BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

School Spirits

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow! I¿m absolutely floored. Not that I expected to dislike Scho

Wow! I’m absolutely floored. Not that I expected to dislike School Spirits, I just had no idea I’d love it THIS much. I think I loved this book even more than Hex Hall. There. I said it.




Having read the Hex Hall series first, definitely makes it easier for one to ju...
Wow! I’m absolutely floored. Not that I expected to dislike School Spirits, I just had no idea I’d love it THIS much. I think I loved this book even more than Hex Hall. There. I said it.




Having read the Hex Hall series first, definitely makes it easier for one to jump into this new spin-off series. Although you could read School Spirits and then Hex Hall as a prequel, I wouldn’t recommend it. There’s a lot of big spoilers and terms like “prodigium” that benefit from a lengthier description given in the prior books. Also, it feels as though Hawkins is expecting us to have read Hex Hall first.




Isolde (Izzy), although not quite as sarcastically funny as Hex Hall‘s Sophie, is still highly enjoyable. She’s smart, innocent (teen girl way – not – won’t shank you in a dark alleyway way) and humble. Izzy has never really had that normal high school experience because she, like her mother, come from a long line of female monster hunters that travel a lot for cases. School Spirits felt like the melding of two of my favorite shows Buffy and Supernatural. You got the young high school girl trying to manage nightly slayings with nightly school work. Then you have the parent who drags their kid all over the states, hunting down supernatural creatures and never really establishing any lasting roots.




There’s a couple of boys on Izzy’s mind in School Spirits. Some are studs – and cliche – others duds. From the start I immediately swooned over Dex. Seriously! Where was a “Dex” when I was in high school?!!! Hilarious, cute and marching to his own drum, Dex wasn’t afraid to be who he is, or whoever the hell he wanted to be. He was a total dork but in that adorkable way. I loved his and Izzy’s interactions. Although she constantly needed to question his motives, it was sweet watching Izzy and Dex gravitate towards one another.




Sometimes in Hex Hall I got irritated because magic was an easy fix for things. I think part of the reason I enjoyed School Spirits so much was because of the old-school way Izzy had to handle the supernatural. It was physical and time-consuming. There was no *poof* all betters.




What I love most about Hawkin’s books in general, is how easily you can jump into a story. With the exception of Spell Bound which had left me with mixed feelings, Hawkin’s books are always perfectly paced and full of action. They’re exploding with humor, budding romances, suspense and danger.




I’m so excited for the books to come in this new series. School Spirits leaves off with a big mystery to be solved as well as an exciting new development to be played out.

posted by Some_Reading_Required on June 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

R u people all moms?

Seriously you dont hae to make your reviews soo long just say what you liked then say why u dont have to make it 3-5 pages long just talking about the authors techniugues and blag blah blah all that other junk you " moms" talk about or whoeverb weridos u r. By the way i...
Seriously you dont hae to make your reviews soo long just say what you liked then say why u dont have to make it 3-5 pages long just talking about the authors techniugues and blag blah blah all that other junk you " moms" talk about or whoeverb weridos u r. By the way i made it one star because tgats how much i hate your reviews

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    To all

    Next res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    They thought they were getting a break, far from it... how can y

    They thought they were getting a break, far from it... how can you act normal when you know everything is wrong. after the loss of her sister, and her fatal move to the new city, she thought life would change, things were not as they seem. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Tigerstorm

    I wanna be in camp because what happens when something attacks?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Please can someone

    Someone lend this book to me? Please reply to GRAHAM? Thanks so much:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Alena

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you are already a fan of Rachel Hawkins¿ first series, Hex Ha

    If you are already a fan of Rachel Hawkins’ first series, Hex Hall, I am sure you have been awaiting the arrival of anything she writes since the close of that trilogy last year. Full of wit, magic, mystery, snark and attraction, Book 3 answered all the important questions, but left a vacant spot that needed to be filled. Is her new series ready to occupy the void?




    I can say, unequivocally (ha), yes and no. School Spirits is related to the Hex Hall series; it’s a companion, really, that mentions characters you met in Ms. Hawkins’ first series. It is not strictly necessary to read the first series, but it will be more fulfilling if you do




    The mystery here is that Isolde “Izzy” Brannick’s sister, Finley, has disappeared during a routine assignment. The Brannick family are monster hunters, but ever since the Council ruled in favor of control vs. killing, they hand over perpetrators for punishment. Now, it’s just Izzy and her mom, Aislinn, and a big hole in their family unit. One they stopped talking about long ago.




    So imagine Izzy’s surprise when Aislinn moves them to Mississippi to work on a simple ghost case. In their world, these are the easiest and fastest to solve. So why move? Izzy knows she needs to get her confidence back, and for the first time, she will attend school. Part of her really wants to experience this thing that is such a big part of most kids’ lives.




    Looks like the best place to start is joining the student Paranormal Management Society. Great. These groups end up doing more harm than good in Izzy’s experience, though having actual friends for the first time is pretty cool. But what of Dex? When he shook Izzy’s hand, this guy who dresses to the nines, is handsome and snarky (the trifecta?), gave her a low-level buzz meaning Prodigium. Is Dex a monster?




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: Rachel Hawkins’ writing style is my drug. She combines the perfect balance of mystery, intrigue, action, romance, excitement, wit and humor. Her books are never predictable and the paranormal aspect adds just the right amount of the unknown. This series’ mystery involves the missing Finley, which I am sure will arc over the entire trilogy. That is the mark of a good series writer; each book needs an arc that is solved, while the series itself has a bigger arc answered at the end. (You'd be surprised how many authors forget this!)




    I’m Cranky Because: Of course I am going to compare this new series to her first. So far, Hex Hall is in the lead. Is it because I know those characters and their stories better? Perhaps. Maybe that’s why School Spirits, while very good, didn’t seem as powerful. It felt like there was more prep for what’s going to happen. I know, too, that Izzy is a different character than Sophie, so the storytelling might/should be different.




    The Bottom Line: School Spirits has all the makings of a great series. I hope the Brannick family travels to different places to eliminate monster problems - that will be exciting.




    School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins was published today by Disney Hyperion. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley/the Publisher/the Author.




    Rating: 3.5




    Genre: Young Adult Fiction Fantasy Paranormal Romance Series Companion
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Disney Hyperion for sending me a copy of this bo

    I want to thank Disney Hyperion for sending me a copy of this book to read and review. I was very excited to receive it as I really loved the Hex Hall series and wanted to see where Hawkins would take this. Receiving this book for free has in no way influenced my opinion or review.




    So, first thing I have to say is how much I love this cover. Like the Hex hall series, I love how you see two sides of the main character; a reflection of how the character is torn between her life!  And the colors are so pretty. I actually prefer this cover to any of the others so far from Hawkins. It's really quite beautiful.




    If you enjoyed Hawkin's Hex Hall series, then you will definitely love this book. It's a totally different story, but  if you know the other story you can see the connections. But you by no means have to read that series to be able to read this one. There's enough of a difference for it to e a totally different and engaging story.




    Isolde, well, if you read the Hex hall series, you remember her a bit from the final book. She is Sophie's cousin, and she is a Brannick. I love Izzy's character. She is smart and witty. She keeps herself closed off to the world in order to preserve herself and her family. I love that she's so unique. She's not a paranormal being, but she does fight them! She's also different than any other teen: she's never been to a school, she doesn't own electronics such as a TV or cell phone, and she doesn't have any friends. So, when she's thrown into situations where all these things are now thrust at her, you can imagine she has a bit of a hard time adjusting. But she does a good job of it. She maintains her secret life while trying to blend in. But it's hard and she's is challenged by it daily.
    The supporting characters are really great. There's Dex, kind of a geeky good looking nerd who quickly becomes a love interest for Izzy. And Romy, Izzy's new truly colorful best friend. Then there's Anderson, who is kind of a funny geek guy. They all adopt Izzy almost immediately when she enters Mary Evans High, and quickly become her clique. Finally, we are reintroduced to Torin, a character we met from in the Hex hall series. He's a warlock who lives in a mirror in Izzy's house. He kind of strikes me as the third leg of what could be a love triangle between her and Dex and him, but I'm not sure it's going in that direction. We shall see.




    Hawkins does not go deep into this book. It's an easy read that doesn't require much thinking, which I really liked since I needed something light to read for review! She has an easy way with words and they flow evenly off the page. You see the witty dialogue you may have grown to love in Hex Hall, although I don't think these characters use it as well. The snark was just lacking. And, of course, there is a paranormal element that keeps you intrigued and wondering where the story will lead. And Hawkins throws in a slight twist at the end that involves Dex, which I have to say I saw coming but wasn't sure how she would present it.




    All in all I enjoyed this book a great deal. It wasn't fantastic but it wasn't boring at all. There is a bit of a hurry at the end to wrap things up but still leave you with the chance that a second book is in the works. It's not a cliff hanger, but you are wondering why things happened and where it will go. I will definitely be moving on to read the next book in this series to see where it leads.




    3/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1