Customer Reviews for

School's Out - Forever (Maximum Ride Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(965)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A Maximum Ride reveiw, how a kid would say it.

This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming an...
This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming and witty as a master like Shakespeare or J.K. Rowling. The characters are brilliantly developed, and completely realistic. No fake, unbeleivable personalities here. The plotline is complex, full of brialliant twists and turns. Just as you think you've figured it out, Patterson takes you around another bend, and your theory is blown to pieces. But, sometimes books have exciting plotlines in some parts, and boring areas in others. Not Maximum Ride. It's a must read all the way through, from the first page to the last. It may be a fantasy, but it has some very real topics in it, from global warming, to a teen's crazy love life, to an obsession over choclate chip cookies. It's wonderfully written so that you enjoy the fantasy, wish-it-were-you feeling, but also see the real issues portrayed in the book. The characters and emotions are so believable, sometimes you feel it could really happen. I'm a teenager, and I feel exactly as Max does when she's tumbling through her adventures. From her happiness and her excitement, to her confusion and fear, I feel as if I know her, and understand what she's going through. I understand why she does things, or why she doesn't. Basically, she (and the rest of the Flock) are totally beleivable characters. The plot flows with excitement, created by exploding buildings, on-the-fly fights, and an interesting love twist, and the characters are amazingly well developed, creating an all together great book. What more could anyone want?

posted by Karlz on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

School's Out-Forever

Amazing my favorite of the series. James Patterson is a amazing author he writes thrilling, breath taking, action packed and an unforgettable scenes in this novel. I recommend you read it!

posted by Tigerlily94 on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    This book was ok CLICK ME TO FIND OUT WHY :L

    After reading the reviews from the first book ( the bad ones ), I've noticed that they are true, & the book had little to no storyline or plot. This book was good in some ways when there was a battle, but the series of events where, in fact, the same almost the entire book. It was basically just flock is fleeing, erasers attack them, a betrayal, big climax fight ( SHOCKER), and then everything was all good. And then there are some things that are left basically unexplained for almost the entire book. Like that Max imposter. I was very confused on how she got into the story. All of a sudden, an imposter Max is barfed up into the story without anything said or explained to me on what her role was in the story until the very end of the book. This is a spioler alert, but when Ari has one of his chapters, apparently he has a Voice too, but then the author kind of forgets about it and then there's us, left completely in the dark about it, which is so annoying it is driving me insane. But there are some upsides to the book. There is a lot of really good humor in these books, enough for any young reader to enjoy. It is a diamond in the rough, and you really have to have patience to read these books so you do not bust a vein in you forehead trying to figure out what the heck is going on. I do recommend this book to younger readers, and not older ones. This book is really fast paced an funny all the way through. And I am asking you to look at this book at a good perception. It really is a decent book, just not for older readers. If you want to read another James Patterson series, older readers, read Witch and Wizard. That series is really awesome for you people.
    Happy reading!
    Angry Giraffe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Amasing%0A

    I+loved+the+1+it+waas+soooooo+good+caat+wwait+to+read+this+one

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    not quite as good as the first book but still entertaining

    not quite as good as the first book but still entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Ben

    Help with what now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Abby

    Ignores the stupid cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Heamistress's officr

    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Meh

    This book and the first book were great. The book after this is pretty decent. The book max is not great but the ending is freaking amazing. Nevermore was terrible as well as angel. Fang was ok. Over all i have to say that patterson ruined the best series on earth. This book series had the potentisl to be great. Instead it was ruined.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Staying One Step Ahead of the Bad Guys

    School’s Out — Forever had a similar theme to The Angel Experiment. The only real difference was a change in scenery. The flock met new friends they’d ultimately have to leave and were constantly on the run from the Erasers who seemed to pop up out of the blue. The on-going question was, how were these freaks finding Max and her buddies? Again we saw the first point of view (POV) for Max and the third POV for everyone else. One of the joys this time was the villain POV, Ari! Ooooo. Ari was an odd sort of fellow–a seven-year-old trapped in an Eraser’s body. At times, he seemed very childish then all of a sudden he’d have a grown up moment. I was never quite sure about him. One thing for certain though, that kid needed some serious hugs. Max met a few questionable entities this time around. I’m wondering what roles they’ll play in the future, and if they’ll be the good guys or the bad guys. Plus, I’m hoping to find out what happened to some missing villains in the next book. School’s Out — Forever left so many things up in the air. All I can say is that I’m thankful I have the next two books lined up, and the next three after are available in bookstores. I wish I had more to say, but really the story line was simple–stay one step ahead of the bad guys, and when that fails, fight like hell and fly like your life depends on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    creepy

    angel is so creepy i hate how the flock doesnt do anything to stop her!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    BUY THIS BOOK

    :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    huh

    i have never read it but i have heard great things about it!!! u should always try somthing new!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    check it out

    max and the flock are back i was so happy when i finnally got this book its good i love this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for Reluctant Readers

    This book is a high-suspense novel about a group of human-avian hybrids who are escaping a group of scientists and monsters on their quest to find their parents. The characters likable and relatable to some extent, and the dialogue is straight out of B rated superhero movie. The writing is horrendous, but understandable as it was created to mimic a 14-yr-old's thought patterns. There are some major plot holes, and the plot is nothing special, and this book itself is kind of redundant and unneccesary. However, this book is sure to interest reluctant readers, especially middle-schoolers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Not Too Bad

    Interesting story line but a little too predictable. Though the author was writing from the First Person, he changes it to give an account of what happened to some of the other characters who were not in the presence of the main character.
    Fun and light reading, but too simple and lacks a level of sophistication that would warrant a four or five star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read Book 2 of the Maximum Ride series because I'm a fan of speculative fiction, esp. when it involves wings. The book starts out okay but degenerates quickly. Most of what happens is a 'carry over' from the previous book, and while there IS a lot of action, it's not realistic or important to the story - it's action for the sake of action. Also, the book is very hard to follow if you haven't read No 1. The ending is a huge plot-twist that did make me want to read No 3 - you find out that this whole time, Angel + gang are still in the lab, and everything they've done was all a sort of dream in preparation for the real quest. Kinda annoying, but kinda cool. All in all I give this book a three because yes, it was a page turner, yes, I did keep coming back to it and yes, I wanted to read the next book but in the end, it was just another so-so story that made no impact on me. Still haven't read the subsequent books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Well it was good, but honestly?

    Okay let me start of by saying this series is not bad. I like the whole bird child thing, the flying is awesome, and the characters are interesting, but seriously? The characters were not very intricately described to the point where a friend thought a totally different thing. Now i am not saying that using the imagination to form a character is an all out bad thing, but it helps to have good direction. Also i have to say that the main character, although i am told that i act like her in a sense of the adventure-er thing, whines. That is all she does! Whine whine whine about how she wants a normal family or about what a freak she is or whatever. I hate it when a character in any story acts that way. I mean there are plenty of people who would love to live this girl's life, and all she can do is think about how bad she feels for herself. COME ON! Yes she has the right to be worried and all but you wish she'd just get on with it. And i think the plot about school was a little off like the author had never been to school and didn't get what fourteen year olds were like. My personal fave character was probably Fang. He is probably most like me, but I hated how him and everyone else in the flock fell down at Max's feet! You'd swear she's like this goddess or something. Honestly if she said something that no one really agreed with she would be like 'This ain't a democracy, it's a maxocracy' PUH-LEASE! Who is going to bow down to her like 'Okay max whatever you say!' These kids are incredible and they have better powers and physical prowess than she does and cuz she's the oldest she can be the leader? Please, don't make me laugh. This book has potential but make this girl have some flaws in the eyes of others. Something challange her a bit instead of serving her with a silver platter please!! Overall buy it, it's a good book, but if you want a seriously good book go elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5