a lot of visuals, so most of the beginning was descriptions and other things of the nature; which makes for a slow start, but was necessary for the rest of the book. If you are a little on the squeamish side, then this book is probably not for you. It was a little graphic at some parts. If you are a WWII fan looking for an accurate and exciting book, then this is the one for you. It definitely will not disappoint anyone who can stomach it. "Schindler's List" was an amazing book, and the movie is just as intense. I would highly recommend the movie if you enjoyed the book. The next best WWII book that I have read would be "Night". That is another WWII book that really brings out what it truly was like during that time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This was an incredibly written and thought-provoking book without over powering the reader. Once the book gets started there isn't anything stopping you.

    The story of Oskar Schindler is one that would not be easily forgotten. This man saved the lives of 1200 Jews and their descendants who would have other wise been killed in the massacre of WWII, but there's a saying, "do onto others, as you would want done to you." Would you help??? Schindler must have had that saying in his mind during the holocaust. Picture yourself in a life-threatening situation. You definitely would love help, and you would probably help also because if you were in that situation that's what everyone wants. Think of all of the bad things that could happen if he helps: he could be arrested, killed, tortured, or even sent to the slave camps. Yet he helped. Although this is a great story of survival, it gets you thinking about all the other people who weren't as lucky to have worked for such a man. Thousands of Jews died in the worst conditions possible and for those who did survive, the faced the memories of the suffering and the violence that happened before their eyes. It was inspiring to see the change of hear that Schindler had when his mindset changed from mocking money to saving lives. Itzhak Stern had a huge part to play in the conversion of Schindler because he was in change of the business end of their factory, so he was the one who did all the employing. Schindler and Stern were like Batman and Robin. Stern worked relentlessly in making sure that, as many people as possible were able to come to the 'place of refuge.' Schindler created a future for so many who thought there was nothing else for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Schindler's List

    Schindler's List was a great book. Or should i say Oskar Schindler was a great man. Oskar was one of the nicest Nazis in WW2. He saved thousands of jews by buying them and letting them work at his factory for making pots and pans for people around Germany. He had a lot of money and who knows why, but he chose to use most of his money to help save all these jews. If he had more money, then he would probably have saved much much more. He felt that all the ones he saved wasn't enough. He had a great heart and you could tell that he felt very bad for the jews. As a jew myself, this book really touched my heart because for once, someone is trying to save the jews other then the jews themselves, rather than killing them. i recommend this book to jews around the world that dont really know much about the holocuast, but would like to know more about it. I really recommend it to anyone who wants to know a little more about the holocuast. I think this book was a great one, and I recommend it to people of any race around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Manuel V from Lomita Ca

    I recently read Schindler's List by Thomas Keneally for a report that I was assigned. I have to say that this is the best book that I have ever read within the year. From the first sentence I knew that this was the type of book that I could really enjoy, not one that I would start reading and within a week and forget about it. Although it was some what of a challenge to read, this book will make the reader visualize what is taking place throughout the story so that the reader comes to a understanding at all times. This book has been made into a film by Steven Spielberg, a great move and a great book so that we have the best of both worlds. I recommend that you read this book before watching the move, so that the movie can be used as a answer key to anything that wasn't understood in the book. I feel that Schindler's List is a really good book because of the way that it was written. Throughout the whole book, you get the feel of sadness and depression, but at the same time those feelings are brought down to anger and happiness. All those feelings are brought together at one time, it is a weird thing and could only be discovered by reading the book. This book will make you understand that life is not always easy and that all you have to do is believe in the postive and never give up even when it seems like there is no hope. It will also make you respect everything and everyone in life because we are all the same no matter what race or religion. If you read it very carefully you will pick up other morals and messages which makes this book even better. Schindler's List has all the elements that a book should have, now that I think about it this book is hands down one of the best books that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Schindlers List !!

    Schindlers list was an excellent book. It talks about mainly the Holocaust and what Oscar Schindler did in his helping the Jews in that sad time. the book was very well written, It didn't really jump around from part to part like some books might do. It was very informational in the fact that it was very acurate on dates, persons names and what not. The book is a long book but in a way is not for all the information that Thomas K. had to fit into it. Oscar Shindler was the mail caracter in the book, He was the owner of many emaila factories. They made kitchen ware like pots and pans.. He was the only Owner of a factory that did have a slave camp that treated the workers/slaves as good as he could possible treat a person. He made sure that they at least were fed a decent meal and had decent living conditions. Another important character was Amon Goeth, He was like the leader at the labor camp in Plascow. He was a very mean man and killed thousands of Jews. and when they were told they could only kill so many jews so he started to burn the bodies. ( eewwwwy ) But all in all it was a great book and I recommend it to anyone who likes a good book or is just interested in the Holocaust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    The Story Behind The Man

    I give Schindler¿s List by Thomas Keneally 4 stars. Two negative aspects of the novel is that it was a colder point of view on what had happened to the Jews. The novel was also a more biographical type of writing. One positive aspect to the novel was that you come away with a greater understanding of Oscar Schindler. I recommend this book for the people that want to better understand who Schindler is and why he wanted to save the Jews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2001

    Truth better than fiction

    This book is a first hand epistle of the holocaust. Kenneally interviewed hundreds of survivors who had no doubts that without the help of Oskar Schindler they would have perished like six million other Jews. Schindler was a German industrialist who saved thousands of Polish Jews by employing them in his factory and defying the Nazi regime. No one knows why Schindler did this for although he was a catholic he was also a rake who did not seem to give a dam about anyone but himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1