BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scoop (Godmothers Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fans will enjoy this madcap comedic tale as the escapades keep on coming when the four BFFs go after their man.

In Charleston, South Carolina the four sexagenarian BFFs gather for the funeral of the millionaire husband of one of them Teresa Amelia "Toots" Loudenberry; this is her eighth spouse she has buried. She informs her buddies that the mourning period will be one week befo...
In Charleston, South Carolina the four sexagenarian BFFs gather for the funeral of the millionaire husband of one of them Teresa Amelia "Toots" Loudenberry; this is her eighth spouse she has buried. She informs her buddies that the mourning period will be one week before they dash to Hollywood.

Obsessive-compulsive Disorder centerfold Ida, overweight Mavis accompanied everywhere by Coco the Chihuahua and smoker Sophie agree to go with her to California. Toots plans to buy the near bankrupt tabloid the Informer where her daughter Abby Simpson works as a reporter. . However, the ten million dollar deal collapses when newspaper publisher Rodwell Archibald Godfrey III takes the money and runs to the Cayman Islands. V

THE SCOOP is a zany over the top of the Hollywood Hills starring the Golden Girls who go after Godfrey. Each of the four musketeers is different, while the ringleader is Toots. The story line is amusing and irrelevant as even the opening funeral services affirm nothing is sacred in life when it comes to eternity. Fans will enjoy this madcap comedic tale as the escapades keep on coming when the four BFFs go after their man.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Product placement a disappointment

This book is the first I've read with product placement in the story. It was clumsy and distracting to the story. I won't be buying this author or any of her publishers again.

There was so much attention to smoking I thought I had to leave the room to get some air. ...
This book is the first I've read with product placement in the story. It was clumsy and distracting to the story. I won't be buying this author or any of her publishers again.

There was so much attention to smoking I thought I had to leave the room to get some air. The end left you up in the air about the main characters daughter and her romance. Smoking was more important.

Now I must stop typing on my Dell computer sitting on my Office Depot table and chair!

posted by Ragingsenior on October 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    Product placement a disappointment

    This book is the first I've read with product placement in the story. It was clumsy and distracting to the story. I won't be buying this author or any of her publishers again.

    There was so much attention to smoking I thought I had to leave the room to get some air. The end left you up in the air about the main characters daughter and her romance. Smoking was more important.

    Now I must stop typing on my Dell computer sitting on my Office Depot table and chair!

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy this madcap comedic tale as the escapades keep on coming when the four BFFs go after their man.

    In Charleston, South Carolina the four sexagenarian BFFs gather for the funeral of the millionaire husband of one of them Teresa Amelia "Toots" Loudenberry; this is her eighth spouse she has buried. She informs her buddies that the mourning period will be one week before they dash to Hollywood.

    Obsessive-compulsive Disorder centerfold Ida, overweight Mavis accompanied everywhere by Coco the Chihuahua and smoker Sophie agree to go with her to California. Toots plans to buy the near bankrupt tabloid the Informer where her daughter Abby Simpson works as a reporter. . However, the ten million dollar deal collapses when newspaper publisher Rodwell Archibald Godfrey III takes the money and runs to the Cayman Islands. V

    THE SCOOP is a zany over the top of the Hollywood Hills starring the Golden Girls who go after Godfrey. Each of the four musketeers is different, while the ringleader is Toots. The story line is amusing and irrelevant as even the opening funeral services affirm nothing is sacred in life when it comes to eternity. Fans will enjoy this madcap comedic tale as the escapades keep on coming when the four BFFs go after their man.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    Great book

    Fern Micahael is a good writer. Anything she writes is great.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the scoop

    I loved it . when is the next one due, how many in the series?
    I read all of sisterhood, and love them, can't wait for ''deadly deals''.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I would recommended it.

    It keep me on my toes. I can't wait for next one. It was a book that you could not put down. You had to turn the next page to see what happens next. The godmothers were close bonded friends thru thick and thin they were always togather. I hope everyone reads this book and enjoy it like I did. I realy like Fern Michaels books they are always about great friends that come togather in any crises. For love of everyone they care about.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Hilariously Good!

    The Scoop is the best, the funniest read I've had in a very long time. As always Fern Michaels delivers and once again she hit the head on the nail with her latest, The Scoop, Book One in the new series The Godmother's. This quartet of silly seniors is nothing but laugh-out-loud fun, I couldn't put this book down until I turned the last page, then I wanted more. I can't wait for the second round of laughs! Keep up the good work Ms. Michaels!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A WOMAN OF A CERTAIN AGE - WHAT AGE IS THAT?

    Mega bestseller Fern Michaels offers a mew series that's bound to zip to the top of lists - almost with just the title, The Godmothers. This is a quartet of formidable, fun, financially secure ladies "of a certain age." Don't you love that phrase? It brings to mind, fascination, intrigue. I've often wondered what that "certain age" was. Perhaps it differs in various cultures while maintaining its mystery.

    Whatever the case, our heroine in The Scoop is Teresa Amelia "Toots" Loudenberry, age 65, a can't-get-her-down-gal if there ever was one. To date she's lived life to the fullest and married more often than most - 8 times to be exact, and she's just laid No. 8 to his everlasting rest. Never one to let the parade pass her by, so to speak, she soon decides to get back into the swing of things.

    "Toots" recently learned that The Informer, the gossip mag where her daughter, Abby, puts in time, is about to be available. Seems the owner loved to gamble but had no luck. Now, there's little that "Toots" enjoys more than reading juicy tidbits, so owning this repository of "you don't say" items holds great appeal.

    Unfortunately, even though she certainly has the resources to make the purchase, the publisher is an avaricious scoundrel who takes off with the ten million payment. What to do? She doesn't want Abby to be out of work; she doesn't want Abby to know she paid for the magazine. "Toots" needs all the help she can get in a fix like this. Fortunately, she has three friends who are almost every bit as resourceful and kooky as she is. Readers will love them all.

    Native Texan Natalie Ross delivers a splendid reading of this masterpiece of mayhem, aptly voicing sugar coated Southern drawls.

    - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Must read book. Keeps you interested.

    I just finished the whole serie of the Godmothers. It was great, now I have to wait till September to get the next one. Fern Michaels books keep you interested so that you want to keep reading until you have gone through them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book. I hope I'm this much much in my 60's. Another fun series from Fern Michaels. I just purchased the next one in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    A good read.

    Love this book. First time I have read Fern Michaels. Hope she continues the story after Book #4

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    Kept me entertained enough to buy the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Great Book

    Loved the book. I couldn't put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    I enjoyed this book very much. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A new series---to me!

    Havn't read it yet but plan to---always enjoy starting another new series by any author, but know, if it is written by Fern Michaels, it will be entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Read it - it is great!

    Highly recommend this book and Fern Michaels as a great storyteller

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great read

    as always Fern pulls into the life of the book and you feel like you are there has the story pulls you along. Great one to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Loved the book and can't wait for the 2nd

    As an empty nester and someone who has gone through many emotional issues found myself comfortable in relating to Toots emotions on almost every level. When it comes to Romance vs. our children and friends there is nothing we wouldn't do to protect those we cherish. More of an adult audience read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Funny and enchanting

    A great read for those who want to see women get revenge but in a non-lethal format. A great group of mature women who have been friends for a long time and still have that bond. They attempt to help their Goddaughter out of a tight situation without her knowing they are behind it. The only problem is that the book leaves you hanging and you don't know how the story ends. You have to wait until the next book in the series comes out. There were times when you couldn't help but chuckle about some of the events taking place in the storyline. Would defintely recommond this book to all my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The title is fitting for the events of the book.

    I enjoyed the book. It gives the older generation a different outlook on life. After years of their own problems they have found something to look forward to. Not just sitting in the rocking chair on the front porch. A easy read to take your mine off of the world for a while. I enjoyed it very much and looking forward to the next one. I love to read all books written by Fern Michaels

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    VERY VERY GOOD

    I LOVED THIS BOOK AND HOPE SHE WRITES MORE WITH THE GODMOTHER SERIES
    IT WAS FUNNY AND TOUCHING

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8