BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Schwarzbein Principle

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    Finally, After 30 Years...

    I found how to regain and maintain my health. Diana's book provides much more than a diet plan. She wrote a healthy life plan in an easy to understand and apply format. Diana is an endocrinologist who gracefully explains the contribution of our hormones to health, the effects of carbs, fats, protein and additives on hormone production, and how to design your eating to optimize health. Her plan does not create feelings of deprivation or hunger, as you can eat anything. Calories don't count. She defines which foods will not cause the insulin production that creates fat, and when it is acceptable to eat high insulin producing food. The reading of this book made me aware of the cause of health problems I share with many members of my family and had blamed on genetics. Over the last 15 years I've been gaining 5 lbs. a year although I was exercising and following the USDA's food pyramid. Using her guidelines, I lost 20 lbs. over the 1st 4 months, followed by an additional 20 lbs. in the 5th month. As my body became healthier, it accelerated its return to my optimal weight and overall health. I also incorporated information I gathered from Richard and Rachael Heller, Suzanne Somers (fantastic recipes), and Atkins to make a comfortable transition plan for myself into this enjoyable and healthy life-style.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    No Wonder Diabetics are in Bad Shape

    I read this book on the recommendation of a friend who was not diabetic, but was concerned about the amount of carbs he was eating and how carbs affected his body. After reading the first chapter of this book I was amazed to learn about how some of the foods that doctors tell diabetics to eat are making diabetics get worse not better. It is an amazing book for diabetics as well as people who just want to learn to eat more healthly. I would highly recommed this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    A Real Eye-Opener!

    I first started doing the Suzanne Somers plan and was introduced, like most people, by the intro to her second book. This book will open your eyes like no other 'diet' book. Sorry, I did lowfat for years--no wonder I can't get rid of it! I've still got my 'skinny jeans,' and I'm hoping to be in them before the end of the year. I'm also going for 'toned' with Strong Women Stay Young (another eye-opener.) If you buy only one book this year on health and nutrition, buy this one. If you can buy one more, get Strong Women Stay Young along with this book. You will NOT be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Awesome.

    One of the best books on nutrition I have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Changed my life!

    Schwarzbein's diet is really a lifestyle change. I took off 30 pounds when I first changed my diet to Schwarzbein's Principle. I have been on this regime for 10 years and after years of calorie dieting with no results, I finally found what works for me. This is not a diet per se, but a way to change your eating habits to be effective. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Schwarzbein Principle

    This book has helped me to make sense of how diet, diabetes, and multiple autoimmune diseases effect my body. It is wonderfully written, simple to follow and understand. It is written is common language-- instead of medical terminology-- I've shared it with several friends and it has helped them also to understand how the choices they make enfluence their health.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    What an Eye-opener!!!

    After reading the introduction, anyone who has been unsucessful is their weightloss endeavors will finally understand why. Dr Schwarbien had my attention from the first information about Insulin Resistance. If you really want to know WHY your not losing weight or losing the weight but not feeling healthy, she explains what happens to everything we put in our mouths from healthy foods to quick-fix stimulants. After reading the first couple chapters, you will not want to touch a simple carbohydrate EVER again. Her book is a mental wake-up call!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    Great Book! You must read!

    I've tried every kind of diet,even been on the Atkins diet, not saying I didn't lose any weight on any of the diets. I just always found them hard to stick to for life. I've just recently read and started this diet 'The Schwarzbein Principle' it's a great diet, in 2 days I lost 5 lbs. It's not as restictive as Atkins, but you still get the weight lost, energy, and feel great and are eating healthy. You eat good Carbs and good fats. You are limited to you carb intake only 60 a day depending on how active you are. So give it a try.... Any diet will work as long as you stick to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    DONT PAY ANY ATTENTION TO THE ONE STAR REVIEW

    This is one of the best books written on the subject of health and weight loss. As far as being high fat,the book recommendsa diet high in NATURAL,REAL FATS AND PROTEIN(Which the body needs to build and repair itself). I would advice the previous reviewer to actually read a book all the way through before they start bad mouthing it. So I would advice everyone to read it for yourself and then make up your own mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Everybody is different

    The principles make sense for repairing diet-worn cells. Probably most people who read this book are overweight or type II diabetic, and they see results in weight loss, too. I am not overweight, but wanted to eliminate cravings for simple carbohydrates. I noticed more muscle definition at first (I am a runner), but that happens when carbohydrates are restricted. It is not permanent if one increases carbs to a normal amount, even when they are complex carbs. This really is not for EVERYBODY because NO diet plan is suited to all people. If it is intuitively appealing, try it! If not, continue your search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 1999

    was a Zoner before

    I have learned alot from reading this book. I was doing the Zone before and was getting good results, but was tempted to do a straight protein diet to loss weight faster. After reading the schwarzbein Principle, it reaffirmed the idea that I had read in Dr. Sears book the devastating effects of a very, very low or almost zero carbohydrate diet. The illustrations in the book easily described the actions your body takes in response to eating certain foods. also, I never considered sarotonin levels. I am on the diet now and I am believing that I will continue to loss weight by taking in a little lower carbohydrates than Dr. Sears suggests, but still not too low to start ketosis; I am trying to gain muscle not lose it! I also have the Schwarzbein cookbook which I am enjoying greatly! Thank you so much for writing this book, and I would suggest it to all who are desiring a 'true' education in nutrition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1