Customer Reviews for

Scientific Calculator

Average Rating 3.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

99 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

A useful calculator for basic scientific functions

An answer to some previous reviews: Yes, it does do exponents (x^n) use the ^ key. Yes, it does do any root (use the sqrt(x) key, i.e. the one with the radical with an x under it, then enter the root in the (). No, it doesn't have a 1/x key, but if you were in engineeri...
An answer to some previous reviews: Yes, it does do exponents (x^n) use the ^ key. Yes, it does do any root (use the sqrt(x) key, i.e. the one with the radical with an x under it, then enter the root in the (). No, it doesn't have a 1/x key, but if you were in engineering school you should know other ways to do that (try 1/tan(x)). This really is a great calculator that can do pretty much everything a $15 scientific calculator can do. You just might have to take the time to learn to use a calculator before you dis it.

posted by qubit on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I've used a variety of calculators since i was in engineering school. This one sucks. How do you promote this as a scientific calculator without a 1/X key? I'll look for a better one. You should too.

posted by carbonbiker on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Good but beta release stage, needs work

    I noticed that after you complete a calculation you must press Clear to start entering a new number. For instance if you divide 1 by 4 then you start to divide 2 by 3 if you don't press Clear before you enter the 2 you have 0.252 as the starting number, not 2. It appends the next number to the previous result. That is not the norm for a calculator. It also seems to only have a landscape view, no portrait. It opens "on its side" and does not rotate. I find that acceptable, but some may not. Bottom line. If you buy now you're going to be a beta tester.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good calculator

    Overall, I find it a good calculator except for sines, cosines, and tangents. On those three, they are always the wrong answer

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    ?

    Is there a fraction and a fraction to decimal button? I dont want to spend my money if there isnt. Thanks :)

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Dissapointed

    I don't understand why that when i ask for log six divided by log 4, it tells me there are not enough parameters for log when all i want is the decimal answer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Sadly

    Im told this wont fill the needs of my chem 121 because it wont do exponents. Wish i would have known before i downloaded it, cause now i still have to go to radio shack and buy a casio. Pfffft.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Dont like it

    Not thaat good

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Anonomous

    This calculator is supposed to be recommended for ages 0-4, however, my two year old finds it impossible to do calculus, astronomy or chemistry as promised on the write about this app.
    Obviously, more careful editing is needed before posting app descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Does not work (at present) on Nook hd

    Probably a good program, based on what others have said, on its native hardware - which is not the nook hd series. Hopefully an update is forethcoming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Good calculaor but,

    Can you PLEASE upgrade this for the NOOK HD+ please? It's not working on my device and I just paid for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Variables

    I can't find a variable button. Is there one?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    scientific notation?

    I have never used a "scientific" calculator that doesn't have a scientific notation function. Using, for example, 2*10^3 does not work when performing multiplication, division, etc.

    Am I just not finding the "exp" or "EE" function? Assistance would be helpful.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Graphing

    When will it get the graphing upgraid

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Divisin

    No divisuon or multpcation

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Whare?

    Whare and how can you get to the wishlist? I may get this app if i see good reviews. Looks like a good one.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Good

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Meh.

    It wouldn't let me do a different root other than squared, so that bummed me out. But I like it and it's nice for my mmath class.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Graphing?

    This is nice but how about a graphing calculator? That would be well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow

    So someone just ripped off the actual interface of the iphones calculator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Needs the comma place

    D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2