Customer Reviews for

Scimitar SL-2 (Admiral Arnold Morgan Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Submarine thriller

    I thought this was more of a submarine and government thriller than a geological thriller. Geologically, it was a major disappointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Air Force flies off a carrier?

    Although I found this book enjoyable it tends to get a bit bogged down in the courses the submarine is taking without much in the way of reference. Also some of the descriptions of military equipment seem a bit off. The biggest error, that would offend any Navy pilot, was a reference to the flight of aircraft from the USS Regan, '... most of them bring flown by four of the most famous fighter squadrons in the United States Air Force.' Please Mr. Robinson, you have written enough naval books to know the Navy flies its own aircraft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Admiral Morgan Fans - A must read.

    A review is REQUIRED, so I must fill this space with the alibi that I am about one-half way through the book, but I do intend to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Ebony

    You noob, she doesn't mean here, she means scarket letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Danny Phantom to silver

    Where is ur post?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Starters

    Starters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    The basic story of an Islamist radical destroying the east cost of the U.S. by blowing a volcano with a nuclear missle, and susequently causing a gigantic tsunami is interesting, and the geology is well developed. It's up to a recently fired admiral to override the new pacifist president of the U.S. to defeat the threat. A huge amount of time is spent on a submarine's transit to the point of attack, and many pages are devoted to the evacuation of major cities. The solution to the problem takes about a half dozen pages. Odd distribution of story line, in my view. Unfortunately, this technothriller is rife with basic factual errors. Granted, the work is fiction. However, too many recongnizable technical errors add doubt to the whole story. -Army master chief? Not in our army. Same with the Ensign, Junior Grade. - Squadrons of Air Force aircraft on the USS Reagan? Air Force aircraft cannot take off or land on a carrier. And all the squadrons you named were Navy anyhow. - F-15 Tomcat? Sorry, Pat. The F-15 is the Air Force Eagle. The Tomcat is the F-14. Anyhow, when you wrote the book, the Tomcat was already scheduled for the scrap heap, to be replaced by the F/A 18 Super Hornet. That evolution would be (and was) completed before the 2009 timeline in the book. - Senior Captains in command of Guided Missle Frigates (FFGs)? Not in our Navy. That's a Commander's billet. - Carrier pilots don't have 1/20th of a second to hit the throttles after they miss the wire. They go balls to the wall as soon as they touch down. If they waited to see if they missed the wire, they would die. - Shooting down a cruise missle with a Harpoon? The Harpoon is a fire-and-forget anti-ship missle. - The Ch-53D is the Super Stallion, not the Sea Stallion. - How can you go from bearing 070 to bearing 360 by turning right 70 degrees?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Scimitar SL-2

    Great story, but gets too bogged down in side stories. I've read all of Patricks' books, but this one lacked the classic action and chase scenes of his other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Scimitar SL-2

    Great premise, but I was left wondering where the hunt was. I enjoy Patricks' action sequences, but this book was mired in administrative bureaucracy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Wonderfully realistic and entertaining

    I have read all of Mr. Robinson's naval thrillers and this one is very good. A little too much detail in areas or situations that don't involve real action. (i.e. detailing the mass evacuation) He seems to be straying away from his more action oriented style as in Nimitz Class or Seawolf, but the new villian is very refreshing. A little more action and bring back the Navy Seals, but otherwise Keep Up the good Work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    Great Book

    I got this book overseas not knowing much about the author or if it would be any good. As I started to read you get pulled into the story. Will the terroists make it what will the President do..? The suspense grows with every turn of the page. I highly reccommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1