Customer Reviews for

Sci-Fi Short Stories: The Definitive Sci-Fi Collection 630 Stories for the nook (includes Sci-Fi by Kurt Vonnegut, Phillip K. Dick, Harry Harrison, Jack London, Murray Leinster, Rudyard Kipling, H. Beam Piper, Voltaire, Poul Anderson 9500 pages of Sci-Fi)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Reading I enjoy classic Sci Fi !

My reading of books really started with sci-fi,when paperbacks were 50cents,things have come a long way! But one can still read classics like these- I thank you very much!!!

posted by BooknutNE on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A lot of bang for the buck

Lots of great short sci-fi stories for cheap. The only downside is there is no table of contents for navigation.

posted by 10156182 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Reading I enjoy classic Sci Fi !

    My reading of books really started with sci-fi,when paperbacks were 50cents,things have come a long way! But one can still read classics like these- I thank you very much!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A lot of bang for the buck

    Lots of great short sci-fi stories for cheap. The only downside is there is no table of contents for navigation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Cool Collection

    I loved reading the cool stuff of yesterday

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Mixed bag, slow due to size

    So far, I have enjoyed some of the stories and skipped others. The main concern I have is the size of the file. It is so big, that it takes a minute or so to open on my phone. It would be better to break it into smaller pieces.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Get this book

    i just bought this and I love..takes me back to the old days

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    wow..huge collection..great reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I read them in order

    One by one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Classic Sci-Fi at its best.

    If you read and enjoyed Analog stories from the 40s, 50s and 60s you will enjoy this book of short stories. I expected to find some old stories that I had already read but haven't so far. I had forgotten how much fun the older style Sci-Fi was. I like the surprise endings and the imagination demonstrated in most of the writings.

    Yes, some stories are dated in their prediction of modern technology but for the most part it is trivial to the story and easily overlooked. I am only about half way through the 630 short stories but I am delighted with this "find." I worry that this is a "one of a kind" and I won't find more when finished so I'm savoring the last half to make it last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Stories

    Hard to navigate is why I only gave this book 4 stars...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    not worth the trouble

    Table of contents isn't searchable by author. Thesehave obviously been scanned from old pulp scifi mags such as Astounding and maybe an Analog or two. I plan to archive my copy and then try one of the other collections. They're o
    nly a couple of bucks, so it's not a big investment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    AWESOME COLLECTION

    I'm huge sci-fi fan and this collection is great..nice work

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Pretty good

    There is a table of contents viewable on my android with nook reader app. There are always a few stories in a collection like this that would not appeal to some, then just skip it. This is good light reading, fun to relive some old stories from my past. I would go to the scifi section of each new school library, and that will go back over 70 years. What we have here is a great number of very imaginative authors...enjoy, I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Needs authors in contents, but great.

    Fun stories glad I bought it, I would buy it again, wish it was easier to pick out stories by author is all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    HOW ANTEATERS NONLIVING KRILL

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Could really use a table of contents.

    Not being able to get to stories that I want to read first is keeping me from reading this. I pick it up and spend too much time flipping through the "pages" to find the stories I am in the mood to read.

    One of the reasons to have an anthology of short stories is to be able to pull out the stories you want to read.

    I love so many of these authors and look forward to reading stories I have not heard of before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    nostalgic collection

    This collection of sci-fi short stories is similar to an on sale package of 8 bit DOS computer games. There are a few real pearls among the over 600 novels, rea joy for an old guy grown up on classical sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    no contents

    without a table of contents, this is fairly useless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Tons of tales!

    I may not have liked every single story but I had my pick of many more that I did enjoy. I'm glad I got it. And whatever I skipped over now, I can read later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    It should be awsome

    They say it's the best ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3