BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

School's Out - Forever (Maximum Ride Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(967)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Maximum Ride reveiw, how a kid would say it.

This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming an...
This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming and witty as a master like Shakespeare or J.K. Rowling. The characters are brilliantly developed, and completely realistic. No fake, unbeleivable personalities here. The plotline is complex, full of brialliant twists and turns. Just as you think you've figured it out, Patterson takes you around another bend, and your theory is blown to pieces. But, sometimes books have exciting plotlines in some parts, and boring areas in others. Not Maximum Ride. It's a must read all the way through, from the first page to the last. It may be a fantasy, but it has some very real topics in it, from global warming, to a teen's crazy love life, to an obsession over choclate chip cookies. It's wonderfully written so that you enjoy the fantasy, wish-it-were-you feeling, but also see the real issues portrayed in the book. The characters and emotions are so believable, sometimes you feel it could really happen. I'm a teenager, and I feel exactly as Max does when she's tumbling through her adventures. From her happiness and her excitement, to her confusion and fear, I feel as if I know her, and understand what she's going through. I understand why she does things, or why she doesn't. Basically, she (and the rest of the Flock) are totally beleivable characters. The plot flows with excitement, created by exploding buildings, on-the-fly fights, and an interesting love twist, and the characters are amazingly well developed, creating an all together great book. What more could anyone want?

posted by Karlz on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

School's Out-Forever

Amazing my favorite of the series. James Patterson is a amazing author he writes thrilling, breath taking, action packed and an unforgettable scenes in this novel. I recommend you read it!

posted by Tigerlily94 on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Maximum Ride reveiw, how a kid would say it.

    This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming and witty as a master like Shakespeare or J.K. Rowling. The characters are brilliantly developed, and completely realistic. No fake, unbeleivable personalities here. The plotline is complex, full of brialliant twists and turns. Just as you think you've figured it out, Patterson takes you around another bend, and your theory is blown to pieces. But, sometimes books have exciting plotlines in some parts, and boring areas in others. Not Maximum Ride. It's a must read all the way through, from the first page to the last. It may be a fantasy, but it has some very real topics in it, from global warming, to a teen's crazy love life, to an obsession over choclate chip cookies. It's wonderfully written so that you enjoy the fantasy, wish-it-were-you feeling, but also see the real issues portrayed in the book. The characters and emotions are so believable, sometimes you feel it could really happen. I'm a teenager, and I feel exactly as Max does when she's tumbling through her adventures. From her happiness and her excitement, to her confusion and fear, I feel as if I know her, and understand what she's going through. I understand why she does things, or why she doesn't. Basically, she (and the rest of the Flock) are totally beleivable characters. The plot flows with excitement, created by exploding buildings, on-the-fly fights, and an interesting love twist, and the characters are amazingly well developed, creating an all together great book. What more could anyone want?

    47 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Open the mind

    I was orginally asking for Witch and Wizard by James Patterson for Christmas but my mom bought me this whole series instead. I was a little dissapointed that I didn't get the books I wanted but, out of politness I was going to read these books anyways. So I picked up the first one and I loved it. Right now i'm currently reading the fourth out of five. I really like how I can relate to Max, and how that when James Patterson writes it's not always about the same exact thing. Every series has a different plot, and I think that all his books are great. I definetly reccomend these books to anyone who loves to read, it's well worth your time.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wow! edward, where's fang!

    when i finished Angel Experiment, i went and welcomed hell just to get my copy of School's out-forever and saving the world and other extreme sports. and you know what? part 2 and 3 didn't disappoint me. the second book focused on Max and the flock trying to find any information about the School and about their parents. Well, you already know they grew on tubes and dog crates so knowing their parents are typically out of their knowledge. When Max started to hear a Voice on her head, she and her flock went to different places in US in search of an answer that can help them solve the mystery of their School, about Jeb, their growing need for a normal life, and Max's and Fang's feelings for each other...about the latter part, it came earlier.
    So, if any of this reviews doesn't catch your attention, better go to the School and try to wake your blood a little bit...

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Loved this series.

    I am 59 yrs old and now have MY mother reading them all. LOVE THEM

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Max Forever

    This is probably the best of the maximum ride series. I have read the whole series 3 times and this is the one i enjoy the most every time i reread the series. I love the max books and cant wait for nevermore to come out(the book after Angel). This is probably my favorite because it has the most action, most wisecracks, kick (insert word not supposed to say) battles, awesomeness and twists. Every time i read it there is something i didnt remember about it from the last time. This is my favorite book ever and i get in trouble for reading too much all the time so that is comparing it to alot of books!
    Now to the actual book

    Fang gets injured in a fight, and the flock, max and her family, have to go to a human hospital or he'll die. Why is that a problem u may ask? Only because they are former lab experiments with wings of course! So while there of course someone in the hospital staff calls the FBI and they show up. The agents ask stupid questions and get stupid answers in return. The agent interviewing max invites her to stay at her house. Of course max would say no, so the agent threatens not letting the doctors opperate on Fang. Max loves everyone in the flock and the idea of losing anyone, especially her best friend, is tragic, so of course she excepts. When they are there Anne, the agent, forces them to go to school.

    That is all im going to say because i could go on and would probably tell u the end before stopping. So i hope u are hooked by now if not read the book anyway and u will be. It is worth the money and the few hours. If u didntread the first one first shame on u because it was really good to. Now after u read this if u dont imediatelly feel like u need to read the next one u need to either get a life or get over urself!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Maximum Ride :D

    OK, this series, Maximum Ride, realy lives up to it's name, y' know? So, far on my rating levels on a scale from 1-10, this
    book hits an easy 15. I am SO desperate to get ANGEL.
    ( the book. ) READ THIS SERIES NOW!!!


    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    I love maximum ride

    Love the series!!!!! I want to see the movie for this! That is if they follow through with it....

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Fang

    This book IS BY FAR THE GREATEST BOOK KNOWN TO EARTH!!!!!!!! THE FIRST BOOK IS SUCH A PAGE TURNER THAT EHEN I WAS IN SKOOL I KEPT GETTING YELLED AT TO PUT THE BOOK AWAY WHICH RESULTED INTO ME GETTING IT TAKEN AWAY! I ANNOYED MY TEACHERS SO MUCH BY COMPARING EVERYTHING TO THE BOOK THAT THEY GAVE IT BACK TO ME N LET ME READ 4 THE WHOLE PERIOD! IF THAT IS NOT GOING TO GET U TO READ THE SERIES THEN THERES SOMETHING WRNG WIT UR BRAIN N LIFE SO GO GET ONE!
    BTW FANG IS MINE

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    this book is filled with a lot of action. It is an excellent read- enjoyed it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    School's Out-Forever

    Amazing my favorite of the series. James Patterson is a amazing author he writes thrilling, breath taking, action packed and an unforgettable scenes in this novel. I recommend you read it!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Anonymous

    I couldn't put the first one down either.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Grate Book

    Vary good you should read it. It's worth every penny. You should read it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    .

    Loved itt!! (:<3

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    Just a really good book

    I just love this books because there is a lot of adventure and action. Plus a little romance which makes the story whole. It's about six children Max,Fang,Iggy,Nudge,Gasman,and Angel who just keep getting attacked by Erasers who won't stop till they kill them. But there is also a little jealousy,lying,and some really funny moments. So by all means go out and buy this great book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Maximum thrill

    Great for anyone who has ever dreamed of flying!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Of course they do

    Of course max and fang date

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    To good to put into words

    This was a really good book. It is one of my favorite books that I have read so far. I am so mad that I have to wait for the next book, I wish it would just appear in my hands so I could start reading it right now!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I really hate fang okay my opinon

    I thought this book had many surprising twist and gasping parts. I do not recomend this book to people who have not read maximum ride angel experiment i thought james turned the romance up a knotch which made me both happy and really mad at first i loved the couple fang and max but after reading a part of this i really wanted to kick, punch, beat up fang i thought he was going to be a lower chacacter in the book but later he is really an awesome person until now. I hate him before you tell me "NOT TRUE" after reading a few pages of this you will understand my anger. I love the neverending cliff hangers on every chapter and this book can never be put down no matter how you feel, where you are this book will never disapeer. Believe me i read 124 pages in the first day of reading this and right now its 2am and i have to wake up at 8am. Anywhay READ THIS BOOK and i like this first book better though so four and a half but four stars for now. TO DO LIST: READ ALL OF MAXIMUM RIDE SERIES BY THE END OF SUMMER this book has made my summer READ NOW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    It was good

    Wat happen too the whole maax and fang? There supposetoo be together not with other people... ahh books wat r u gunna do about them?
    But other then that it was a really good sequel:)
    Way a go J.P

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Neeed more!

    Love!!!!! Couldnt put the book down and actualyy git sad whenn i finished the book...... now desperetely wanting the nexr one!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67