BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Schooled

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Schooled is an amazing book

Schooled Book Review
By: Lyndsey Stevens
Schooled is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. This book confusing yet it was so capturing that I couldn¿t wait to turn the page, to see what would happen next. Schooled was defenetaily one of my favorit...
Schooled Book Review
By: Lyndsey Stevens
Schooled is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. This book confusing yet it was so capturing that I couldn¿t wait to turn the page, to see what would happen next. Schooled was defenetaily one of my favorite books I have ever read and all in all I really loved it. This book was about a boy named Capricorn Andrews and you see this teenager wasn¿t any old teenager, he was a hippie that lived in Garland. Along the way Capicorn moves in with a family for a few mounths and learns about all a teenager needs to know, but he just does everything a little bit diffrently. Schooled¿s genre is young adult. I think the theme of this book was always be yourself and if people like you enough they will take you as is. If you like an interesting realistic book then you should deffenitly read Schooled.

posted by 803297 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So-So

This book was slightly interesting in the beginning, but as I got further into it, I just couldn't read anymore. The plot and structure is very clever, but this book just wasn't my style. Even though, you may still want to give this a try.

posted by bookgirl888 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Groovy!

    At school, my TAG ( talented and gifted ) class and I are studying hippies, the 60s, and the Vietnam War. We read this bok as a class an I absoluteley LOVED IT! It is now one of my favorite books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

       Schooled is a non-fiction novel written by Gordon Korman.





       Schooled is a non-fiction novel written by Gordon Korman. Schooled is written in a multi-third person point of view. Schooled is a book best for young teenagers. My opinion, Schooled was a very great book that shows reality in all groups of school (jocks, nerds, and average students).
       
       The protagonist in Schooled is 13 year old Capricorn Anderson (nicknamed Cap), a hippie from a commune outside of the city. In the commune (which only consists of Cap and his hippie grandmother Rain) there is hardly enough energy for anything electric. Cap and his grandma farm for their living and they eat organic foods like vegetables and fruits instead of pizzas, burgers, and fries. Cap is home schooled by his grandmother and is in the top 10 percent smartest kids in the U.S.




       The story begins when Caps grandmother, Rain, is picking plums out of a tree and suddenly falls off the tree. Since Rain is great pain, Cap has to drive Rain into the city to get to an actual hospital to treat Rain. This is a huge task for Cap because he has been isolated from regular day life and doesn’t really know how outside life operates. Rain has a surgery on her broken hip which ends in a success. But since Rain has to stay in the hospital and go through physical therapy, Cap will have to live in a foster home for the remainder time until Rain gets better.




       Cap ends up staying with his social worker who was apart of the hippie commune when she was a young girl. She understands Cap because she had to make the same change to regular society just as Cap was going to have to do as well. Cap takes harsh treatment from the social worker’s daughter Sophie. He also takes harsh treatment from his peers at school because how he is so new to regular society. Cap is forced to become middle school president to plan a dance as a mean prank by the popular kids to ridicule Cap for their amusement.  The school eventually learns something from Cap, to respect life and beings in this world.




       Does Cap decide to stay with his social worker? Does he continue to go to the same middle school? Or does he go back the hippie commune with Rain? Open Schooled and you will be sure find out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Shooled

    This book is so inspiring.The boy has to learn how to live a entirly new lifestyle without the help of his grandmother Rain.Brovo Nook.Thanks barnes and noble!



    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    My favorite part of the book is when Zach and all his friends m


    My favorite part of the book is when Zach and all his friends made fun of Capricorn Anderson because of the way he looks and acts. They spit spit-balls at him and teased him they also nominated him for eight grade president. When he won he turned it around and made him-self popular by throwing the tie-die party and giving all his money to all those charities for different cause.
    My least favorite part of the book is when Zach and Hugh take advantage of Capricorn and make up a plan to put him in a Rhinecliff uniform. When he walked on to the field during the pep rally and they put him in danger and knew once people found out he had that jersey on the whole school would turn on him. Then the coach new something was up. He got mad at the players cause none of them would fess up to the putting cap in the uniform.
    My connection to the story would be when I and my friends make fun of certain people because we don’t like them. We will also put them in positions where they think were being nice but we are really just being mean. We are kind of like Zach and the people we make fun of are like Capricorn and Hugh. We don’t give weggies to kids but we are a lot worse actually.



    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    an honest opinion

    The book schooled was an interesting but predictable book. This book was about a clueless hippie who is entering the modern world. Cap (hippie and main character)lived in a commune, just him and his grandma when his grandma falls out of a tree. Cap is suddenly sent to public middle school. He comes to some bumps in the road and meets some people, but the story line is predictable it definitely was not a page turner. Although the end was a surprise, In all this book was okay and i would more recommend it to 5th or 6th grade levels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A refreshing read!

    Schooled by Gordon Korman is a refreshing, enjoyable read. It tells the tale of a young hippie, Cap and his journey transferring to the lifestyle of a normal, 8th grade boy. Cap is enrolled at Claverage Middle School due to his one and only relative Rain’s severe injury. Cap is a very unique protagonist, with good morals, sensitive thoughts, and a heart made of kindness. He is so caring, innocent, sweet, and open minded—it’s hard to dislike him. As tradition, the students at Claverage Middle School elect the dorkiest kid to be 8th grade class president, just to see him fail at his prominent role. Cap is this year’s victim. Take note that Cap has lived in a commune, Garland his entire life and has no experience with the outside world . . . that is until now. The fact that the students could pick the class president without consultation from the student holding office is practically mind blowing. I think this would have never happened in a real middle school, someone would intervene. It just seems so unrealistic to me. But, none-the-less, I did enjoy the alternating perspectives each chapter. It made the book easier to understand and it was nice to hear everyone’s view of the events occurring. The story was creative, and many details were realistic. Schooled is a new, intriguing middle grade novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    XD LOVE THIS BOOK! XD

    I love Gordon Korman so I guess I would love this book. All the characters are so unique! Cap is so genuine, kind, caring, considerate, loving, sweet, and OUT OF IT! Mrs. Donelly is the mother figure to Cap, but seriously bored me, at least her chapters were short. Zach was so ego-tistic (?is that how you spell it?) and mean and rude and pretty much evil by the end of the book, but HILLARIOUS throughout it all! He is so real. Then there is Hugh, a friend to Cap, but basically throws him under the bus when he lets the "cool" kids pick on him so that he isn't the #1 nerd in school (hello he isn't an idiot!XD) Naomi bothered me a little, but I'm glad that she figured out that she liked Cap, she was just kinda in over her head a little there. Sophie was stuck in the drama with her father and basically took it out on her new hippie "friend" in the funniest way I could ever think possible. And we move onto Darryl, man was I screaming at him "DUDE DON'T DO IT! ITS CAP!" when he was about to tackle him, but I have to say that it sounded pretty cool to watch, but I was rooting him on when he was about to stand up to Zach, then he socked Cap in the face, and I wanted to do the same to Zach. I was like,"Nice going..." XD. Last, but not least, there is Rain, who I hated throughout the entire book. What is she thinking climbing a tree, how dare she keep her own grandson away from the world, and what is her problem convincing Cap that the rest of the world is evil?! But I mean, who said I had to like her anyway? All in all, despite the realisticly annoying people, like two of them, I love it all. Good job Gordon Korman! I reccomend this to anyone! Yay! =) =)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this book was okay

    i kinda liked this book but it was alot of information and it was hard to understand some of it in different chapters. People who would like this book would be someone who really likes to read and can picture the situation in there head.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Schooled is funny, entertaining, and a great book for teens!!

    I recently read Schooled, by Gordon Korman because I saw it at a school book fair and thought it looked cute. I was amazed at how I can relate to this book because it talks about real life and real problems teens now a days face. I especially liked how the book was not based by chapter but by the characters' perseption of what had happened. Schooled is about a boy named Capricorn (Cap) Anderson who lives with his hippie grandmother on an alternate community called Garland Farm. When Rain falls out of a tree and breaks her hip, Cap is sent to live with a woman who lived on Garland Farm as a child. Cap is sent to Claverage Middle School (dubbed C Average by the students) and is awestrucken at what happens at a public school. This book has wonderful characters and really reminds me that differences do not matter. I would recommend this to teensa and all looking for a good laugh!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    this book is the bom

    this book is the bom if you read this book it would blow your mind you would want to read it over and over and over again. you would want to read this book to your friends ,family,dogs,cats, well maybe not dogs and cats because they may not care and plus they cant even understand you well anyways just tell some poeple about scooled and they would love it . and tell them this book schooled talks about HIPPIES!!!!!!!!! please read schooled you would love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    Tap this !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Who agrees that there should be a Schooled 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    S

    D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Kassi :)

    This is a great book i encourage u to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Heyyy

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    It is awsome

    It is an awsome book for teachers to read to students!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Great book

    I had to read this book for 6 th grade anc i didnt like it at first and then i read it again my freshman year of high school and i liked much better and i deffently agree that it is for more of a 7 or 8 th grade read but it is still a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Cool

    I have the actual book really in paper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Tap here

    Can someone lendme it to me plese???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    READ ME

    Soooooooooioooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Good so far

    Its actually an ok book from what ive read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7