Customer Reviews for

The Schwa was Here

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is the Best Book I have read in a while. I was kind of stuc

This is the Best Book I have read in a while. I was kind of stuck in a reading rut and my librarian recommended this. I think a lot of kids either feel like Antsy or the Schwa a lot of the time so even if it is far fetched. There is a sequel called Antsy Does Time that...
This is the Best Book I have read in a while. I was kind of stuck in a reading rut and my librarian recommended this. I think a lot of kids either feel like Antsy or the Schwa a lot of the time so even if it is far fetched. There is a sequel called Antsy Does Time that is almost better than this one.

posted by gracie_the_great on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was pretty good

I don't think this was one of my favorite books, but I still kept reading the book, and I think it started to get better as you kept reading it. Check it out!

posted by Book_Worm_1998 on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    This is the Best Book I have read in a while. I was kind of stuc

    This is the Best Book I have read in a while. I was kind of stuck in a reading rut and my librarian recommended this. I think a lot of kids either feel like Antsy or the Schwa a lot of the time so even if it is far fetched. There is a sequel called Antsy Does Time that is almost better than this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    I read The Schwa was Here because the author is really, really g

    I read The Schwa was Here because the author is really, really good.  (I will have a lot more reviews from him.)  And I wasn't disappointed.  
    This book is about a boy who is "functionally invisible" (that means not noticed) named Calvin Schwa, whom everyone calls The Schwa.  It is told from his friend, Antsy's, point of view.  They conduct experiments to see how far The Schwa can go unnoticed.  When they get caught, they have to work for some crazy old man.  But then this girl comes into play...  
    It is a wonderfully told book with twists and turns and a lot of comic relief.  I would really recommend reading it.  It has one of the best endings that I have ever read.  It's one of those endings which leaves you thinking about it constantly and thinking " Omg!  That was SO good!"  At least, it did for me.
    My one bit of confusion in the entire book was in the beginning, like the first page.  I thought that "dummy" meant "idiot" instead of  "puppet".  That was completely my fault, but I thought I would clear it up in case you get confused. 
    Anyway, if you're not sure of if you want to read it, read the first page or two.  I am 99% sure that you will love it.
    I think there is a second book: Antsy Does Time.  It may not be directly related, so I'll let you know once I read it.  In the meantime, I hope you read The Schwa was Here.  Let me know if you have any book you want me to read/ review.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    awesome

    awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

    Anthony "Antsy" Bonano can't really figure out what's wrong with The Schwa. His classmate, Calvin Schwa, has always just been...around.

    A nondescript face on a nondescript kid, The Schwa always seems to just blend into the background, and could be standing right in front of you for half an hour before you even notice he's there - and that's only if he speaks up and says something. Antsy finds it difficult to even think about The Schwa without his mind wandering onto some other subject, no doubt due to "The Schwa Effect."

    Antsy may not have been the first the pass The Schwa by, but he is the first one to start putting his friend's power of blending in to good use. After a set of experiments to determine the strength of "The Schwa Effect," Antsy and The Schwa form a collaboration that starts earning them money for dares and services (such as spying on the faculty lounge) that utilize The Schwa's untapped potential.

    When a bold dare to enter the apartment of a reclusive neighbor goes horribly wrong, Antsy and The Schwa find themselves at the mercy of Old Man Crawley, who puts them to work to make up for their intrusion. The boys' friendship is put to the test when Antsy is given a...much more desirable task, which sets The Schwa on a mission to prove his very existence to the world in the grandest, most unforgettable manner possible.

    I absolutely fell in love with this book, and that is not something I'd say lightly. Superior characterization, mainly the shifting position of narrator Antsy as both protagonist and antagonist to the title character, had me rooting for nearly every personality featured in this story. My heart went out to the unfortunate Schwa, yet I think I laughed harder than ever at the witty storytelling and humor utilized by the author.

    A perfect book for the older, reluctant reader, and one both boys and girls can enjoy to the fullest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    One of my favorite books...

    This is a book that I can read over and over again. The first time I read it, it took me awhile to get to the end, but I liked it anyways. Now I find it to be a great thing to read when I have a break from school or haven't gotten to the library in a while.(I own a copy) The first chapter is slow, but once Calvin Schwa is introduced, it picks up pace for a great story! The end is really good also, which is saying something. I'm very hard to please with book endings. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Great, funny read

    As a 7th grade English teacher I am always on the lookout for good books for my students. When I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. I now read it aloud to my seventh graders and they absolutely love it! They beg me to keep reading! It is witty, and interesting. Neil does a wonderful job in his descriptive detail. I highly recommend this book to anyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Wow I didnt think i would like it

    When my neighboor gave me the book to read, i read the title and thought that the book looked really stupid. Then i started reading and couldn't stop. This book is one of the best books i have ever read. It is really funny because it was told through first person point of view so you hear what the narrator(or Antsy as he is called in the book) is thinking. I was sitting on the beach reading this one day and just started laughing out loud. This is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Sooooo Funny!!

    I loved this book. It was so funny. Just the way the characters in the book talked, it was awesome. I kind of thought the end was a little sad but the rest of the book was so good it didn't matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    It all started with an 'unbreakable' dummy named Manny who is the start the story. Anthony and his friends Howie and Ira are trying to blow up this dummy when Calvin Schwa shows up. Anthony and the Schwa discover the 'Schwa effect', which makes them earn money and popularity for the Schwa's unnoticable presence. The Schwa and Anthony's confidence winds them in trouble with the meanest, richest man in Brooklyn, Old Man Crawley. Instead of punishing them with the police, he makes them do community service, which is ironic since they work for him without getting paid. Their job is to walk his sins and virtues, which are afghan dogs. Anthony 'Ansty' later on gets the job of escorting Crawley's blind grandaughter, Lexie, who captures the heart of the Schwa and Ansty, though Ansty feels ashamed of betraying his friend. In the end, Ansty shows true friendship to The Schwa when he solves the mystery of The Schwa's disappearing mom. In the end, the resolution of the story is satisfying to any reader who is captured in this great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    The Schwa will keep you reading!

    This book targets young adults and fits the genre of realistic contemporary fiction. The characters are developed to such an extent that you are moved emotionally to identify with them. The author keeps your attention with unique character names and terminology. He has created an interesting story that you will want to continue to read to find out what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    The Schwa WAS Here!

    Although you may forget Calvin Schwa, you WILL not forget this book. I bought, I read it, I loved it! Get and read it, it's amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    The Scwha Was Here

    Thiis is the best book I ever read. I hope one of you that read this reveiw willllike it and read the boook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    he was here, was he?

    this book is amazing! i finished it in two days. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Who in the World is Antsy??

    Sarcasism was never a virtue was it? I know that Antsy is a 12-13 year old boy with a best friend that is supposedly invisible. Sometimes it 'pays' to be invisible. Read this book and you'll find out what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    WHERE DID HE COME FROM

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOOOOD I LEFT IT AT HOME AND SO I WANTED TO READ IT SOOOO BAD I BORROWED MY BEST FRIEND'S TWICE.READ IT, BUY IT, LOVE IT, ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT IT BECAUSE OF THE FUNCTIONALLY FORGETABLE BOY NAMED SCHWA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    TOUCHING AND EMOTIONAL YET FUNNY

    A touching book for a romance tale. you will just laugh out of your seat if you just like a GOOD LAUGH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    awsome

    so cool awsome leaves you hanging to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Looooooove it

    This book is so awesome. I borrowed it from The Book Chewer. It was sooooooooo funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    really funny book ever

    here i read this book named the schwa was here. it was really good book and it was funny. here there was a boy named antsy who was kind of 'short time memory lost peerson'he doesn't even notice the person named the schwa he sitted next to the antsy in his science class but steal the antsy does not notice that at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    This Book Was Fabulous!

    This book was great. Honestly I wouldn't have picked it up if my dad hadn't handed it to me. And truthfully, I really didn't know why I was getting it, but when I started reading I was having a blast. The thing that makes the book great is that it's *Funny*, in the kind of way. The sick, odd, weird, sarcastic sorta way.And since I had a weird sense of humor, that worked out just fine. The tale of Antsy and his freinds is great. And the real meaning behind the whole story was phomoninal. And it's easy to read. Maybe at a 6th grade level. Maybe... Anyhow, the book was is most definatly on my list of great, books to read. I doubt anyone would fine this book, unenjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2