Customer Reviews for

School's Out - Forever (Maximum Ride Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1308 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(966)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A Maximum Ride reveiw, how a kid would say it.

This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming an...
This book is amazing. I think it is the best book in the whole series (though you should read them all). It's captivating, enthralling, brilliant, thrilling, and just down right hilarious. It may have a lower level vocabulary, but it's characters are just as charming and witty as a master like Shakespeare or J.K. Rowling. The characters are brilliantly developed, and completely realistic. No fake, unbeleivable personalities here. The plotline is complex, full of brialliant twists and turns. Just as you think you've figured it out, Patterson takes you around another bend, and your theory is blown to pieces. But, sometimes books have exciting plotlines in some parts, and boring areas in others. Not Maximum Ride. It's a must read all the way through, from the first page to the last. It may be a fantasy, but it has some very real topics in it, from global warming, to a teen's crazy love life, to an obsession over choclate chip cookies. It's wonderfully written so that you enjoy the fantasy, wish-it-were-you feeling, but also see the real issues portrayed in the book. The characters and emotions are so believable, sometimes you feel it could really happen. I'm a teenager, and I feel exactly as Max does when she's tumbling through her adventures. From her happiness and her excitement, to her confusion and fear, I feel as if I know her, and understand what she's going through. I understand why she does things, or why she doesn't. Basically, she (and the rest of the Flock) are totally beleivable characters. The plot flows with excitement, created by exploding buildings, on-the-fly fights, and an interesting love twist, and the characters are amazingly well developed, creating an all together great book. What more could anyone want?

posted by Karlz on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

School's Out-Forever

Amazing my favorite of the series. James Patterson is a amazing author he writes thrilling, breath taking, action packed and an unforgettable scenes in this novel. I recommend you read it!

posted by Tigerlily94 on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    .

    Loved itt!! (:<3

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Maximum thrill

    Great for anyone who has ever dreamed of flying!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    I really hate fang okay my opinon

    I thought this book had many surprising twist and gasping parts. I do not recomend this book to people who have not read maximum ride angel experiment i thought james turned the romance up a knotch which made me both happy and really mad at first i loved the couple fang and max but after reading a part of this i really wanted to kick, punch, beat up fang i thought he was going to be a lower chacacter in the book but later he is really an awesome person until now. I hate him before you tell me "NOT TRUE" after reading a few pages of this you will understand my anger. I love the neverending cliff hangers on every chapter and this book can never be put down no matter how you feel, where you are this book will never disapeer. Believe me i read 124 pages in the first day of reading this and right now its 2am and i have to wake up at 8am. Anywhay READ THIS BOOK and i like this first book better though so four and a half but four stars for now. TO DO LIST: READ ALL OF MAXIMUM RIDE SERIES BY THE END OF SUMMER this book has made my summer READ NOW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Aw Aws AWESOME

    (-;

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Fun summer series.

    I like James Patterson... but I don't like the sex that appears in most of his books. I thought I'd give the teen fiction a shot to remedy this. It worked! Still Patterson, but without the sex. When I was at the store buying the 3rd book a woman was buying the series in hopes her teenage kids would do some summer reading. I think it definitely works for that!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Best book in series!!!!!!!!!!

    Luvd this book it was really good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    ARI WHAT

    Ari is supposed to be dead and why cant she find her parents

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great read

    Love the witty heroine of this series. Good mixture of action, laughs, and characters that are constantly learning and evolving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Max?

    Good book but i always wondered how the story wood of been different if max was the one who got riped insted of fang

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just for Fun

    This book is fun, but it is not exciting really. It doesn't have any romance at all (not even a hint of it) but it kept me entertained during lunches :)

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Maximum Ride Schools out Forever

    Introduction

    Maximum Ride was a very great book. Maximum ride was a action type book and it had all kind of stuff in this book.
    Description and summary of main points

    Maximum Ride was a great action book that had all kinds of things in it they had like these children that were secret bats of some sort. They would protect the kids from other creatures and some kids had secrets of there own life. Some of the children were demons and some were not. The children only change at night because of the sun light some of them could stand both and the other ones couldn't.
    Evaluation
    I recommend Maximum Ride Schools out Forever because it had very good description and very good characters. One that got me the most was the action and trill of reading Maximum Ride. The reason I read this book is because my aunt told me to and I loved the experience of reading it so that why I would recommend it.

    Conclusion
    Maximum Ride was a good thriller book and it had some good plots with interesting twist in the plots and had some good side stories. One of the plots was very sad then it got really good because one of the characters dad was dying but luckily the doctors were able to bring him back to life.

    Your final review

    Maximum Ride was a very intense book. I would recommend this book for people and kids that like action books and thrilling kind of books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Enjoying reading this series with my son!

    Haved loved getting to know Max and the other kids in the flock. Andy thinks this one is the best. Patterson gets kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Awsome

    This book was good but not better than the abgle experiment i love all of them the only bad part is finishing them to soon i recomend it for adventurous romantic people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Huh

    I dont get it. In the first book, it says that iggy's mom and dad died but in this book iggy meets his mom and dad. Do you think the flock is just forgetful or do you think James Patterson forgot. Ever heard the story that Shakspeare never wrote any of his plays? Do you think Patterson is doing the same thing? This is a great book anyway. FLY ON FLOCK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    THIS BOOK WAS ok.... JK it was good , comming from someone who dosent like to read (assignment for MS.P, BY:G.I.)

    this is going to a brief summary of the story. I know if u read this one, u read the last one (maximum ride:the angel experiment), so i dont have to give an introduction. So the story starts as the gang heading towards washington D.C., from new work. But hit a few problems, while flying (F.F. the are have human and bird type thing hybrids) a cloud of flying erasers attack them but no one is wounded but fang. Once noticed fang's only choice was going to a hosptal. So ofcourse someone is going to find thier are not fully human, the FBI come in an try to find answers from the gang. They dont help, but the leader of the FBI anne takes them in to find some answers. During this time with anne. The gang had thier time of peace an was able to do what kids do, even max, the leader of the gang, was asked out on a date, and iggy and gazzy got them selves into some mischif. But then the school was acting wierd, by this i mean teachers and the principle was attacking them. The gang maneged to escape, but when they went to get total (thier talking dog) they saw anne yelling at Jeb, then realized that anne was jebs boss, they made a new plan to head to Forida, when they made it to georgia they spent the night there and met a couple of kids that were spies and then gave the school thier location. so headed to south florida, After incountering Ari at disney, angel told the gang about Itex, a company that wanted to destroy the world. When they found somewhere to spend the night(F.F. was a bad crapy hotel) max was kidnapped by Itex and replaced, with a new max. The new max was leading the gang to thier own demise.The old real Max returned and the flock had no problem telling the two apart. Max spared the other Max and they fled, away from the whole situation, well until nex time.

    P.S. F.F.= fun fact

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book. My friend lent the first one to me last year and i read it in about two days. I love how jame patterson writes both comedicly, dramaticly and action packed. It has an amazing plot and the thought of people having wings is impossible but amazing. The characters are unlike anything you could come up with and having all th extra emotion with ari is amazing nd adds so much to the book. It almost makes me feel sorry for him. If he werent wanting to kill max and the mutant bird kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Eh...More or Less

    Well, it's not that I hate specifically any book in the series, but this one wasn't one of my favorites. This book is a little borign and stereotypical for Max Ride. BTW, this specific cover is digitally edited, so be warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Great book

    Reading this book kept me interested and excited to see what happens next... ready for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11