Customer Reviews for

Schindler's List

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching sad story

    Seeing the movie first, I had an idea what the book would entail. Reading the book, would put image in my head from the film. There were some days that I couldnt read it because it was to intense. The book made me cry but also made me smile. This book is a must have for your permanent library for years and years. All should read this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    H

    G

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Oskar Schindler- a Good German

    Recently I had talked with a relative of mine who doesn't quite understand why God would tell us that He would protect us if we followed His Commandments 'referring to the Holocaust'. 'Look at all the people who died,' she said. All I could tell her was, 'But look- He sent them Schindler.' There is now a great respect in my heart for this odd hero- an ordinary man who did the right thing. Now, after reading this book and doing some independant research on the subject of Oskar Schindler, 'schindlerjuden' has become a sacred word for me as it is what the Jews rescued by Schindler call themselves. This a moving book with rough material that I think EVERYONE should read. I believe that the faint of heart will mourn as they turn the pages and that the corageous will close their eyes at the horrors in this 'true-story-based' novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I cant say this is ever a book or a movie that I will ever enjoy. But the sheer courage and determination of one man to change the lives of thousands,should never be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    Schindler's List--Takes you back in time

    Schindler's List, originally published as Schindler's Ark, is the true story of how Oskar Schindler, an aristocratic German industrialist, heavy drinker, briber, and womaniser, was transformed into a saviour during the horrors of World War II. His remarkable rescue of more than a thousand Jews is retold brilliantly in this honest and detailed account by Thomas Keneally. The story is set in Poland, where Schindler struggled to protect his Jewish factory employees from the cruel and terrible claws of the extermination camps. Schindler's efforts in saving souls increased as the war worsened, and climaxed with Schindler's List, the book of life and ticket to freedom for many Jewish survivors, whose accounts are carefully retold in this book. Although Keneally's long and descriptive sentences require patient concentration, and could become a stumbling block for some readers, once overcome, no reader could fail to be drawn into the action-packed plot. For Keneally summons terror and disgust with his gruesome profiles of the SS Gestapo, and draws smiles and smirks with his descriptions of Schindler's devious dealings with them. In Keneally's book, metaphors and similes vividly contrast the characters and scenery, omitting no details, and succeed in taking the reader to a different time and place. Although a biography, and therefore brimming with names, dates, and numbers, Keneally manages to navigate history so that no event is left without significance. Schindler's List is a riveting read which no one should miss out on, as not only is it an exciting story, it also gives an accurate glance into the labour camps of World War II, and takes a look at the darker side of humanity. A Booker Prize- winning novel, now also an Oscar-winning movie, Schindler's List is a must for anyone over 15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    schindler rocks my world

    schindlers list is an outstanding book on the jewish concentration camps during the time of the nazi regime. It was a very touching way to see the true side of the senseless killing and utter disrespect for the jewish people. Oscar Schindler is a german man that either is a very good actor or he truly cares for the jews, i choose the latter of the two. Throughout the novel Oscar shows over and over concern for the jews, he becomes famous among the jews to the point where every jew wants to be in his camp. The jews describe Oscar as a kind man and a savior. Schindlers 'list' is a list of 13000 jews that schindler is going to buy and set free. all in all this book just plain kicks booty!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    What a great book

    Over all i thought the book was a great book and it demonstrated the harsh facts of the holacost and how the jews were treated. Jews were hated in Germany because they thought that they were different that the normal Jew. Jews were thrown into consontration camps to have them work and get the most out of them before they die I also wached the movie and that was a great movie as well. The book took place in Germany in about 1920-1945 as oscar shindler starts a factory that makes pots and pans that jews work in to escape going to the consontration camps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    Schindler's List

    This book is about factory owner saving many of his workers. His name is Oskar Schindler. I thought this book was very good. There were many parts where it gets very sad. There is about one part where the book is good. The thought of saving his workers was very good. The book takes place during World War II. Oskar makes a list of his workers that he will bring out of the country. His factory made pots and pans. At the end, (after he saved the Jews) he fled the country to save himself from the invasion of Russia. He paid all he could to get his workers (or Jews) out of the country. The new camp was called Brinnlitz. He saw all the Jews getting killed, he was determined to save them. At the end, before he flees the country, he cries because he didn¿t save enough people. Out of ten, I would give it a nine. I thought it was very good. I¿m sure you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    book first

    I'm thinking about getting Schindlier's list hard back ,hopeing that it's better than the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    I really liked the MOVIE of it. So i must like reading about it. i like all Holocaust books.

    This book(movie)is about a man who makes a big list of Jews during the Holocaust and then he keeps them and they dont go to concetration camps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    the best book ever!!!

    This is byfar the bast book I have or will ever read! It is a touching story about a man who fought for what he believed in. I highly recommend this book to anybody who is interested in holocaust stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    I would reccomend this book

    I read this book as part of a honors geography project, and it was very useful in the theme of location because it was so extraordinarily vivid in it's descriptions of the ghetto. The author was easy to follow, and introduced characters well. The Jewish population's general happiness to be in a protected part of the city of their own (the ghetto)surprised me. The author's presentation styly made me intrested, and was written at an intermideate reading level that made it easy for many to understand. I would, in closing, reccomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    AMAZING

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER, TRULY AMAZING!!! EXTEREMELY SAD ONE OF THE BEST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1