Customer Reviews for

Schooled

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Schooled is an amazing book

Schooled Book Review
By: Lyndsey Stevens
Schooled is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. This book confusing yet it was so capturing that I couldn¿t wait to turn the page, to see what would happen next. Schooled was defenetaily one of my favorit...
Schooled Book Review
By: Lyndsey Stevens
Schooled is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. This book confusing yet it was so capturing that I couldn¿t wait to turn the page, to see what would happen next. Schooled was defenetaily one of my favorite books I have ever read and all in all I really loved it. This book was about a boy named Capricorn Andrews and you see this teenager wasn¿t any old teenager, he was a hippie that lived in Garland. Along the way Capicorn moves in with a family for a few mounths and learns about all a teenager needs to know, but he just does everything a little bit diffrently. Schooled¿s genre is young adult. I think the theme of this book was always be yourself and if people like you enough they will take you as is. If you like an interesting realistic book then you should deffenitly read Schooled.

posted by 803297 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So-So

This book was slightly interesting in the beginning, but as I got further into it, I just couldn't read anymore. The plot and structure is very clever, but this book just wasn't my style. Even though, you may still want to give this a try.

posted by bookgirl888 on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Nice

    Pretty good book. Very touching
    Very sweet. If i could do it I'd give it four and a half stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

       Schooled is a non-fiction novel written by Gordon Korman.





       Schooled is a non-fiction novel written by Gordon Korman. Schooled is written in a multi-third person point of view. Schooled is a book best for young teenagers. My opinion, Schooled was a very great book that shows reality in all groups of school (jocks, nerds, and average students).
       
       The protagonist in Schooled is 13 year old Capricorn Anderson (nicknamed Cap), a hippie from a commune outside of the city. In the commune (which only consists of Cap and his hippie grandmother Rain) there is hardly enough energy for anything electric. Cap and his grandma farm for their living and they eat organic foods like vegetables and fruits instead of pizzas, burgers, and fries. Cap is home schooled by his grandmother and is in the top 10 percent smartest kids in the U.S.




       The story begins when Caps grandmother, Rain, is picking plums out of a tree and suddenly falls off the tree. Since Rain is great pain, Cap has to drive Rain into the city to get to an actual hospital to treat Rain. This is a huge task for Cap because he has been isolated from regular day life and doesn’t really know how outside life operates. Rain has a surgery on her broken hip which ends in a success. But since Rain has to stay in the hospital and go through physical therapy, Cap will have to live in a foster home for the remainder time until Rain gets better.




       Cap ends up staying with his social worker who was apart of the hippie commune when she was a young girl. She understands Cap because she had to make the same change to regular society just as Cap was going to have to do as well. Cap takes harsh treatment from the social worker’s daughter Sophie. He also takes harsh treatment from his peers at school because how he is so new to regular society. Cap is forced to become middle school president to plan a dance as a mean prank by the popular kids to ridicule Cap for their amusement.  The school eventually learns something from Cap, to respect life and beings in this world.




       Does Cap decide to stay with his social worker? Does he continue to go to the same middle school? Or does he go back the hippie commune with Rain? Open Schooled and you will be sure find out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Shooled

    This book is so inspiring.The boy has to learn how to live a entirly new lifestyle without the help of his grandmother Rain.Brovo Nook.Thanks barnes and noble!



    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    A refreshing read!

    Schooled by Gordon Korman is a refreshing, enjoyable read. It tells the tale of a young hippie, Cap and his journey transferring to the lifestyle of a normal, 8th grade boy. Cap is enrolled at Claverage Middle School due to his one and only relative Rain’s severe injury. Cap is a very unique protagonist, with good morals, sensitive thoughts, and a heart made of kindness. He is so caring, innocent, sweet, and open minded—it’s hard to dislike him. As tradition, the students at Claverage Middle School elect the dorkiest kid to be 8th grade class president, just to see him fail at his prominent role. Cap is this year’s victim. Take note that Cap has lived in a commune, Garland his entire life and has no experience with the outside world . . . that is until now. The fact that the students could pick the class president without consultation from the student holding office is practically mind blowing. I think this would have never happened in a real middle school, someone would intervene. It just seems so unrealistic to me. But, none-the-less, I did enjoy the alternating perspectives each chapter. It made the book easier to understand and it was nice to hear everyone’s view of the events occurring. The story was creative, and many details were realistic. Schooled is a new, intriguing middle grade novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Schooled is funny, entertaining, and a great book for teens!!

    I recently read Schooled, by Gordon Korman because I saw it at a school book fair and thought it looked cute. I was amazed at how I can relate to this book because it talks about real life and real problems teens now a days face. I especially liked how the book was not based by chapter but by the characters' perseption of what had happened. Schooled is about a boy named Capricorn (Cap) Anderson who lives with his hippie grandmother on an alternate community called Garland Farm. When Rain falls out of a tree and breaks her hip, Cap is sent to live with a woman who lived on Garland Farm as a child. Cap is sent to Claverage Middle School (dubbed C Average by the students) and is awestrucken at what happens at a public school. This book has wonderful characters and really reminds me that differences do not matter. I would recommend this to teensa and all looking for a good laugh!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Good so far

    Its actually an ok book from what ive read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Awesome

    Schooled was a really awesome book that i will resd over and over agen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Poop

    Ima

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    Schooled is such a good book!

    The book Schooled by: Gordon Korman was one of the best books I have ever read. It was interesting but also humorous. It told a great story line and was easy to follow. It really made you think about your life and how you treat others. I recommend this book to anyone that is up for a great laugh, but also for someone that is in middle school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great book

    An amazing book with great fun. I wouldn,t change anything about this book!! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    A great all-around book!

    Schooled

    This is a story about a boy, Capricorn (Cap) Anderson, and his grandmother. He is a boy who has never watched TV, tasted fast food, or ever heard of a wedgie. For as long as he has known, he has lived on a farm and been homeschooled be his hippie of a grandmother. One day while picking plums his grandmother, Rain, fell out of the tree. When Rain has to go to the hospital there is no one to take care of Cap. He is moved in with a guidance counselor and her cranky daughter. They make him attend Claverage Middle School. Although a master of Zen Buddhism and lighting incense, he was not prepared for the C average students to ridicule him. Weird enough with his long dirty hair, tie-dye shirts, and home-made sandals, he runs for class president. The most popular kid on campus, Zach Powers, help Cap leans the ways of the 21st century. He may be the biggest nerd on the campus, but to his surprise he is elected to class president. I would highly recommend this book for people of all ages. It is an excellent book and if you would like to figure out if Cap is the best president or the biggest punch line, you will have to read more!

    Author: Gordon Korman
    Title: Schooled
    ISBN-10 978-078685692-0
    ISBN-13 978-078685692-3
    Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children, New York

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Schooled

    I found this book in my class library, and decided to give it a try. It is mainly about a boy named Capricorn(Cap), whose grandma goes to the hospital. They used to live on a farm, so he never watched television and is clueless on daily life. He has to attend public school where he runs for class president. It was an overall good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Great book to read for summer

    I chose 'Schooled' written by Gordon Korman because it involved events that could really happen. This book keeps you hooked by finishing up a chapter in a way you want to read what will occur next. It also teaches life lessons and how hard it is for someone to adjust to a new place. Capricorn Anderrson was raised by a by a hippie away from society. Butone day his guardian has to go to the hospitial and he is put into a regular school and has to get used to bullies, electronics, and money. Cap withstands everything that happened to him and goes from bully's bait to school hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2