BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scions of Shannara (Heritage of Shannara Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read for anybody looking for some entertainment

    Just like any other T.B. master piece, this book delivers a great thrill. It is a great start of a new series. Easy to read, easy to get into. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Outstanding!

    This series was even better than the first! Once again Terry Brooks has weaved in the most interesting sub plots to an amazing main plot! I must admit the beginning is a bit slow and if you are not used to long descriptions, it will feel slow, but after you get through the first few pages, you'll be hooked for life! I love how he continues to write about the Shannara children and the Ohmsfords and Leahs, it gives it a sense of realness. By far, Morgan, Walker, and Par are my favorite characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Another Superb Terry Books Novel

    Terry Brooks never fails to create wonderful fiction filled with Colorful characters, plot twists and adventure. The continuing saga of the druids and the struggle to end evil in the world is continued in this book. Will Par find what he needs to restore what was lost? Will his family be safe while he seeks to complete the tasks given him by Alanon's shade? You will have to read this story to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an awesome book - Highly Recomended!

    The Scions of Shannara is a great book! It is easy to understand with very dramatic war scences. A lot of creativity went into writing this book. Terry Brooks is the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Fast paced, great imagination, wonderful characters

    I was a bit unsure about the first Terry Brooks novel I read (The Sword of Shannara), but each of his books just plain get better and better. A delightful fantasy writer, I loved all four books of the "Heritage of Shannara" series. Keep up the good work Terry...I'll keep buying if you keep writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The True Master of Fantasy.

    Tolkien may have started it all but for this reader, it was Terry Brooks and the Sword of Shannara series that sucked me into the fantasy genre. With the Heritage of Shannara series, Brooks keeps the superb story telling going. If you like good writing, good character development and an all around great story, you'll love this book and the series as a whole. What's especially good about Brooks' writing is his character development. They "feel" like real people. What I wouldn't do to be able to write characters like him. The world of Shannara is one that has stood the test of time also, becoming richer and richer with each novel and series. Keep up the great writing Mr. Brooks and thanks for inspiring me to read and write fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Scions of Shannara, The Heritage of Shannara series, Book 1

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Awesome book!!!

    I loved the Shannara series as soon as I started reading it. It started with me reading the back of 'The Sword of Shannara', after reading the first few pages I was hooked. I had to force myself to put the book down when I couldn't keep my eyes open anymore (although I just fell asleep on top of the book a few times). I absolutely love these books!!! I try to collect as many of them in hardcover as possible so that they don't fall apart like my copy of the Sword of Shannara has. (note: my copy of the Sword of Shannara is the original copy from when it was first published in 1977.) Keep up the good work Terry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    First Time Brooks, won't be the last.

    First time I ever read any novel by Terry Brooks. It won't be the last. He has a way of writing that doesnt' bog you down. Overall, I found this to be a very good story, and very well detailed. One of the things I always look for is well-written dialog. This was definately a good example of a story that had such dialog. Things were natural, you felt what the character felt, and you felt emersed in this world of his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Excellent Book

    One of the best Shannara books I've read yet. The Free-Born against the Federation is very interesting, as well as the intriguing plot and the introduction of Walker Boh, who is in my opinion the greatest character yet in this series. By far a must-read for anybody liking fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    A very good book

    I went to my school library becauseI had to do a reading project and got this book and as soon as I read the first 10pages I was hooked and couldn't put the book down out of all the books I have read this is by far the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Awesome read!

    They just keep getting better and better! It's been about 300 years since 'Wishong' (Jair&Brin are dead obviously) and we meet Par and Coll Ohmsford. They are more similar to Sheae and Flick than in any Shannara book in my opinion. Anyways, the Four Lands are now governed under Federation rule with no majic allowed. There is the secret police to make sure you don't use any at all. Par, Coll, Wren (Par's cousin), and Walker Boh (Par's uncle) are given different tasks each. All seem impossible, but failure is not an option as creatures called Shadowen plague the Four Lands. As usual, there are ordered by a certain druid (again!) to do so. The book is REALLY slow for the first 200 pages and then it's way better! My rating: 93/100

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    love this book!

    I just finished this book and I LOVED it! I'm in 8th grade and it's really hard to find a book that i like and i loved it! can't wait to read the next 1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    boop boop kachoop

    I LOOOOOOOOOOVE TERRY BROOKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    A captivating Fantasy! you've got to discover for yourself

    I picked up this big book, I usually love big novels, starring at the name 'The scions of shannara' so i decided to give it a try. Immediately i read the first page I couldnt help my soul from being captivated by this fantasy until I read the very Last words .Par and Coll Ohmsford are my favourite characters and I hope they stay alive to recover their lost glory!. I look forward to getting the next one The Druid of Shannara. I cant wait to have that one!.Thanks to Terry Brooks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    great

    when i started this book out i couldn't get into it. it was kind of strange and grasping the characters and plot was... 'hard' in a way. i didn't feel a tie between any of the characters. but i kind of forced myself to read it and after that its all like 'hmmmmmmm... this isnt so bad after all!' and i really got into it. i cried at the ending though! i mean, you think he's dead and then the whole mental breakdown occurs and you feel so sorry for them. it got to me i think cause i have a sibling and if that happened to her i would never be the same. but then you read the last chapter and its all like i wasted my tears for nothing?!? anyways, this is an awsome book and i'm hoping to get started on the second heritage book! i would recommend this book to any terry brooks fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Terry Brooks has once again amazed us all.

    This is truly an outstanding classic.The shade Allanon, has requested the descendants of the house of shannara go after three things.Par, the Sword of Shannara.Walker, the black elfstone to bring back Paranor.Wren to find and bring back the elves to the world of man.What's this! Par finds an old freind if the family who decides to help him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    Excellent

    A great book, being a 13 year old when I read this book, it blew me away. Many of the books these days are hastily written and do not support great detail. But this book, being of older age, is great in all aspects. It's not only packed with action, but with magic and logic. I find myself continuously pulling it out of the bookshelf beside my bed even though I am now 15!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    My Review For Scions of Shannara

    This book is the first of the Heritage of Shannara and is a great aqquierment. This book has everything! Action, romance, mystery, and suspense. One of my favorite books I've ever read. A great place to start, for those who want to read Terry Brooks's classic and great books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    SWEET!! If it was made of sugar, I'd have to put it down

    This book is enriching and full of an adventure you'll never forget. It ends in a bit of a cliffhanger and you won't be satisfied until you read the following three novels. But that is such an awesome way to do it. It takes u to the full depths of greatness. These books of Terry's are priceless. But I'm sure glad they're within my budget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3